ASIANatomy
Pure Asian Entertainment: Film, TV, Anime & Manga

[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control episode 1

1 rating: 4.0
Anime
1 review about [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control...

NoitaminA's new series . Does it get a [C] or can it do better than it's name sake?

  • Apr 22, 2011
Rating:
+4
[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control or just C for short is one of the newest shows on the noitamin A (Animation spelled backwards ^_^) time slot. For those who don't know noitamin A is a time slot for anime shows in Japan on Fuji Television. It's devoted to showing original new anime, and broadcast each Thursday night from 24:45 to 25:45 (or 00:45 to 1:45 Friday morning). It was created with the main intention of reaching out past just the typical young male demographic that most anime is made for. Noitamin A is pretty well known and has had some well established and well received anime series broadcasted on it such as Honey and Clover,  Nodame Cantabile, and Eden of the East to name a few. C is produced by Tatsunoko Production with the director being of Kenji Nakamura and having Noboru Takagi as script supervisor.

  • Funimation has had a deal to broadcast noitamin A's series to the west subtitled through simulcast that show an hour after the shows air in Japan. C is another series that Funimation has simulcasted and can viewed here on their video site/hulu:
[http://www4.funimation.com/video/?page=show&b=351]


         The premise of C is just bizarre. C stars a young man by the name of  Yoga Kimimaro who is a economics college student. He is very poor and works two part-time jobs. He appears to live alone. Yoga wants to become a civil servant because he believes it's a stable line of work. Yoga's main goal is to live a peaceful and easy life without ever doing anything big or amazing but never being poor ether.  He doesn't aim very high. But one day he is sucked into a bizarre world known as the Financial District. The Financial district appears to be this Parallel virtual-like world where people fight for the sake of money.  So I'm sure the first thing you all notice with this show is it's bizarre name. The next thing you'll notice is of course the premise I have laid out for you and how I have claimed that it is bizarre. This series got the bizarre handled hands down. So now the question is how much bizarre is a good thing.

          Well I have to say that the show has been a real blast right now. Very fun. The Financial District is very mysterious and cool to look at. Likewise people who are invited into it put their lives on the line for the sake of money. If they lose in the financial district they forfeit their own future. An example shown is some no name man who lost. He ended up walking in front of a moving train as if he was possessed to do so and died. The Financial District seems very interesting. Likewise the writing on the whole is very interesting. All the characters seem to be well down. Yoga comes off as indifferent and socially awkward but very hardworking and caring.  He doesn't want to get involved with people but seems attached to Hanabi Ikuta a classmate of is who already has a boyfriend. But I have to say hands down the most interesting character has to be Masakaki who is some kind of being from the Financial Distract. He has weird super natural powers and invited Yoga to the district.

          He came off devilishly as he was mostly playing around and always tried to get into Yoga's head. In the end Masakaki put money into Yoga's bank account when Yoga refused his offers to come to the Financial District. After thinking about it and deciding to take out this mysterious money (Yoga doesn't know who put it in his account) Masakaki toys with Yoga telling him that perhaps if he had more money he could of gotten Hanabi. He then gives him a card all the people in the Financial district use and Yoga ends up in a trance seeing a vision of a strange girl creature. Flash forward and we see Masakaki taking Yoga to the financial district and the end of the episode.

          The show has a lot of promise and I'm looking forward to more episodes. I think it will be one of the stronger show this season. Many concepts have been laid out and if explored correctly they should be interesting. The animation is good for the most part which is no surprise since noitamin A shows are all big budget. The music didn't sound too special but was never boring or hurt the experience. I enjoyed the opening theme and I really loved the ending theme. The show itself has a very surreal mood to it and the theme about money is certainly interesting and you don't see it much in anime. As of now the show feels very mature and is a perfect fit for noitamin A. If you have even a passing interest in anime and like surreal stories with mature themes you should definitely check this show out. It's worth your time.

Opening Song:

Ending Song:

Screen Shots and Promo Art:
NoitaminA's new series . Does it get a [C] or can it do better than it's name sake? NoitaminA's new series . Does it get a [C] or can it do better than it's name sake? NoitaminA's new series . Does it get a [C] or can it do better than it's name sake? NoitaminA's new series . Does it get a [C] or can it do better than it's name sake?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
April 26, 2011
Great review, I have yet to see this one.
April 27, 2011
This you. :) I've found this show to pretty fun and I think the premise is a good one. Looking forward to watching more.
 
April 23, 2011
Dude did we watch the same show!? A stronger show of the season, a perfect fit? Maybe storywise but it surely did not take off beyond being intriguing. Cool to look at? Truly cool is just seen in the eye of the beholder...it was fun and intriguing, but the animation quality was simply not that good with wonky cgi. Unfortunately a well written review that I just cant truly share the same level of zest and zeal for.
April 23, 2011
Thank you for the last couple statements. Yes it's true. It's just what you said. We don't view the show eye to eye. I think it has a strong start and will be a good show for this season. You are perfectly fine to think other wise though. ^_^ I will give you the use of CG was a bit wonky (lol you are right there) but not bad. I've seen far worse in anime. I have come to accept CG but I'm still not a fan of it ether. But the animation was in fact good when you ignore the CG. All the motion was fluid and all the people moved like real people and not cheap cut outs. The background art was lively and full of movement and the Financial District has this weird look to it that just makes it look so cool. Very well animated I'd say. It still uses some of the animation tricks to disguise times when there isn't animation but for the most part the show animates and displays far more than most shows do.
 
April 22, 2011
Fantastic review!
April 22, 2011
Thank you very much :)
 
April 22, 2011
excellent review!! Thank you so much for sharing!!
April 22, 2011
Thank you and thank you for taking the time to look at it. ^_^
April 22, 2011
Of course. Also to let you know, any anime reviews you are doing under ASIANatomy will also be promoted under "Movie Hype" (its sister community, and also arguably the site's second largest community) Join us there too!! I'll send you an invite.  
April 22, 2011
Oh Cool Thank you. Sounds nice. I'll be happy to join. ^_^
April 22, 2011
awesome! Keep your anime reviews flowing to ASIANatomy and I will take care of the rest in promoting them through twitter, FB and the Movie Hype community!
April 22, 2011
Thank you. Sounds good. :)
 
April 22, 2011
Holy that's exactly my current life!! Yoga is a direct homage of me, and Hanabi is my longlife childhood friend!!! Why did nobody told me that?! >_<
.
.
.
.
Uh-hum..OK, well you got me there with surreal, money and mature theme, totally 3 of my favorites! I shall watch this tonight, together with Ao no Exorcist and Deadman Wonderland!!
Do you intend on making reviews of them too?
April 22, 2011
Raioh you're a poor economics college student who was dragged into a weird world of fighting with your life on the line and your only goal being money? lol :P

I prob won't review Blue Exorcist for two reasons. One I've only been doing reviews for show that I haven't seen a lot of people covering or have gotten a lot of flak but I really like. Blue Exorcist seems to be well received and has gotten a lot of cover.

And two I do all these reviews off the cuff. I usually watch the episode, go back and get pictures, and then write the reviews. I want the reviews to express my immediate opinion on the matter. I already have watch Blue Exorcist like 4 or 5 days ago. lol Too late now. :P

If you want I can give a mini-review for you. The animation was great and the actors did a wonderful job. The best thing about the show is that it's grounded in reality. Nothing feels forced or contrived. It's very real. Because of that when the demons actually show up in the show it's very interesting and kinda scary to be honest. The show's looking to be a good shonen action series that you can actually take serious, and the stakes are already set-up to be kind of high. I'd recommend it. I'm sure you'll like it. ^_^ And the ending song is great. I can't get it out or my head. Love that song.



As for Deadman Wonderland. Yes please do watch it. I love that manga so much. I'm prob going to watch the anime tonight. If I do write a review it will prob be up tonight. I might just make a review for it even though a lot of people are talking about it and praising it. But Deadman will be an exception if I write a review for it because I love the manga a whole lot and will easily want to rant about it. lol
April 22, 2011
Yes, yes that's exactly what I am and what I do! How else do you think I could afford 200.000 copies of my own game, not to mention the production of it, it's all because I plan on becoming rich here, even if it's the last thing I do!!!

Haha, yeah I just watched Ao no Exorcist, it's awesome! I really dig the artstyle and the storytelling. I loved that little girl, she was so innocent and sweet~ and the main is a cool dude, he has just a lot of misfortune. xD Or his "dad", one of the craziest dudes I've seen~
The ending was awesome, I loved the boygroup part on the big screens. xD

Lol, I can understand that, what's the fun of life if you cannot rant about things you love~ xD
I'll probably watch it tonight myself, really looking forward to it as the manga is currently one of my favorites, it has so awesome ideas, all I know for now is though, that I surely wouldn't want to go there, I love me some crazy attractions, but that's too much of the good! xD
April 22, 2011
lol I think the "dad" is more like a priest than the actual parent. I believe it was meant in like a Catholic Father sense. But he did raise the two boys too. The funniest thing to me is that Father Fujimoto (his dad) is played Fujiwara Keiji and Rin (the main)  is played by Okamoto Nobuhiko. Just like three or four weeks ago they were playing Kihara and Accelerator in Index season 2 and literally tearing each other apart and killing each other and now they're all buddy-buddy, Father and son in this role.



It got such a laugh out of me. XD It's like wow what are the chances? lol I really like it too. The designs are nice as well. Can't wait to see more. Deadman Review will prob come out soon. I think I will write one. ^_^
 
1
What's your opinion on [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Co...?
rate
1 rating: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
[C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control episode 1
Details
Original Air Date: April,15 2011
Description: NoitaminA Spring 2011 show
TV Show: [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control
Genre: Animation
Related Topics
Welcome to the N.H.K

Welcome to the N.H.K (Anime)

Paranoia Agent

anime series

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
ASIANatomy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists