ASIANatomy
Pure Asian Entertainment: Film, TV, Anime & Manga

1911 <=> 2011?

  • Oct 8, 2011
Rating:
+5

 



I was told that this is Jackie Chan's 100th movie and if you're a big fan of the actor, it is a must for you. If you are also a history buff, and, a Chinese for that matter, it is essential to watch the film. Alternatively, if you've an interest in politics, psychology and sociology and predicting the future, this film may provide you with a basis for reading into the crystal ball!
 
Rewind back a century ago, we are taken back into one of the most gluesome revolution of our times. My ancestors left the country before then. Life was very hard and officials were corrupted. The 2 millennia monarchy and dynasty ruling in China was coming to its bitter end. The Last Emperor abdicated (more or less the Empress Dowager (acted by Joan Chen) who was the power behind the throne did on behalf of the then child emperor) during this period and the New China republican was formed shortly after. Dr. Sun Yat Sen (acted by Winstan Chao) and Huang Xing (acted by Jackie Chan) are the main heroes of this uprising and revolution, commonly known as the Xinhai Revolution.

 
Fast forward to current times, you get a good glimpse of history reflecting its ugliness in world's recent events. Egypt, Libya, Greece, etc... perhaps even the entire Europe and America ultimately. You are forewarned about what may be coming.
 
There is a saying, history always repeats itself. Sitting through the 2 hours or so of events unfolding and countless youths fighting and dying for a new China, I was taken on a ride back to the future. Revolution was and is the key word. When a few elites ruled and the majority of the population suffers, a chill ran down my spine as I watched events unfolded some 100 years ago (on screen and in real world). Protests preceed many revolutions. We had them in Africa some 6 months ago, in Europe a month or two ago and in America in recent days.

 
As I watched the film rolls on, my mind gets a little confused... Am I seeing the past or a parallel future? This movie comes at an opportune time. It's not only history I'm experiencing in the cinema. It is to some extent history in the making in our present time too! I was apprehensive but I was also given the luxury of correlating events into a sensible whole. Like what Steve Jobs said about connecting the dots. I am not so sure if I like connecting those dots in this case, but it certainly showed me the destructions in lives despite the fight for a better future. There had been countless revolutions in the world, is life any better? Sure, if you survived them and are not caught in them. Yes, for a limited period of time too. Then people forget and they take advantage of either the system or/& others. That's when the past will return to haunt again. To be haunted in movies is perhaps the most productive way of dealing with ghosts of the past.
 
As luck would have it, I only pray that there's still time to unwind some of the recent damages. No, I do not believe that revolution is the way to improve human conditions and sufferings, especially one that involves the spill of blood. Human beings ought to have progressed further than our ancestors had and developed the compassion and learned from historic events.
 
In spite of it being a Chinese event and movie, in spite of the Chinese subject matter, this movie will reap its potential benefits if all western leaders choose to watch it and learn from it. The Chinese public and government ought to be reminded of the sacrifices before and to treasure the peace gained in the last 50 years or so. The New Republic is still very young (established Jan. 1, 1912; less than a 100 years) and the New China must always remember the folly of its past dynasties. 1911 acts as a reminder as well as a much needed history lessons for the young and the uninformed. Especially for many of us Chinese who are/were not born in China.
 
History is not my forte and it may not impact my life in a meaningful way. Even then, I find this movie one of the most worthy Chinese movies in recent times and I hope more such movies are being made. Only then will the Chinese movie industry thrived and the Chinese civilization thrived to a whole new level. I was both well entertained and learned a great deal from this film. 
 
As far as I'm concerned this is brilliant film making. It doesn't only take you back into history, it takes you a step beyond, to the present world and in my views, to a probable future!
 
In some aspect, a century is just a tiny fraction of human progress and Chinese civilization. Yet, from another perspective, it is a huge leap in human principles and motivation.


(If the embedding doesn't work on Lunch.com, this is the link to the video: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/martin_jac..._the_rise_of_china.html)
 
Last but not least, if you wish to understand more about China as a country, this video might help you see things more clearly with regard to what defines China and the Chinese race. Until one can understand a little of the Chinese mentality, it may not be easy to appreciate its history and consequently this movie!
 
it may not be easy to appreciate this movie.I was told that this is Jackie Chan's 100th movie and if you're a big fan of the actor, it is a must for you. If you are 
 
also a history buff, and, a Chinese for that matter, it is essential to watch the film. Alternatively, if you've an 
 
interest in politics, psychology and sociology and precticting the future, this film may provide you with a basis for 
 
reading into the crystal ball!
 
Rewind back a century ago, we are taken back into one of the most gluesome revolution of our times. My ancestors left the 
 
country before then. Life was very hard and officials were corrupted. The 2 millenia monarchy and dynastry ruling in China 
 
was coming to its bitter end. The Last Emperor abdicated (more or less the Empress Dowager (acted by Joan Chen) who was the 
 
power behind the throne did on behalf of the then child emperor) during this period and the New China republican was formed 
 
shortly after. Dr. Sun Yat Sen (acted by Winstan Chao) and Huang Xing (acted by Jackie Chan) are the main heroes of this 
 
uprising and revolution, commonly known as the Xinhai Revolution.
 
Fast forward to current times, you get a good glimpse of history reflecting its ugliness in world's recent events. Egypt, 
 
Libya, Greece, etc... perhaps even the entire Europe and America ultimately. You are forewarned about what may be coming.
 
There is a saying, history always repeat itself. Sitting through the 2 hours or so of events unfolding and countless youths 
 
fighting and dying for a new China, I was taken on a ride back to the future. Revolution was and is the key word. When a 
 
few elites ruled and the majority of the population suffers, a chill ran down my spine as I watched events unfolded some 
 
100 years ago (on screen and in real world). Protests preceed many revolutions. We had them in Africa some 6 months ago, in 
 
Europe a month or two ago and in America in recent days.
 
As I watched the film rolls on, my mind gets a little confused... Am I seeing the past or a parallel future? This movie 
 
comes at an opportune time. It's not only history I'm experiencing in the cinema. It is to some extent history in the 
 
making in our present time too! I was apprehensive but I was also given the luxury of correlating events into a sensible 
 
whole. Like what Steve Jobs said about connecting the dots. I am not so sure if I like connecting those dots in this case, 
 
but it certainly showed me the destructions in lives despite the fight for a better future. There had been countless 
 
revolutions in the world, is life any better? Sure, if you survived them and are not caught in them. Yes, for a limited 
 
period of time too. Then people forget and they take advantage of either the system or/& others. That's when the past will 
 
return to haunt again. To be haunted in movies is perhaps the most productive way of dealing with ghosts of the past.
 
As luck would have it, I only pray that there's still time to unwind some of the recent damages. No, I do not believe that 
 
revolution is the way to improve human conditions and sufferings, especially one that involves the spill of blood. Human 
 
beings ought to have progressed further than our ancestors had and developed the compassion and learned from historic 
 
events.
 
In spite of it being a chinese event and movie, in spite of the Chinese subject matter, this movie will reap its potential 
 
benefits if all western leaders choose to watch it and learn from it. The Chinese public and government ought to be 
 
reminded of the sacrifices before and to treasure the peace gained in the last 50 years or so. The New Republic is still 
 
very young (established Jan. 1, 1912; less than a 100 years) and the New China must always remember the folly of its past 
 
dynasties. 1911 acts as a reminder as well as a much needed history lessons for the young and the uninformed. Especially 
 
for many of us Chinese who are/were not borned in China.
 
History is not my forte and it may not impact my life in a meaningful way. Even then, I find this movie one of the most 
 
worthy Chinese movies in recent times and I hope more such movies are being made. Only then will the Chinese movie industry 
 
thrived and the Chinese civilo a whole new level. I was both well entertained as well as learned a great deal from this 
 
film. 
 
As far as I'm concerned this is brilliant film making. It doesn't only take you back into history, it takes you a step 
 
beyond, to the fpresent world and in my views, to a probable future!
 
In some aspect, a century is just a tiny fraction of human progress and Chinese civilization. Yet, from another 
 
perspective, it is a huge leap in human principles and motivation.
 
Last but not least, if you wish to understand more about China as a country, this video might help you see things more 
 
clearly with regard to what defines China and the Chinese race. Until one can understand a little of the Chinese mentality, 
 
it may not be easy to appreciate this movie.
1911 <=> 2011? 1911 <=> 2011? 1911 <=> 2011? 1911 <=> 2011?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
October 08, 2011
I've been dying to see this. It's been so long since I saw Jackie in a really serious drama that was all about action-comedy. This one looks quite good!
October 08, 2011
Yes, it is great. I do not think you'll regret spending your time on this one.
October 08, 2011
Ok, I guess I have to get up and get this. I have been so occupied with other things that I am almost losing my links to Asian cinema. Time for me to go back where I started. Nice work, Sharrie!
October 08, 2011
It's hard to believe that Chan has been in 100 films now. I've been watching his movies since I was little. I feel old. LOL!
 
1
More 1911 (film) reviews
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2011
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
History not my forte, war movie not my cup of tea... Jackie Chan, Winston Chao & Joan Chen? Well, that's quite a combo. So, I went to the movie, thinking I should be quite well entertained since it's also Jackie's 100th movie.             Well? Brilliant film making and what went through my mind during the movie? Read the entire review if you're truly interested. The 100th anniversary of the modern day Chinese revolution!   …
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #13
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

1911, also known as Xinhai Revolution and The 1911 Revolution, is a 2011historical drama film. The film is a tribute to the 100th anniversary of the Xinhai Revolution. It is also Jackie Chan's 100th film in his career.[3] Besides starring in it, Chan is also the executive producer and director of the film. Co-stars include Chan's son Jaycee ChanLi BingbingWinston ChaoJoan Chen and Hu Ge. This film was selected to open the 24th Tokyo International Film Festival[4]
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"1911 <=> 2011?"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
ASIANatomy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists