ASIANatomy
Pure Asian Entertainment: Film, TV, Anime & Manga

Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights

  • Feb 18, 2011
Rating:
+5
Back in May 2010, I took my first flight to California in order to meet up with a friend at the Weekend of Horrors. This was the weekend with a firsts for me. I'd never been on a plane let alone walked through California. I'd never been to a horror con fest as they usually are nowhere close to my hometown and usually I couldn't afford to make the trips. Lastly, I'd never met my bud who I'd be hanging out with for a whole weekend. You can probably imagine just how excited I was and even a bit nervous. What can I say?

Chances are, you're probably gonna have a lot of fun if you like horror films or being around those that do. You're going to see lots of cool people in make-up and tattoos strolling around so hopefully this is your cup of tea. You needn't worry though as most are pretty friendly and the majority of them will carry on conversations with you. I talked with a lot of nice people while waiting in line for autographs or merchandise. People would also speak to you or nod their heads also when you're just lounging around in the lobby. WOH is a very cool atmosphere and thank heavens no one was there to ruin it.

Sadly, I arrived in LA early Saturday morning so I missed meeting William Lustig and Meir Zarchi. Bummer, huh? Supposedly Meir Zarchi and the cast/crew who bequeathed the I Spit On Your Grave remake were signing posters on Friday. Although I didn't find any autographed posters left the following day, I did manage to get the standard poster. (It's around somewhere.)

Saturday morning was a big day. Chris and I ate breakfast buffet inside the Marriott and had to eat quick as the tour van would be pulling up to take us around California. We were almost afraid of missing out on meeting Robert Englund and Heather Langenkamp of Nightmare on Elm Street but wanted to see some of LA, Beverly Hills, and Venice Beach. Thankfully, we made it back in time to get autographs and still partake in many of the activities that day. Robert Englund was kinda snobbish but Heather was a real sweetheart. She even let me take a photo with her! OMG!

The WOH is a great place to buy goodies (DVDs, t-shirts, etc.) or just chill out and watch movies. It's $20 to get in which allows you access to all the activities be it interviews with cast/crew members, movie screenings, and unlimited access to the vendors who are usually quite knowledgeable. In fact, many of them will talk to to you even if you're not buying anything from their table. Some of them even sign autographs for you if you're purchasing items. Be prepared to open your wallet though and have some cash on hand as many vendors do not accept debit cards. You will probably buy a lot of junk you don't need but there are some good bargains so go ahead and let loose of that hard earned cash.

Perhaps the highlight of my trip was meeting Dario Argento. Being a long time fan of his work, this was like a dream come true for me. I met him just before Inferno played in one of the activity rooms and he was very friendly. His thick Italian accent reminded me a lot of my grandfather. He shook my hand and smiled. He even thanked me for my compliments. Before the WOH was over, he signed my copy of Suspiria. I thanked him again for making the stateside appearance. I saw him once more in the Champion s bar and grill within the Marriott before I left the hotel that day. I so wanted to go up to him and talk with him again but didn't want to look like a stalker. Know what I mean?

During the trip, I also ran into some other great horror veterans. Tony Todd, Joe Pilato, Barbara Magnolfi and many others were quite sociable and certainly easy to talk with. I would definitely go again. ;-) Oh yeah, Chris was awesome to hang around with as well. He's a great friend and he's kinda like the sick-twisted brother or cousin I never knew. Hahaha!
Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights Weekend of Horrors---Garden Of Earthly Delights

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
August 26, 2011
There's nothing that's more fun than going to your first big time cross-country horror con, especially if your meeting a long-time friend whom you've never really shared air space with. The 3 I attended in LA were particularly great because 2 of them were hosted by Bruce Campbell. Back then they had a lot of top notch guests and they all made themselves very accessible, and like you said, there were all sorts of 'em just wandering around the halls like Tony Todd and Tom Savini. Those were the days. I even had money to spend.
September 03, 2011
I totally agree. It's exciting & fun especially when you're in good company. It wasn't nearly as costly as Dragon Con or some of the other themed cons but still it can kinda costly when you factor in airline tix, hotels, meals, etc. Not to mention the daily cost of &20 which is pretty fair I'd say until you realize you're still going to blow money on paraphrenalia & autographs to boot. I would love to go again but I've a beer pocket & a busted wallet. LOL
September 05, 2011
The first 2 Fangoria's I went to didn't have separate charges for autographs--just very long lines to stand in if you wanted them. Now everyone is charging extra for them, but that's capitalism for you. Now that Creation has taken over all of the major conventions you have to pay for the air you breath while you are within the convention's space. It's ridiculous.
September 06, 2011
In that case, I sure wish I'd attended those instead of Creation's Weekend. There were still long lines for the bigger names like Argento or Englund of course. Then prices were set at the smaller tables by the guests themselves. I paid Heather a $20 for the autograph & she allowed me to take a photo with her. I didn't ask her how much she wanted & maybe I should've but she was so nice. I like to support those who are friendly. ;-)
September 08, 2011
Now Creation has photo sessions set up with the big name guests and you have to pay through the nose for those. The lesser names you can take a picture with I suppose, as long as you buy a photo and an autograph I've never seen one object anyhow. It was always fun to watch Bruce Campbell in those lines because he kinda seemed scared of his fans, and with good reason sometimes! =)
 
February 23, 2011
Sounds like you two had a wonderful time man, glad to hear it.
February 24, 2011
Yeah, it was a great. Only wished it had lasted longer but it would've cost a fortune had that been the case. I'm thqankful that I had the chance to go at all really. Would love to go back to Cali again sometime or attend another Horror con. They're lotsa fun man. Thanks for the kind words as always!
 
February 18, 2011
Where are the photos of you and Chris?
February 18, 2011
Should be in my photo portfolio. ;-) Cenobite in California.
February 18, 2011
You should put some in the review. : )
February 21, 2011
I would but you know how public access computers are so that's my current obstacle. I can't download or upload anything. Hopefully, this will change as I think that would be great actually.
 
February 18, 2011
This sounds like a blast, Bri! I'm glad you got to go and had a great time! At only $20, that's quite a deal compared to the other Cons out there. Great write-up!
February 18, 2011
Thanks stranger! Where ya been? *Muah*
February 19, 2011
I should ask you that ;p I've been back for a little while now, since October- life got in the way of lunching there for a bit, you know how it goes! HUGS!
February 21, 2011
Ahh, staying out of trouble as best as I can. Not an easy thing to do (hehe) but I try. I've on ahiatus from most social netwroking sites but I still do review from time to time and dropmin when I can. Life is always challenging and hectic but plenty of fun. Good to see you're still hanging out at Lunch! HUGS!!!
February 22, 2011
LOL...yep, I try to stay out of it too ;p Well, I'm glad that you drop in when you can! HUGS :)
 
February 18, 2011
man! I am so jealous! The best sutograph I've ever had was with Jackie Chan and Frank Miller. Argento is heaven and so would Romero! Hopefully, I can see Chris when he comes down to SF this summer! I hope you can make it too, Brian! Oh, btw, I think you meant to add this write up to Movie Hype right?
February 18, 2011
Either way. I didn't think it fit the criteria for movie hype or asianatomy. Wish I could go to SF. I don't know if I will make that this time around but it'd be fun I'm sure. I miss Cali. :-(
February 18, 2011
oh, just put it in Movie Hype....it can be classified as a 'horror convention" after all. I'll call Chris soon, I hope one of these days everyone can get together.
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #20
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this event

Wiki


Creation Entertainment
 
Jump to:navigation, search
Question book-new.svg
This article needs references that appear in reliable third-party publications. Primary sources or sources affiliated with the subject are generally not sufficient for a Wikipedia article. Please add more appropriate citations from reliable sources. (August 2007)

Creation Entertainment is an entertainment company located in Glendale, California which produces fan conventions for fans of various films and television series, mainly in the sci-fi, horror and fantasy genres. It was founded in 1971 by Gary Berman and Adam Malin in New York. Since then, it has organized over 2,300 conventions. Creation Entertainment hosts about 20 conventions annually in various locations such as Chicago, Illinois; and Burbank, California. Creation Entertainment has rights to hold official conventions for shows such as Stargate SG-1, Star Trek, and Xena. They also host the largest Star Trek Convention in the world which occurs annually during the Summer in Las Vegas, NV and previously handled Fangoria's Weekend of Horrors conventions.

Over the years, hundreds of actors, directors, producers and writers have appeared at their conventions to speak to and meet their fans. The conventions usually consist of on-stage celebrity appearances & QA sessions, parties and cabaret performances featuring celebrities and even charity auction breakfasts. [1]. Attendees may also purchase autographs and photo-ops that allow fans to be ...

view wiki

Details

Location: 5855 West Century Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA
Date(s): May 21-23, 2010
Venue: Marriott Los Angeles Airport

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
ASIANatomy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists