ASIANatomy
Pure Asian Entertainment: Film, TV, Anime & Manga

Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole?

  • Apr 17, 2010
Rating:
+3

I hardly know where to begin when discussing SAVE THE GREEN PLANET; it's as if someone threw 3 or 4 different genres into a blender and set it on puree. Of course for me this is not necessarily a bad thing since I love movies that make unpredictable twists and turns and don't stay safely within the boundaries of any conventional realm. However some viewers may feel themselves at sea in this film which seems to start out as a black comedy and then spins wildly out of control (much like its lead character) and careens through the slasher, gorno, and science fiction genres with a detour into David Lynch territory for good measure. They may even resent the fact the film's advertising represents it as far more of a comedy then it is. I personally got very few laughs from this flick after the first 10 minutes.

SAVE THE GREEN PLANET is the story of a young man (Ha-Kyun Shin)who has made it his life's mission to save earth from an alien take-over, with the help of his plump, female friend Sooni (Jeong-Min Hwang). To this end he captures and tortures the CEO of a major chemical firm who he believes has information on the upcoming invasion. The torture scenes are brutal and become extremely difficult to watch. The director stated that he wanted to make a film like MISERY only from the perspective of Kathy Bates' character. So he alternately makes us feel sorry for the young man and repulsed by him; feel certain he's a madman and then wonder if maybe he isn't right after all. Director/writer Joon-Hwan Jang pulls at our emotions like he's making salt water taffy. I've never seen another film quite like this, and it will be a little while before I'm ready to see another one. It's bloody and gruesome and violent and full of pathos and despair, the kind of comedy you get only from the Koreans these days. I do recommend it, but only with a caveat.
Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole? Over the Rainbow or Down the Rabbit Hole?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
April 20, 2010
Sounds crazy, great review.
April 20, 2010
Oh it's crazy alright!
 
April 19, 2010
Wow, a new review! Nicely done, Queenie. The film sounds a bit uneven and possibly too bloody for my taste, but still interesting.
April 20, 2010
I may even give it another chance one day because it's a wild ride. I think it just wasn't what I was expecting, and not in a good way. I was in the mood for what the NetFlix synopsis promised and then I got something that was a lot more violent and gory than I had been lead to believe. I think if I were to see it again knowing what I was getting that I might think more highly of it.
 
April 18, 2010
This is not what I expected a movie called Save the Green Planet! to be about. Sounds fun though!
April 19, 2010
It was ...different.
 
April 18, 2010
Certainly not my kind of entertainment :-) I'm pretty simple when it comes to movies, I don't like wars and anything gruesome or in despair. I figured I pay for fun, not torture. But if it kicks in with your emotion and you learned something from it, it can't be bad. Good review!
April 18, 2010
I've always loved horror movies which is odd because I don't like violence and I hate the current trend in torture porn, it's really sick stuff. This is just a very peculiar movie.
April 18, 2010
It'd be interesting if you look into why you like something. I always find it an extremely enlightening process. Although when it comes to movies, I don't make a conscious choice. It's instinctive in some sense. I've no tendency to watch horror or vampire movies.
April 18, 2010
It is instinctive. It's the magical "it" factor that sometimes we can't define--and that's what pushes a movie from 4 stars up to 5 for me. Sometimes it might be a charismatic actor or the message of the film, sometimes it might just be the fact that he shown me something new that I had never seen in a film before. That last one almost always works for me. I really appreciate creativity and originality even if it may push a film into the realm of silliness. And that's one reason why I don't understand why I didn't like this film more than I did. It was a genuine genre bender.
April 19, 2010
Perhaps its because it doesn't fit in with your value system?
April 19, 2010
Maybe. But that doesn't necessarily keep me from enjoying a film--unless it's something really sick like THE DEVIL'S REJECTS.
 
April 17, 2010
yep, I saw this when it first came out, I can't really say it was anything special but I thought it was pretty decent. Pretty good Korean movie review!
April 17, 2010
A mixed up flick like this ought to really ring my bell. I can't quite figure out why it didn't.
 
1
More Save the Green Planet! reviews
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Korean flick that combines horror and science fiction with torture and a touch of comedy (?)
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #5
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Korean horror film with elements of black comedy and torture. Directed by Joon-Hwan Jang. Starring:  Ha-Kyun Shin, Yoon-Sik Paek, and Jeong-Min Hwang
view wiki

Details

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Horror
Release Date: January 1, 2004
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Runtime: 1hr 56min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
ASIANatomy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists