ASIANatomy
Pure Asian Entertainment: Film, TV, Anime & Manga

An anime film released in 1987 and directed by Yoshiaki Kawajiri

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Feb 21, 2012
Ok, I have to admit that this was one of those anime films that made me raise my eyebrow when I saw it for the first time. I have learned to enjoy it, comparatively speaking since I have a weakness for stories with some occult-ish and supernatural horror theme.

The film is violent and quite sexually-oriented that it borders on hentai anime (which I don’t like). I do not take pleasure in watching a female character being sexually assaulted by demonic entities, but at least, it was more tasteful than “Legend of the Overfiend” and “La Blue Girl”, since it did not focus on those devices. If you like anime that is dark, disturbing and somewhat horrific, then “Wicked City” is for you. But if you think anime is all about “Gundam”, “Fist of the Northstar” and “Yu-gi-oh” then you are better off staying away from this one. [3 ½ Out of 5 Stars]

Full review coming soon.

Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
18
Post a Comment
February 24, 2012
I'd rate this one a 76%, or a 4. I remember first watching this one when I was 14 and was totally shocked by what was presented here.
February 25, 2012
I know. I think when I saw this one, I was very surprised how anime would go that far. I mean as a kid, my first anime experience was with mecha and fantasies. This was pretty good for what it is.
 
February 21, 2012
Ahahahahaha... "But if you think anime is all about “Gundam”, “Fist of the Northstar” and “Yu-gi-oh” then you are better off staying away from this one." I like Gundam and Yu Gi Oh...^^ Never really been sure how much I'm into squicky-ness though. I never even had any idea this type of material existed until I got into anime. Creepy.
February 22, 2012
I like Yu-Gi-Oh and even enjoyed some episodes of Gundam myself, Steph, but I have to say anime like this had traumatized some viewers when it came out before LOL!
February 22, 2012
Yeah...there are some pretty twisted minds working in the anime business. ^^;;;
February 25, 2012
I'd like a job as an anime writer LOL!
 
February 21, 2012
Good review and great picture shot !
February 22, 2012
thanks.
February 22, 2012
You are very welcome.
 
February 21, 2012
I remember this one man, been a while since I even thought of this.
February 22, 2012
Yeah, I am trying to dig into my collection....check out my latest review, it is for you!
 
1
More Wicked City reviews
review by . August 29, 2013
posted in ASIANatomy
THIS IS A WICKED CITY
            WICKED CITY      Many things have been said about this film based on a book and directed by "Ninja Scroll" director Yoshiaki Kawajiri. Things like "disgusting", "classic", "dark", "horrible", "great" and so on, many different opinions. Well I am somewhere in between all of that although I think anyone would agree with the dark thing, because it is. This is one of …
Quick Tip by . August 29, 2013
posted in ASIANatomy
This isn't a bad film and for some people might be a great film. For me it is just a cool Anime, a good if average flick. If you don't mind rape and violent scenes in your Anime then this is for you indeed. But if you like the kid friendlier stuff then stay away.
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Wicked City (妖獣都市, Yōjū Toshi?) is an animated horror neo-noir directed by Yoshiaki Kawajiri, based on Hideyuki Kikuchi's novel of the same name.

The story takes place towards the end of the 20th century and explores the idea that the human world secretly coexists with the demon world with a secret police force known as the Black Guard protecting the boundary.

The film was released in Japan on April 19, 1987 by Japan Home Video (JHV) and received a western release dubbed by Streamline Pictures under the name Wicked City on August 20, 1993. After Streamline Pictures lost the distribution rights, it was licensed and distributed by Urban Vision. A censored version of the film was distributed by Manga Entertainment in the UK with a different dub. Both Streamline and Manga UK dubs were released in Australia, the Manga UK dub being released on VHS in 1994. In 1995, Manga Video released in Australia a bundle VHS consisting of Wicked City and Monster City, this version containing the Streamline dub. In 1997 when Madman Entertainment was named distributor for Manga in Australia, the Streamline dub was released on a single tape, the Manga UK version was phased out.

view wiki

Details

Genre: Action, Adventure, Animation, Horror
Release Date: April 25, 1987
Runtime: 82 minutes

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
ASIANatomy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists