art is life... life is art
art is life... life is art
A Lunch community for lovers of all kinds of art!
Fantasia (movie)

Walt Disney's 1940 film that combined classical music with ground-breaking animation.

< read all 12 reviews

Uplifting! A classic not to be missed!

  • Nov 2, 2010
Rating:
+5
First off, the Fantasia I had in mind was from those days I visited Disneyland and Disneyworld. I remembered the awesome music and when I accidentally chanced upon it on one of China’s biggest online bookstores, a DVD for less than a US$1, I grabbed it without much of a thought. The beauty of ordering online in China is that no matter where you’re within China, shipping is free of charge as long as your order amounts to a total of some US$4 or so. That wasn’t too difficult, not everything is a mere $1 afterall.
 
As I began to play the film, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I know it had to be good, otherwise, who’d call it Fantasia?!  I didn’t know it’s that good though. In fact, it’s awesome! Great music by the Philadelphia Orchestra coupled with brilliant animation. For parents, especially those with toddlers, I urge you to see it with your child (or children). The characters are so cute that I find it amazing that it’s from the 40s! It’s a Disney production and yet it has a touch of newness and innocence. The movement, the flow and the look is so enjoyable to watch! The music and the animation are so perfectly intertwined. Not a word uttered and yet every expression tells the story and emotion of the characters. There’s a lot of flying in the air in this film, very carefree and so much freedom in expression which probably signaled a time of hope back then in the U.S. This is certainly the type of film we should all be looking for, especially for the children.






It is refreshing to watch it at this time of my life. I do get tired of seeing the kind of movie that’s been produced lately, especially in the last 2 decades. It’s like movies have to be warped just to sell. Disaster movies, horror movies and abnormal movies are what caught movie-goers’ attention. It’s no wonder I don’t frequent the theater anymore! If only more of movies like those of Fantasia & Up are produced, the world will probably be a much better place than it is today!

In any case, this is one great film with excellent animation and the most profound music. A movie where talents can be detected, where hope lives and where creativity reigns. Highly recommended for those who have not watched it! Excellent music, animation & artistic impression!

(A Lunch Featured Review)
Uplifting! A classic not to be missed!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
25
Fun to Read
28
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
June 01, 2011
Excellent review. Believe it or not I have never seen this film! Still don't think I would purchase it but you have now piqued my curiosity. I think our local library still has a copy I can borrow.
 
January 13, 2011
Spot on - it was a ground-breaking film and still stands-up as an artistic masterpiece today.
 
November 04, 2010
Great review, Sharrie! I absolutely love this classic as well :)
 
November 02, 2010
I first saw this first as a kid and have seen it many times since and I bought it immediately when it came out on DVD. This is my favorite Disney animation and it combines two of my main interests, animation and Classical Music, a perfect combination in my mind.
November 03, 2010
Yes. There is such an amazing synchrony between the movement and the music pieces that is so rare to see. I love the flow between the music & the characters. Such innocence! Very rare :-)
 
November 02, 2010
Yup. This is indeed a classic and was the best animation for its time. Very nice review!
November 03, 2010
When did you see it? It's quite amazing that I didn't come across it until now.
November 03, 2010
sometime ago when it first came out before on VHS. I now own it on dvd.
November 03, 2010
VHS? That must be in the 70s or early 80s!
 
November 02, 2010
Very enjoyable review Sharrie. I don't own a copy, but I've seen it a few times and what you wrote makes me want to go out and buy one for my children to enjoy! :)
November 02, 2010
Thanks, Kort! That's a great idea. I do believe children should really have more access to this kind of productions. It's truly fun to watch for the adults too! :)
 
1
More Fantasia reviews
Quick Tip by . November 02, 2010
Caption
I recently acquired a licensed DVD copy of this movie in China and while watching it, an interesting thought came to mind... Innovation & creativity in the U.S. is way more advanced than most Asian and European countries, yet, in recent years, all that creativity doesn't seemed to have been put to good use. Oh, it went into Wall Street instead and we all know what had brought the world economy to a screeching halt some 2 years ago. Will the U.S. return to the good ol' days and innovate …
Quick Tip by . November 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A little Fantasia trivia: The three Germanic composers featured in the film are Bach, Beethoven, and Schubert, in order of appearance.
review by . July 15, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I really enjoy this animation.    The plot was interesting and magical and had very good animation.   I was highly entertain throwout the movie. It meet the hype, and the place i seen the movie was even more exciting. Trailer didn't show the full glory of this movie. Is This Movie Mainstream Or Pretty Obscure? The movie is mainstream and obscure,  I am not a musical fan, but this movie is a 10, i never been more excited to …
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
probably the greatest animation to score design ever. Fantasia is filled with beautiful compositions and amazing classic animation
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I was a kid when I saw this but I thought it was a dream and wanted it to happen to me in real life but all of those dreams are gone and some day I hope to find the movie on DVD so my child can watch the movie and see the same wonderful thing in my life .
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Animation is timeless and visually stunning, especially when paired with the score.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
My favorite childhood film—I have so many memories tied with this film. It's seriously one of those films that hooks creativity of both the visual and audio kind.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I had no idea that the upcoming Disney movie, 'The Sorcerer's Apprentice,' is based on this classic. Good thing my sister got me in the know; now I'm highly anticipating the film just to see how it pays homage to the original source material (which scared the hell out of me as a kid)!
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A Disney classic and VERY ahead of its time, still enjoyed by millions. The soundtrack just brings you to entirely different place.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Some people say this is a fun movie to watch stoned or on acid...I dunno about all that...I just..like...um...what was the question?
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #2
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Sharrie
About this movie

Wiki

Walt Disney took a big chance with this ambitious anthology of animated fantasies. First, he set them to lengthy classical music pieces, and then he boldly experimented with different forms of animation, sometimes jettisoning any sort of narrative altogether. The result is a sometimes mesmerizing, sometimes hilarious, sometimes frightening, but always beautiful moviegoing experience. A box-office failure when first released, it's now considered a timeless treasure. Highlights include: Mickey Mouse in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice," the leaping hippos and alligators in "Dance of the Hours," the rise and fall of the dinosaurs set to Stravinsky's "Rite of Spring," the dancing mushrooms of Tchaikovsky's "Nutcracker Suite," and Mussorgsky's "Night on Bald Mountain," with its fearsome winged demon raging at the heavens.

One of Walt Disney's ambitions for the project was to rerelease the film periodically over the years with new sequences. Though the film was regularly rereleased, it wasn't until 1999 ...
view wiki

Details

Genre: Music, Musical
Release Date: November 14, 1940
MPAA Rating: G
Screen Writer: Perce Pearce
Runtime: 1hr 56min
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
art is life... life is art is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists