art is life... life is art
art is life... life is art
A Lunch community for lovers of all kinds of art!
Salvador Dali

A Spanish surrealist artist.

< read all 7 reviews

Salvador Dali - Warped or Straight?

  • Apr 1, 2010
Rating:
+5
Salvador Dali is my favorite artist.  Some in the art community consider him a sell out because of his commericalization.  Dali has a unique style that combines different elements together.  His paintings differ greatly.  I am not such a big fan of the deconstructed images as I am of the ones with hidden pictures and perspectives.  Among my favorites:

The Last Supper



Abraham Lincoln



Okay...one deconstructed picture...of his beloved Gala:



One for tomorrow, Good Friday:



Columbus:



I enjoy Dali's perspective and don't feel further commentary is warranted.  I simply have presented some of my favorite paintings from my favorite artist for you to enjoy!
Salvador Dali - Warped or Straight?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
April 06, 2010
Very nice! and all I managed for the art community is comic book art? I am embarrassed ;-P
 
April 02, 2010
His unique perspective on the crucifixion is one of my favourite all-time paintings.
September 27, 2010
Dali did several Crucifixions. One is in the National Gallery in Washington DC and I couldn't stop looking at it. As you say, it's that perspective, almost as though God were looking down on the young man on the cross.
 
April 02, 2010
Thanks! I haven't seen some of these but they do look great! I first came across Dali through the brand of perfume! I like Dali and also Renoir :-)
 
1
More Salvador Dali reviews
Quick Tip by . October 16, 2010
A man who lived his art, right down to the persona he created.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
As my answer to that ever popular question - name 3 people you would like to have dinner with, Salvador Dali is definately one of them.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Surrealism.
Quick Tip by . April 01, 2010
The brilliantly twisted mastermind of surrealism, Dali is one of the most influential artists of the past century.
Quick Tip by . January 25, 2010
Went to a Dali exhibit in Prague. This dude has some crazy art. I digg the stache as well!
About the reviewer

Ranked #6
Member Since: Nov 20, 2009
Last Login: Feb 19, 2011 12:55 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
coldsteel7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this public figure

Wiki

 Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech, 1st Marquis of Púbol (May 11, 1904 – January 23, 1989) was a prominent Spanish Catalan surrealist painter born in Figueres.

Dalí was a skilled draftsman, best known for the striking and bizarre images in his surrealist work. His painterly skills are often attributed to the influence of Renaissance masters. His best-known work, The Persistence of Memory, was completed in 1931. Dalí's expansive artistic repertoire includes film, sculpture, and photography, in collaboration with a range of artists in a variety of media.

Dalí attributed his "love of everything that is gilded and excessive, my passion for luxury and my love of oriental clothes" to a self-styled "Arab lineage," claiming that his ancestors were descended from the Moors.

Dalí was highly imaginative, and also had an affinity for partaking in unusual and grandiose behavior, in order to draw attention to himself. This sometimes irked those who loved his art as much as it annoyed his critics, since his eccentric manner sometimes drew more public attention than his artwork.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Surrealism
Medium: Paintings, Sculptures, Drawings

Lists with this public figure
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
art is life... life is art is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists