Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.

Wool Socks

1 rating: 5.0
Socks that are made of wool.
1 review about Wool Socks

A Quick Tip by katknit

  • Feb 11, 2011
Well, that depends. I knit socks for myself all the time, and the yarn is generally wool blended with nylon or another synthetic. I can wear those comfortably, and they're very warm. But 100% wool socks that I've bought are usually too itchy, unless I wear a thinner pair of non-wool underneath. Do you like wool socks?
Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
5
Post a Comment
February 11, 2011
I don't think I've ever worn 100% wool socks before, but that's really interesting what you say about them being too itchy. Didn't know that! I'll stick to my usual wool blend socks :)
February 24, 2011
By the way, Linda, do you happen to know the proper care for wool socks? My friend has a pair of favorites and is afraid of washing them in the machine for fear that they'd fall apart!
February 24, 2011
Hi devora, The important thing with wool is to wash, rinse, and dry it all at the same temp. I usually wash my socks in the machine on the cold setting, and air dry. It's the switching around of hot and cold that causes shrinking.
February 24, 2011
Hi devora, The important thing with wool is to wash, rinse, and dry it all at the same temp. I usually wash my socks in the machine on the cold setting, and air dry. It's the switching around of hot and cold that causes shrinking.
February 24, 2011
Great, thanks for the tip, Linda! :)
February 25, 2011
YW, devora!
 
February 11, 2011
I have 100% merino wool socks and they're not itchy. It depends on the process used in manufacturing or making of the yarn, if they treat it with 'mothproofing' chemicals and it isn't organically 'grown' it will most likely be itchy.
 
1
What's your opinion on Wool Socks?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Your favorite brands of wool socks (organic or not)?
Details
Source: Wool Socks on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists