Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Conan O'Brien

A comedian and TV host

< read all 7 reviews

Conan Beats Out Leno, Rocks Out With Jack White for TBS Premiere

  • Nov 9, 2010
Rating:
+5
@Nando1 and I stayed up to watch the premiere of Conan's new show (creatively named Conan) on TBS. As he would later explain, he named it Conan so it would be harder to replace him.

In the opening sequence, he parodied his firing from NBC by applying for a job with actor Jon Hamm on the Mad Men set and was rescued by Larry King as his guardian angel who saved him from jumping off of a bridge, suggesting two words...basic cable.

                                                                                                            

He came out in classic Conan manner and didn't hold back any sentiment against NBC or jokes about coming from big budget NBC to low budget TBS: "Thank you. Thank you and welcome to my 2nd annual 1st show. Yes, I know what you guys are thinking, hey, it's that guy from Twitter...This is an exciting night.  I’m glad to be on cable. The truth is, I’ve dreamed of being a talk show host on basic cable ever since I was 46."

By the way, Conan's premiere on TBS had 4.2 million viewers far surpassing Jay Leno's Tonight Show return with 3.5 million viewers. For @teamcoco fans, and for CoCo himself, this provides a great feeling of redemption. For those of you that have no clue what happened between Jay and Conan- Conan was asked to move The Tonight Show back to 12:05a because Jay's new show wasn't doing well in the 10p time slot. Poor, spoiled Jay wanted to move a late night television classic made famous by Johnny Carson back to midnight. Conan refused because he saw it as disrespectful and he was fired from NBC. Jay, then, went back to hosting The Tonight Show and Conan was left out in the cold, until TBS saw $$$$$ and made a smart move.

The first official guest from the "rigged first guest contest" was Arlene Wagner, curator of the Leavenworth Nutcracker Museum. The second, Seth Rogen, spoke about his ambivalent attitude about Prop 19 not passing-"..it's easy to get a prescription. I walked in the other day and told them I had a unique illness- the I don't have any weed type." The third, the lovely Lea Michelle from Glee. She was bubbly and seemed genuinely excited to be there with Conan. She spoke about how her father told her at age 8 that she was funny and could dance, but couldn't sing. 

Finally, the piece de resistance....Conan strapped on a guitar to rock out with Jack White (mostly known from The White Stripes) and the house band, Jimmy Vivino and the Basic Cable Band. The best tidbit from last night? I learned that Conan can play a guitar, and not just the basic three chords (G, A, E) but, he can really play and held his own against White. Don't believe me? Here you go:
                                                                                                                   

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
November 22, 2010
Glad to see he is back in full form! Nice post, loved the vids.
November 22, 2010
Me too, and with a full beard ;p Thanks!
 
November 10, 2010
I haven't seen Conan in ages and glad I read this because I was not aware of why he moved and what went on with Leno. I should have seen the show and hopefully will catch it another time. I agree with TheJohn on the beard; he looks better without it.
November 10, 2010
Glad I could help bring you up to speed! He's on every night 11p on TBS, so you have plenty of chances to catch up ;p
November 22, 2010
I also forgot to mention that I wrote a full review of it: The Tonight Show to be Renamed The Midnight Show?
 
November 10, 2010
I'm with Coco. Big chinned jerk can have Arnie on all he wants, I'm not tuning into him anymore. MUCH LESS Awesome. This is why Conan is great. I think he needs to shave though, the beard doesn't look right on him. I do hope Joel is still around, I don't like Andy Richter.
November 10, 2010
LOL! Definitely! I don't know if Joel's still around but, I saw Andy last night. I guess we'll just have to wait and see ;p
 
November 09, 2010
Oh, crap, I forgot to watch it and support Coco. : (
November 09, 2010
Oh, man! I have it DVRed...I wish I could record it and send it to you...but, maybe you can get in on Hulu?
November 09, 2010
Hopefully. I miss his silly dancing and high pitch squealing. LOL!
November 09, 2010
He's on tonight with Tom Hanks! So, set a reminder ;p
November 09, 2010
Sweet, though I'd take Jack White over Tom Hanks any day.
November 10, 2010
I forgot what musical guest he's having tonight...
November 10, 2010
Damn it, I missed it again. And apparently it was Soundgarden, though I wasn't aware that they'd even reformed.
 
1
More Conan O'Brien reviews
Quick Tip by . December 04, 2010
Give the guy a break...he is trying so hard....i don't want to be in his shoes for sure...it must be mega hard for him...poor Conan.
Quick Tip by . January 20, 2010
Team Conan for sure! This dude is HILARIOUS!
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2010
pretty bummed about conan. i'm definitely not watching jay and probably boycotting NBC.
Quick Tip by . January 13, 2010
I'm definitely #teamconan. Jay, have a quarter and buy a clue, your time is done. Sorry. Stick to the Comedy and Magic Club in Hermosa...
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #11
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Conan Christopher O'Brien (born April 18, 1963) is an American television host and comedian. He is the host of The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien, a late-night talk show that airs Monday through Friday on NBC. Before The Tonight Show, O'Brien was well-known as the host of Late Night with Conan O'Brien from 1993 to 2009. Prior to his hosting career, O'Brien was a writer for Saturday Night Live and the animated series The Simpsons.
view wiki

Details

Nationality: American
Birth Date: April 18, 1963, Apr 18, 1963 12:00 A
Height: 76 inches

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists