Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein...Whimsical amusement for both kids and adults!

  • Jun 14, 2010
Rating:
+5

If you want to cheer yourself up or even just relax Where the Sidewalk Ends is the perfect choice! I remember in fifth grade reading this book for the first time and falling in love as I chuckled from one page to the next. Even today as an adult just thinking about the poems brings a smile to my face. I love how Shel Silverstein relates to the manner in which children think through his poetry. His poems are refreshing and funny at the same time. For instance "Sister for Sale"  is about how a brother wants to sell his sister. How many of us with siblings would have loved the opportunity to do something like that? Or Little Peggy Ann Mckay who does not want to go to school because she has"... the measles, the mumps, a gash a rash and purple bumps..." but then discovers it is Saturday and goes out to play. Thus, Silverstein relates to how children will say anything to get out of going to school and how they are quick to change their act once their situation changes; there are even some adults who still use excuses to get out of work lol. Amongst the humor integrated into his poetry Silverstein evens adds in some life lessons such as prompting kids to keep clean with his poem "Dirty Dan" who is described as being absolutely filthy because he has not taken a bath in ages. Moreover, there is an illustration that goes along with almost every poem. Although, the illustrations are not extremely extravagant they are match perfectly with the poems making them funnier than they already are. One could say well this is just for kids, but I think reading books such as this is a great way to keep one's inner child alive. Once you have read this I'm pretty sure you'll agree with me!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
June 14, 2010
One of my favorites! Thanks for sharing. I'll have to pull this off the book shelf and give it a read again one of these days!
 
June 14, 2010
Nice review! I'm a fan of all of Silverstein's writings, my favorite being "The Giving Tree." For a while Borders was giving away gift cards with the cover from the book on it. I don't know if I ever picked one up. I did get "The Lorax" one (another favorite children's book by Suess) :)
 
1
More Where the Sidewalk Ends: The P... reviews
review by . June 12, 2012
posted in Awesomeness
I read this book for the 1st time in the 4th grade - I still love it at 32! It has humor but it also has double meanings. I would recommend this book to anyone!
review by . June 15, 2010
Shel Silverstein is a fun poet that looks at like like we all should, with a sense of humor! The poetry is suitable for all ages and is great medicine for a sad heart.  When I hear the name Shel Silverstein, I automatically picture the little upside down girl above all the houses in one of his most famous drawings. Slightly disheveled, but wholly adorable, the image has become an integral part of an entire generation of free verse poets.   When working in the school system, we use …
review by . July 12, 2010
There are two types of people that read poetry these days, it seems: poets and kids. Does kids poetry have to be bad? Actually, I seem to have much better luck with "kids" poetry than with serious poetry, and perhaps that it merely because kids are a more discerning audience. By this, I mean that a kid knows what they like, and if they don't like something, they will say so. Having been educated a bit on poetry, my own tastes and thoughts on the subject become muddled. I don't …
Quick Tip by . August 19, 2010
If you want your child to read well, read poetry to them.
review by . June 29, 2010
 I love anything by Shel Silverstein.  Elementary kids love him as well.  He writes short poems  which are comical and very topical.  He will have you laughingoutloud because they are so funny.  Children and other adults can relate to them as well.  He has written poems about real people as well as fictional topics.    Read his books and you will see why!
review by . August 11, 2010
Being in my 30's. I can still recite three or four of the poems from Silverstein that my father read to me when I was the younger than my own children.  Ickle me, Pickle me, Tickle me too, comes to mind first.  My kids are shocked when they learn that I read this when I was young and they love it just as much as I did.  I love the classics that made it this long.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Shel was THE man to read in elementary school!! His poems-- especially in this book-- are amazing.
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
A brilliant book, with some of the best poetry and doodles this author has every created. A must for children and adults bedside tables!
review by . July 13, 2010
His poems are classic. This witty man could be both irreverent and insightful, silly and soulful. I grew up with this and his other collections of poetry and I intend to pass them on to my children. His whimsy is timeless. Shel, you are missed.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
Shel Silverstein is a genius!! This is one of my very favorite books of all time. No matter what your age, these poems can be enjoyable! :)
About the reviewer
Diana ()
Love to travel and have fun. Definitely enjoy reading especially classics such as "The Catcher in the Rye"
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Dsg2127
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Including 12 New Poems!

If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer,
A wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er,
A magic bean buyer . . .


Come in . . . for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein's world begins. You'll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.

Shel Silverstein's masterful collection of poems and drawings is at once outrageously funny and profound.

Poems:

Invitation -- Eighteen flavors -- Melinda Mae -- Sick -- Ickle me, Pickle me, tickle me too -- Enter this deserted house -- Jimmy Jet and his TV set -- For sale -- Warning -- Yipiyuk -- Crocodile's toothache -- Stone telling -- Ridiculous rose -- Boa constrictor -- Peanut-butter sandwich -- Listen to the mustn'ts -- Hug o' war -- Smart -- Forgotten language -- Farmer and the queen -- One who stayed -- No difference -- Wild boar -- Thumbs -- Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the garbage out -- My hobby -- Early bird -- Me-stew -- Captain Hook -- With his mouth full of food -- Flying festoon -- Silver fish -- Generals -- Worst -- Dreadful -- My beard.
 

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0439812321 (hbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780439812320 (hbk.)
Author: Shel Silverstein
Genre: Children's Poetry
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Date Published: 1974, 2005
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists