Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Donald Trump's 2012 Presidential Candidacy

Donald Trump is considering running for President of the United States in 2012.

< read all 3 reviews

President Trump? Please tell me this is just a publicity stunt.

  • Apr 29, 2011
Rating:
-2
When I think of Donald Trump's potential run for United States presidency in terms of pop culture, it's actually pretty awesome and hilarious.  But when I think about it a real possibility -- it's actually a very scary and cringe-worthy thought.  My first thought when I heard that he was considering running was -- he's joking, right?  Then -- is he even qualified?  So I looked up the qualifications for a presidential candidate, which were surprisingly simple, and I'll be damned, but The Donald is indeed eligible to run for three reasons -- 1)he's a natural born citizen of the United States, 2)he's at least thirty-five years old, and 3)he has been a permanent resident of the United States for at least fourteen years.  Seriously, that's it.

Though I respect the guy and look up to the way he's achieved his successes (with a few bumps on the road) as well as have been highly amused by his antics, his behavior and public persona are not becoming to that of a potential president of the United States.  How can a man with his reputation possibly think that he could hold executive power over an entire country?  The U.S. would just be a laughing stock.

Here are a few aspects of The Donald's life that disturbs me about his potential presidential candidacy:

Public Image
The Trump brand is synonymous with extravagance, luxury, and excess.  Though Donald Trump didn't start off in showbiz, his flashy lifestyle, his outspokenness, and the fact that he never minces words, have made him a celebrity.  Other things that Trump is known for: publicly calling Rosie O'Donnell "a loser", "a bully", and "a despicable person", and of course, the infamous "you're fired" line on his show Celebrity Apprentice. 

Furthermore, with our country in a recession, how is a guy who flaunts his money around on unnecessary things and brags about it going to effectively help us out?  Instead of focusing the efforts in his free time to charity and the like, he runs the Miss USA pageant.  If a more humble and charitable celebrity (among other qualities) were running for presidency, I may be able to get behind that.

Oh, and the hair -- the infamous double comb over.

http://www.celebrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/01/donald-trump-quote-1-10-07.jpg


Personal Life
On top of gossip rags being all over his public antics, his personal life has also been tabloid fodder.  From his cheating on Ivana Trump with Marla Maples, to his extravagant multi-million dollar wedding to Melania Knauss, a model who does Aflac commercials.  He's also been on Howard Stern, where he's given TMI in regards to his family.

http://donaldtrumppictures.com/images/donaldtrump.jpg

Business Dealings
The guy has filed for bankruptcy several times.  What's more?  One of those filings was a recent a just a couple of years ago.  Yes, he's had a lot of successes, but he's also had a few really bad failures to go along with that.  He's a risk taker, which I respect.  He can do whatever he thinks will give his capital the highest ROI.  When you're running a country though, you just can't take that risk.  Though his fortunes and assets are vast, that doesn't compare to those of an entire country, especially a country that's going through a recession right now and is heavily in debt.

http://blogs.seattleweekly.com/dailyweekly/donald%20trump%20you%27re%20fired.jpg

Political Experience
He has none.  He's not a lawyer or a politician, and he has never held public office, or even campaigned to.  Not on a city, county or state level, so what will compel voters to trust the country in his hands?  Furthermore, what's up with this "birther" rampage that he's been on?  This pettiness will not only lose him votes from a few parties, but also speaks volumes of his ability to rationalize and prioritize.  The Onion said it best with its satirical headline Trump Unable To Produce Certificate Proving He's Not A Festering Pile Of S*** (hint: rhymes with "hit").

http://static4.businessinsider.com/image/4d2c8c934bd7c8e219100000/donald-trump-president.jpg

There's actually not necessarily anything wrong with any of the above.  I typically am not one to scrutinize people on their personalize lives, usually taking up the mindset of "whatever floats his boat" or "to each his own".  However, when you're running for the President of the United States, you're held to a much higher set of standards.

Donald, please just stick to what you're amazing at -- real estate and business.  Not to mention creating amusing headlines.  Please leave politics to someone else more experienced with a better public image.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
June 25, 2011
If I'm not mistaken, Trump tended to declare bankruptcy right before his divorces...not that I'm saying he was trying to screw his soon to be ex-wives over or anything because after all they could just take him back into court for an adjustment. Although I'm sure there were prenupts involved. Stand-up comics all over the world sobbed when his candidacy ended.
 
May 01, 2011
Hmm. Well, the truth is that Trump has far more work experience than Obama has.
May 02, 2011
In certain arenas, yes.
 
May 01, 2011
Hey, at least Ronald McDonald hasn't joined the GOP presidential candidates list yet.
; )
May 01, 2011
I know Ronald McDonald's at least 35... but, is he a naturalized citizen? :P
May 01, 2011
I think so. LOL! You know, back in grade school I remember we did a mock election where we had to choose a president of fast food icons... I think Dave Thomas of Wendy's won.
May 01, 2011
Ronald McDonald? You mean ... Joe Biden?
May 02, 2011
Joe Biden isn't an egotistical capitalist, reality TV celebrity... yet.
 
May 01, 2011
Great read! I actually think the whole birther thing is beyond offensive and just basically really dumb politically. There's plenty to criticize about Obama but this is just embarrassing. I chuckled aplenty with the Comedy Central of Donald Trump by the way which includes hilariously non-PC lines such as... - "Running for President? That wouldn't be the first time he kicked a black family out of their home" (Ouch, and that came from Snoop Dogg). - "I love Donald and his beautiful wife, 'Insert Name Here'" (Lisa Lampanelli). - "By the way, Donald, it's pronounced "huge," not "eyuge". Also, it's pronounced "I am f****** delusional," not "I am running for President" (Seth MacFarlane) Quality all the way.
May 01, 2011
LOL, how did I miss those?  And did you see this article on CNN?  Obama lampoons Trump, releases 'birth video' at annual dinner 

Awesome :D
May 01, 2011
Yeah, let's see if Disney brings suit against the manchild like they would if it were a Republican who used the footage.
 
April 29, 2011
I'll try to make this as neutral as possible LOL...I agree with everything you wrote! I don't think he stands a chance. Though I am most definitely not a fan, at least Palin has the support of the Tea Party and some public service experience. Thanks for sharing the requirements to be a President, I actually had no idea it was that simple!
April 29, 2011
Agreed about Palin. And yeah, the simplicity of the requirements is cool, yet scary at the same time!
April 30, 2011
Yeah it is...in another 2 years I can run LOL
June 13, 2011
I'll add to this. I am unhappy enough about Obama's record regarding civil liberties that I will sooner vote for the greater evil than for him again on the theory that more resistance will be generated to the erosion of our civil liberties. Trump, however, isn't the greater evil. He is a buffoon and therefore far more dangerous.
June 14, 2011
I'll agree to disagree on the "Obama's record regarding civil liberties" because the Bush Administration is far more guilty of violating civil liberties than Obama's could ever dream of being. However, I do agree that Trump is a buffoon and that makes him far more dangerous because how could you argue against that?
 
April 29, 2011
hah. I think showmanship and supposed flair is about to be the main focus of the presidential elections. naaahhh...he is not going to win, I bet all this is a gimmick so he can get another new reality show LOL!!
April 29, 2011
Hahaha, likely the case!
April 29, 2011
but you know some folks in Congress and the Senate do need to be told "You're Fired!" LOL!! Imagine a reality show about a man running for office? Hmmm....imagine the ratings that would generate...
April 29, 2011
That would actually be kind of interesting! But I want to see that for a REAL politician, not some celebrity trying to be a politician :P
April 29, 2011
Debbie for prez!! LOL!!
April 29, 2011
I've got a few years left, but when I hit 35, maybe... *strokes imaginary beard* ;)
April 29, 2011
by then we can vote using the iphone12 and the Android 12g ;P
May 16, 2011
oh, Debbie, this is his campaign slogan:

 
May 16, 2011
Hahahahaha, thank goodness he announced that he's not running today!
 
April 29, 2011
Oh, my dear, being eligible is not the scary part, in fact, from what you say, almost every American is eligible! Being ELECTED by the Americans, well, that's eerie!!! LOL... from the world perspective, that would likely be the Maya's curse, and if you remember, the date is 21st Dec. 2012!!!
April 29, 2011
Yeah, pretty much anyone at least 35 and born here is eligible. What's more shocking in this case is that he's actually a pretty serious contender now. Haha, the apocalypse!
 
1
More Donald Trump's 2012 Presidenti... reviews
review by . April 28, 2011
posted in Business Matters
Stop firing!!!
Let me qualify this review to begin with. It is a very unpolitical and bias review. It is based more on my personal observation and feeling of Donald Trump whom I do not personally know (that's probably unfair to him but hey, he's a public figure so that's unavoidable!). Hence, it is not an attack on his character (which most political reviews would have done, I presume) but rather a reflection on his portrayal of himself on his reality shows.      Donald Trump may …
Quick Tip by . April 28, 2011
While he says some of the things a lot of us out here have been thinking I have absolutely no interest in a Donald Trump candidacy. The last thing this country needs is another rock star. What we really need in 2012 is a grown up to take the reins in Washington who is willing to do the dirty work necessary to turn this country around even if it costs him/her politically.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Trump has said that he is seriously considering running for President of the United States in 2012.

For 2012, Trump has made an energetic investigation of a presidential candidacy, including a February speech to a CPAC gathering, an early venue for candidates considering a presidential run, as a write-in candidate in its straw poll for the office. A Wall Street Journal/NBC News poll released in March 2011 found Donald Trump leading among potential contenders for the Republican nomination for President of the United States, one point ahead of former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romney. A Newsweek poll conducted February 2011 showed Trump within a few points of Obama, with many voters undecided in the November 2012 general election for President of the United States against Barack Obama. A poll released in April 2011 by Public Policy Polling showed Trump having a nine point lead in a potential contest for the Republican nomination for President of the United States. Trump's present political stances include the following:

  • Pro-life
  • Against same-sex marriage
  • Anti-gun control
  • Advocates for the repeal and replacement of Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
  • Anti-foreign aid
  • Supports a fair trade policy and believes generally that the People's Republic of China should be considered more of an adversarial competitor, subjected to significant import tariffs as a response to China's currency policy in order to help balance the U.S. budget.
  • Believes the U.S. ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Stop firing!!!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists