Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Mint Logo

A free web-based personal financial management service

< read all 4 reviews

mint.com makes you think...about your money

  • Mar 23, 2010
Rating:
+3

mint.com is a great website that will force you to see where every dollar you spend goes, and that alone should save anyone a few bucks. I started using it in December of '09, when I banked with a larger, semi-national bank. Now I use a local credit union, so mint does not work with my current bank. But, if your bank is on mint.com, it is definitely worth using, and so easy to get up and running.
 

  • mint offers dozens of  ways to categorize every transaction, or you can make up your own categories
  • it keeps track of every account you have; savings, trading, checking, CDs, etc.
  • you can enter in the values of other items, like real estate and vehicles
  • mint shows graphs and pie charts displaying how you spend
  • it offers customizable alerts that can be emailed to your inbox, e.g. "Over your Restaurant Budget"
  • also, displays your daily net worth


I don't spend as much on eating as I used to, after using this site. It made me realize that restaurants were becoming too big of a percentage of my budget.

Check out mint.com and you will not be sorry. It's user friendly, but more importantly it will get you thinking about your hard-earned money.


 

mint.com makes you think...about your money

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
April 15, 2010
I've heard SO many great things about Mint, and yet I'm embarrased to say I never really understood what it was for. This sounds fantastic, and could be a HUGE help in running our household finances. Checking it out right now, thx!
 
March 28, 2010
Wow-talk about accountability! I'd probably be mortified by what I spend on restaurants and shopping (two BIG vices!). I'd have an email in my in-box with a warning every day:) This is a really interesting idea. What about information/account safety? Is that a concern at all with Mint?
April 15, 2010
yes, also curious about account info security, but assuming they must've solved for that to become so successful... would love to learn more tho
 
March 23, 2010
Thanks--great information!
 
1
More Mint.com reviews
review by . April 15, 2009
When I first heard about Mint.com in early 2008, I thought that it wouldn't amount to much.  But I decided to check it out and see what it had to offer.      I first added the basics--checking and savings accounts.  I was a bit wary that they would store my log in information, and in effect, had access to a majority of my money.    But after a few days, and after it learned more and more about my finances, I started to add more and more accounts, …
review by . April 28, 2009
Wow. Where do I begin to shine this beam of applauding light on Mint.com?  I'm usually skeptical about providing banking information to a 3rd party website, as I usually stick with programs like Microsoft Money when it comes to managing my money.  But after deciding to give Mint.com a try, I'm not surprised that as of this writing, over a million users have signed up for the free site.     The site provides users with the standard task of managing all of their accounts …
review by . May 26, 2009
I will be brief but the application for my itouch does not stay up to date with real time changes. It is faster to just look on my bofa.com account rather than use mint.com    This site was suggested to me and I enjoyed it a much but I think with another few months of testing they'll have it right! :)  
About the reviewer
Kayla Britton ()
Member Since: Mar 11, 2010
Last Login: May 2, 2011 02:09 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kayla1
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Free Personal Finance Software, Online Money Management, Budget Planner and Financial Planning - Mint.com - Free personal finance software to assist you to manage your money, financial planning, and budget planning tools. Achieve your financial goals with Mint.
http://www.mint.com/
view wiki

Tags

Finance, Free, Budget, Financial Planning, Free Personal Finance Software, Online Money Management, Budget Planner

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists