Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Reality TV

A genre of television programming that presents purportedly unscripted dramatic or humorous situations, documents actual events, and usually features ordinary people instead of professional actors.

< read all 7 reviews

How I Hate Reality Television and Wish It Would Go Away!

  • Feb 26, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-3
I am a frequent watcher of CNN and every once in a while a tidbit from reality television makes its way to its broadcasts (ex. A guy punching a woman on some MTV show).  I may have said it in my headline above but I will repeat it.  I do not want to know anything about these mindless programs that makes stars out of idiots!  I do not care to know who the Bachelor didn't give a rose to, who Simon sniped on or if John (thank goodness I don't know his last name) cheated on his wife/girlfriend.

There is much intriguing stuff going on in the world with news being available to watch 24 x 7.  I would much rather watch hearing with Senators making fools of themselves or berating someone for something the Senators have very little knowledge about themselves (their pompousity is much more intriguing to watch) because they can.

How people can waste time at the water cooler chattering away about who Trump fired or who they thought will be the next idol is beyond me.  I want to hear about my co-worker problems on the job.  I want to get to know about what really interests them and their families.  I want to know what is holding them back from advancement.

But then again this is the society that loves to pursue stars when they are shopping, trying to spend some quiet time with their kids and if the paparazzi could, follow them into the restroom when they are trying to relieve themselves.  It is annoying what we have become and Reality Television seems to be the cherry on the sundae of a warped world.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
December 30, 2010
It amazes me how people who actually like reality shows get their kick from them - I can not understand for the life of me why one is interested in the ignorance of the people who DO the reality shows for other's so-called entertainment. There is enough fighting, arguing, bantering, and disagreements in the real world today that we don't need to see it on TV for entertainment. I completely agree with you.
 
March 28, 2010
I don't know how I missed this one when you first published it but I totally agree with you. I find these types of programs to be a colossal waste of time. I could see some of these shows as maybe a one-time special but a weekly series?? You have got to be kidding me! I think this is one of the reasons I spend so much of my time reading. There is not a who lot to watch on TV these days. Great topic!
March 29, 2010
Thanks Paul, I would love to see your take on this as a review.
 
February 28, 2010
I think of people who like reality TV as people who are obsessed with sports or a specific team. People don't care if someone is a super fan of football or baseball, but when someone talks about a reality show its different. I'm not trying to go against your opinion, it's just I think of it differently I guess.
 
1
More Reality Television reviews
review by . August 18, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
The Brits have always had a knack for cheap TV. After stuffing endless hours of gardening and cookery shows down our throats as kids, they faced a major problem when the English went from 4 channels in 1990 to roughly 13,948 with cable a few years after. There simply aren't enough gardens to prune or recipes to cook to fill the massive expanse of airtime.      Although reality TV existed in the States before it became 98% of British culture, the US shows such as Candid Camera …
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
Man, I love a good train wreck right before eyes, week after week, like clockwork! :D
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
Reality and TV don't mix. How real would you act if you had a camera in front of your face? Just a way for bad actors to get some ill fame!
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2009
I totally agree with Donna. A total waste of time. Kind of tells you about the sorry state of our culture.
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2009
Reality Programming, especially the Kardashiens- poor taste, vulgar, boring. How LOW can they go?
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Reality television is a genre of television programming that presents purportedly unscripted dramatic or humorous situations, documents actual events, and usually features ordinary people instead of professional actors. Although the genre has existed in some form or another since the early years of television (primarily with game shows), the term reality television is most commonly used to describe programs of this genre produced since 2000. Documentaries and nonfictional programming such as news and sports shows are usually not classified as reality shows.

The genre covers a wide range of programming formats, from game or quiz shows which resemble the frantic, often demeaning shows produced in Japan in the 1980s and 1990s (such as Gaki no tsukai), to surveillance- or voyeurism-focused productions such as Big Brother.

Reality television frequently portrays a modified and highly influenced form of reality, utilizing sensationalism to attract viewers to generate advertising profits. Participants are often placed in exotic locations or abnormal situations,[1] and are sometimes coached, to act in certain scripted ways by off-screen "story editors" or "segment producers," with the portrayal of events and speech manipulated and contrived to create an illusion of reality through editing and other post-production techniques.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists