Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Ferris Bueller's Day Off

A 1986 movie by John Hughes

< read all 14 reviews

School Is Out!!!

  • Aug 9, 2010
Rating:
+5
Ferris Bueller is the cool kid in High School that does what he wants, schemes when he wants to, and gets away with everything he desires. He is the kid everyone wishes they could be growing up. The movie begins with Ferris deciding that he just needs a day off from school so a grand scheme to skip without getting caught is hatched. The school principal is suspicious of Ferris all the time because of all of his past pranks that he just can't prove. The principal takes it upon himself to catch Ferris in some act and ruin him.
Ferris sets up a tape recorder and rigs it to his doorbell and telephone. When the princiapl calls or comes to the door he gets a recorded message about how sick Ferris is from Ferris himself. Ferris impersonates his dad to fool the principal and then plans to get his girlfriend out of school as well by pretending to be her dad.
Ferris kisses his girlfriend in the parking lot of school while pretending to be her father. The principal just assumes they have "one of those type of relationships." Ferris then goes to one of his rich friend's houses and talks him into taking his father's red ferrari and his girlfriend out for a day of adventure.
The car is pulled up to a parking garage and two valets drive the car all over town. In one scene the car is hurled into the air as they make a jump over a hill. The look on the valets faces is priceless. Later the car is wrecked and Ferris' friend is forced to stand up to his father for once. The movie is brilliantly done, the acting was superb and this movie will forever be one of my favorites of all time.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Ferris Bueller's Day Off reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
My Favourite Movie
If I could give this movie more than a +5 rating I would. It's one of those movies you must see. Energetic, funny, genius, you cannot help but fall in love with this film. I recommend it to everyone. I mean it.
review by . March 14, 2009
I dare anyone to watch this movie and NOT be amused at some point.  "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is John Hughes' quintessential classic 80s teen flick. Shot on location in Chicago and several surrounding 'burbs, the film follows the day-long adventure of Ferris (Matthew Broderick), his best bud Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck) and girlfriend Sloan (Mia Sara). Out to get him? His jealous sister Jeanie (pre-nose job, pre-"Dirty Dancing" Jennifer Grey) and school principal Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones).  If …
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Classic coming of age comedy about a whiz kid taking a day off from school. Lots of fun and full of memorable set pieces.
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
   takes me back.  never get tired of watching and think i need to get this one to add to my collection. it's timeless. any kid now can appreciate the comedy ferris and his friends provide. even if school is much different now. ferris is considered a hero to his friends for getting away with ditching and never getting caught by his parents. his sister jeanie tries to get ferris caught and is frustrated that he gets away with so much. his parents dont have a clue. sloan (cool name) …
review by . July 21, 2010
   One of Quentin's greatest movies. He has made many great movies but this one is clearly a work of art above all of his others(hard to believe i know!). He portrays in a very dark manner, his creepy yet amazing work of filming and composure.  
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
High school whiz kid skips school, gets his sick friend and gets his girlfriend out of class to have an afternoon of fun in Chicago and in the process, teaches his friend some self respect. Classic comedy both from Ferris's antics and his uppity Principals attempts to catch Ferris in the act.
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Very nice movie where Hughes creates this teen flicked movie to amuse the audience of Butler's day off.
Quick Tip by . August 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Along with 'Family Business' Broderick & cast hav'nt been better.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
One of the best coming-of-age 80's comedies, FBDO is clever, witty and fun. Makes me wish my high school days were that fun.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Another classic I think I see this movie coming on cable TV all the time, I feel it has been played out a little too much.
About the reviewer
Jamaul Joseph ()
Member Since: Aug 5, 2010
Last Login: Oct 19, 2010 12:13 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Jamaul
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) is a tricky but harmless fast-talker. But he knows how to have fun, which is exactly what he sets out to do when he feigns illness and talks his parents into letting him stay home from school. The perpetually lucky Ferris enlists his hypochondriac best friend, Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), into springing his girlfriend, Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara), from class, and the three embark on a raucous downtown Chicago adventure. From Wrigley Field to the Art Institute of Chicago to a Polish pride parade, Ferris and his friends make the most of their day off. But Ferris, Sloane, and Cameron might not get away with playing hooky. Ferris's sister, Jeanie (Jennifer Grey), is determined to prove that Ferris is faking sick and make him pay for it, and the bumbling school dean, Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), is sure that Ferris is pulling a fast one. Another classic from writer-director John Hughes (SIXTEEN CANDLES, THE BREAKFAST CLUB), this film features a star turn from Broderick as the cha...
view wiki

Tags

Details

Director: John Hughes
Release Date: 1986
Runtime: 1hr 43min

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists