Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Lady GaGa

An American singer, songwriter and performance artist.

< read all 14 reviews

Lady GaGa....blah blah blah....

  • Apr 20, 2009
Rating:
+2
Lady GaGa succeeds in what she has been manufactured for- 15 minutes of pop fame. My best friend is going to kill me when she reads this but, I can't stand Lady GaGa. I like her song, "Just Dance" and that's about it. Yes, I've heard "Poker Face" and I just don't get it, I'm sorry. "Russian Roulette is not the same without a gun and baby, when it's love if it's not rough, it's not fun" and no, I can't read your, your, your poker face.

To be fair to you, my fellow Luncher, I have not heard her album. For that review, check out @RachelCmrn's review of The Fame. In my honest opinion, she is a fabricated pop star in everything from her harmonizer assisted vocals to catchy hooks to the upbeat dance tempo (that you just can't help but, at least bob your head no matter how much you try to fight it) to those stage outfits and platinum blonde wigs...everything fits the pop mold perfectly, purposely brilliant in its execution. She attempts to copy David Bowie's shock value and come up with a combination that's also part Queen, Madonna, Cindy Lauper and Michael Jackson (all her influences).

Is she talented? Yes. She designs most, if not all, of her stage costumes. She plays piano which she learned by ear at the age of 4 and she wrote her first piano ballad at the age of 13.  At 14, she played open mike nights at New York's the Bitter End. At age 17, she became was one of 20 kids in the world to get early admission to Tisch School of the Arts at NYU. She was signed by her 20th birthday and writing songs for other artists (such as the Pussycat Dolls) before her debut album was even released.

The Pussycat Dolls are also successful in their sex-pop execution with fun dance songs that you don't really have to think about in order to dance along. If you like some mindless pop with lyrics that are supposedly marketed towards empowering women but, in reality are propagating sexism, then Lady GaGa is your girl! We all need mindless pop from time to time, I just like mine with a little bit more positive lyrics.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
November 18, 2011
Is she talented? Yes. She designs most, if not all, of her stage costumes.

Oh, lovely. She didn't miss her calling, but merely exploited it to supplement the worst sort of imitation.
November 18, 2011
LOL
 
July 13, 2010
I really like your review I so feel the same way I think she is very talented but i also think that gaga is a little over rated!
July 14, 2010
I know...you can't deny that she has ovaries for doing her own thing and going all out. But, there's just so much of the same beat that I want to hear over and over again. It just gets old!
 
April 13, 2010
I just heard Bad Romance on youtube. Although her song is catchy and the MTV is refreshing, I do have some reservations about pop music these days. I thought I must be getting old or something :-) May be that's why I enjoy mostly Operatic Pop music. I'm pretty good at blocking out lyrics when listening to a song though; probably due to the many languages I listen in. She must be quite popular to have some 100+ million hits for several of her songs considering she has only been famous for some 2 or 3 years!
July 14, 2010
That's exactly why I choose not to listen to the radio LOL...you're not old or maybe I'm old too!
 
May 20, 2009
I definitely feel you on this one. I do like a few tracks but can't really get into her overall sound. Sure, she's talented but I think I prefer Madonna or Gwen Stefani ofcourse. Or Goldfrapp who does it so much better than Lady GaGa. Very informative review! Thumbs up!
May 20, 2009
Thanks love! Yeah...I just can't get into her and actually didn't know she had ANY talent until I started researching her for this review!
May 20, 2009
I will say you researched this one pretty methodically. I didn't know hardly anything about her other than the songs which you hear on the radio or in the club. I think I had heard or read that the song "Just Dance" had been partially inspired by Motley Crue's classic " Girls Girls Girls" but I can't draw any comparisons there at all. You are welcome!!
 
1
More Lady GaGa reviews
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
It may not fit in with many of my other musical preferences, but I love to dance, and I love to dance at gay bars, and I have to say that I like a much larger percent of Lady Gaga's first album than I have of any other artist in a long time, huzzah for consistency with variety!
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
she makes very good music.
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Possibly my most favorite person in the world. I LOVE HER! She's a little crazy, but it makes her stand out and people notice her. I dressed up as her for halloween. I LOVE GAGA.
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2010
Lady Gaga is one of the very best artists
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
Frankly, I'm not so sure if she's selling the idea of sex or her music! To her credit, melody of her songs is not bad though, lyrics: no!
Quick Tip by . January 08, 2010
My daughter really loves LADY GAGA . If she keeps on going like this, I'm sure she'll become the new Madonna with all that creativity.
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2010
hack or genious, I'm still on the fence...
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2010
Lady GaGa is so out there & her tunes are so catchy -- love her!
review by . November 16, 2009
she girl is amazing. i was living in chi-town when i heard a girl with a horrible video in tv. but lady gaga'songs are differents. I hated the dance music but this girl is a new proposal in the music's world. she is sexy and doesn't need great choreography for her songs to be heard well.
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #11
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki

Lady Gaga (born Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta; March 28, 1986) is an American singer, songwriter and performance artist. She began performing in the rock music scene of New York City's Lower East Side. Lady Gaga soon signed with Streamline Records, an imprint of Interscope Records, upon its establishment in 2007.[1] During her early time at Interscope, Gaga worked as a songwriter for fellow label artists and captured the attention of Akon, who recognized her vocal talent, and had her also sign to to his own label, Kon Live Distribution.

Her debut album The Fame was released in August 2008 and was a critical and commercial success. In addition to receiving generally positive reviews, it went number-one in four countries, also topping the Billboard Top Electronic Albums chart in the United States. The album's first two singles, "Just Dance" and "Poker Face", co-written and co-produced with RedOne, have become international number-one hits, and the former was nominated for Best Dance Recording at the 51st Grammy Awards. In early 2009, after having opened for New Kids on the Block and the Pussycat Dolls, Gaga embarked on her first headlining tour, The Fame Ball Tour. By the end of 2009, Gaga released The Fame Monster, an extension of The Fame, containing eight new songs with the global chart-topping lead single "Bad Romance", as well as having embarked on her second headlining tour of the year, The Monster Ball Tour.

Gaga is inspired ...
view wiki

Details

Instruments: Vocals
Genre: Pop
Birth Date: March 28, 1986
Gender: Female
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists