Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
KFC

Originally Kentucky Fried Chicken, a chain of fast food restaurants based in Louisville, Kentucky

< read all 6 reviews

Why do they need those other pesky flavors of chicken for? Original Recipe still rocks.

  • Sep 25, 2009
Rating:
+2
Quite possibly the first and only resturant chain I can think of that had to bow to political correctness and change it's name from "Kentucky Fried Chicken" to "KFC."  Thankfully, those who love it will still call it Kentucky Fried Chicken.

It's no secret that Kentucky Fried Chicken is the biggest chain for chicken in the country.  Popeyes may be spicy and delicous but it's harder to find and Mary Browns, while it looks good is only in Canada.  Buffalo Wild Wings and Hooters are both great but are more bars so I don't like lumping them in the category.  Kentucky Fried Chicken is still great but lately, I've been having some problems with them.

First they are really pushing steam on this new grilled chicken they're selling.  I tried it once, but thought it was OKAY.  They for some reason still have Extra Tasty Crispy and it's way too breaded.  Maybe if it was marinated in mild sauce it would be great.

Secondly a lot of their food items are dissapearing.  Cornbread is scarce if it's even still around.  The Honey BBQ wings are now like little boneless chicken balls and have no bones.  They're sauceless hotwings are truly excellent but damn if they like to take them away, bring them back and then they're never ready to go and you have to wait for them.

Aside from that I never really had a big problem with Kentucky Fried Chicken.  The food is good, the sides for a fast food francise is surprinsingly good and at least the potato wedges are still around.  I like Popeyes more but I only have to walk across the street for Kentucky Fried Chicken.
Why do they need those other pesky flavors of chicken for? Original Recipe still rocks.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
September 25, 2009
give me original or grilled chicken and I'll be happy! Kenny Rogers' bird is pretty good too. I worked at a KFC long ago, i told them I loved chicken and I got hired right away! Popeyes is also a treat but I still love my own recipe... nice one.
September 25, 2009
Forgot about Kenny Rodgers Roasters. Have to try and find it one day.
 
September 25, 2009
I LOVE Popeyes, but Kentucky Fried Chicken runs a close second, I think they are suffering from what I like to call Postal Disease. They want to kill off their old image and install a new one. The original recipe, which I used to love, has been done rather poorly the last few times I've been there. i don't know if this is because of new help or because they are trying to kill off their old menu. Maybe I should try a new drive throug or not-that would give me a better picture of the story. Time to try a new location.
September 25, 2009
What you say reminds me of how I worked at an office supply store and people who needed to order old ink or toner products would get dismayed when they saw how much they were in comparrison to the newer models, almost to push them towards investing in a new machine that may not last forever and a day like the old one did, but the company probably doesn't want to invest time or money into the old product anymore. Probably not a new story. Popeyes is great and I have been to 3 out of several Milwaukee locations, and only ONE of those was any good. I still love Popeyes more, wish they had them where I live.
September 25, 2009
I have that problem with Burger King here. I love their new steak and mushroom burger, but only 1 out of 3 makes it right. At least it's the location closest to me.
 
1
More KFC reviews
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2012
posted in Dining Out
I think Popeye's is the king of fast-food fried chicken, but KFC isn't bad.      I think the extra crispy legs and thighs are the best they have, and the Double Down sandwich is a delicious snack to sink your teeth into for special occasions (these are way unhealthy).  The chicken strips are good as well, though like everything else on the menu, you pay too much for what you get.
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2010
posted in Dining Out
This stuff makes me sick! They had to change the name Kentucky Friend Chicken to KFC because the FDA didn't think it had enough chicken in the chicken to be called chicken. AHHH!
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Nice tasty chicken and sandwiches, but the biscuits aren't as good as they used to be and they got rid of the cornbread!
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Dining Out
Nice tasty chicken and sandwiches, but the biscuits aren't as good as they used to be and they got rid of the cornbread!
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Great fastfood chicken restaurant with a nice selection of items.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #4
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

KFC Corporation, or KFC, founded and also known as Kentucky Fried Chicken, is a chain of fast food restaurants based in Louisville, Kentucky. KFC is a brand and operating segment, called a "concept", of Yum! Brands since 1997 when that company was spun off from PepsiCo as Tricon Global Restaurants Inc.

KFC primarily sells chicken in form of pieces, wraps, salads and sandwiches. While its primary focus is fried chicken, KFC also offers a line of roasted chicken products, side dishes and desserts. Outside North America, KFC offers beef based products such as hamburgers or kebabs, pork based products such as ribs and other regional fare.

The company was founded as Kentucky Fried Chicken by Colonel Harland Sanders in 1952, though the idea of KFC's fried chicken actually goes back to 1930. The company adopted the abbreviated form of its name in 1991. Starting in April 2007, the company began using its original name, Kentucky Fried Chicken, for its signage, packaging and advertisements in the United States as part of a new corporate re-branding program; newer and remodeled restaurants will have the new logo and name while older stores will continue to use the 1980s signage. Additionally, Yum! continues to use the abbreviated name freely in its advertising.
view wiki

Details

Lists with this restaurant
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists