Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
McDonald's

The world's largest chain of fast food restaurants

< read all 23 reviews

Somehow gross and delicious.

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-1
Most people who are remotely concerned for their well-being would avoid McDonald's altogether. But that doesn't mean I won't pop in now and then!

I gotta admit than in college I experienced major fast food overkill. Fast food is just such a convenient meal option when you're studying 'til 3 AM. But after a while I started laying it off because I didn't like how I'd feel the next day. Now, I still go maybe once or twice a month when I need something fast and filling. But I understand that anything that's so filling with such little cost is probably ruining my insides.

As a company and a restaurant, I basically break them down into the good and the bad.
The good:
  1. They print calorie counts and other nutritional info on many food containers, like wrappers, boxes, and some cups.
  2. Their fries! Hands down, they are the best and can be eaten with our without any condiments. Plus, they're good either piping hot or cooled down (unlike In-N-Out, for example).
  3. The chicken sandwiches actually taste fresh and they use wheat buns, which is slightly healthier.
The bad:
  1. Even with printing calorie counts, most people don't know what to do with those numbers. It's very surprising and scary just how many people don't know that a healthy daily caloric intake is anywhere between 1,500 and 2,500 calories a day. But it doesn't stop there! You have to look at calories from fat, sodium, fiber, etc.
  2. Their beef products are rather tasteless, really heavy, and lord knows where the meat is coming from. 
  3. Eating their chicken nuggets is like eating cardboard. Except you might get some nutritional value out of the latter.
  4. The company as a whole needs to educate their consumer base about a balanced week that could include some fast food but mostly home cooking and, above all, exercise! 
McDonald's is the world's largest fast food restaurant chain and it didn't happen just by luck. They cater to specific demographic groups and are constantly modifying recipes as new taste and diet trends dictate. I like going there, but as a corporation, they really need to accept some responsibility and set an example for other fast food restaurants by offering healthier choices and showing people how to maintain a balanced diet.

I think their food is just okay overall, but as a company, they need to make some serious changes.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
January 15, 2009
@drifter51: Most of their items are pretty gross. In fact, when I go there, I get the same combo time after time (crispy chicken sandwich combo). Everything else just seems too nasty.
 
January 15, 2009
Though I enjoyed your review I still find McDonald's much more gross than delicious. Never liked the place dating back 40 years.
 
1
More McDonald's reviews
review by . January 21, 2012
posted in Love Bites
Best junk (food) in the world!
I like McDonald's especially when I crave for fried food. French fries is good but I only like them with chilli (especially the sweet and hot version; like Thai chilli) sauce and not ketchup. The only burger I eat is Filet-O-Fish and nothing else  (oh, may be once in a blue moon the McChicken). McDonald is also great to have when I'm broke! Other than that, I've no idea what the rest of McDonald means ;-)      Oh, I do love its hashbrowns! Matter of fact is, …
Quick Tip by . November 13, 2011
posted in Dining Out
There's nothing I can find appealing about McDonald's, as I think they're the epitome of cheap, processed garbage passing as food. Hell, just thinking about their name and image is enough to make my skin crawl.  Don't get me wrong, I like fast food when it's done right, but McDonald's and quality are like antonyms. I haven't been to one in five years, and the only things I ate there were the chocolate shakes and fries (which I didn't eat frequently). Ever since …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
The least favorite of fast food options, I'll only eat here as an absolute last resort and I'm starving to near death. I used to like their fries until I tried Carl's Jr's which are far better. I think that Mickey D's has long ago given up on any sort of quality and gone for profit and expansion. When I'm traveling, I get a little frustrated that this fast food place is in a culinary city like Paris or somewhere where travellers should be encouraged to try the local cuisine which is going to be …
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2011
Caption
The French Fries at McDonald's are about all I will eat there. They are probably one of the better fast food fries around. Otherwise, watch out for the chicken nuggets which are made of sketchy excess chicken parts that are turned into paste, dyed and re-modeled into what resembles a nugget. Yum, yum.        
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
A cheap tasty fix, but beware, as the quality can change making it exciting to eat at sometimes.
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
Personally McDs makes me sick to eat anymore except for the occasional breakfast sandwich, but they do serve their purpose. As a person that home cooks most of my children's meals, happy meals now and then can be effective tools for treats for them and they can burn off most of the crap they eat playing on the play structure until they are worn out.
Quick Tip by . May 27, 2010
posted in Gourmand
Just had their Reese's McFlurry and found it to be a delightful little treat. I still prefer the Reese's Sonic Blast from Sonic, though.
review by . August 25, 2009
posted in Awesomeness
You can order the McMystery meal if you want-it is either fresh cooked or a greasy gray patty!
It's hard to say what you can get at a McDonalds these days.      After I moved I got to experience a whole new slew of fast food locales with more visits then I have in teh past.  The more I ate at them, the more I realized that McDonalds can't cut it for me in my fastfood diet anymore.      Sure they're fries are okay, and only okay.  Compared to the freshness of In N Out fries or the beefiness of Wendy's …
Quick Tip by . August 28, 2009
I know you're horrible and contain trans fat, but why are your fries and burgers so good? You're my once a year dirty little secret.
Quick Tip by . November 24, 2009
I don't like really McDonald's burgers but I can enjoy the deliciouos french fries from its menu, for me the best french fries in America.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this restaurant

Wiki

McDonald's is the world's largest fast food chain, serving more than 47 million customers daily, and having more than 31,000 locations worldwide. The restaurant serves traditional American foods like burgers, fries, shakes, and chicken, and has branched out into other foods in recent years, such as salads, Mexican cuisine, and snack wraps.

McDonald's has come under heavy criticism in recent years for its role in contributing to growing obesity trends in many nations. As a response, the company prints nutrition information on many food wrappers, in addition to serving healthier fares such as salads.

The company was founded in San Bernardino, CA, in 1940, and is currently headquartered in Oak Brook, Illinois. As of 2008, the company had over 380,000 employees worldwide. 
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists