Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Dexter

American television drama series based on the novel Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

< read all 7 reviews

It's never been so easy to love a serial killer!

  • Dec 15, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5

When my brother first told me the premise of Dexter, I thought there was no way I'd be a fan. I'd rather do my laundry than a watch serial killer's dirty work. But one night I was bored, and it was on and of course I watched. I haven't stopped since.

Dexter is a dark character, whose "code" (he only kills killers) keeps him from running amuck in a world of law and order (or in his case the police station where he works).  Though his madness should make you dislike him, his strangely lovable.

The Dexter cast of characters is a hoot. Dexter's sister is the epitome of a dirty talking tom-boy.  She's full of love for her brother and likely the only person that Dexter truly cares about. Rita (Dexter's girlfriend) is sweet, vulnerable and completely smitten with Dexter despite the fact that she has massive trust issues, two children, and an abusive ex-husband. She definitely seems to have a habit of falling for the "wrong guy".

Though Dexter feigns normal human emotions, he doesn't have the same feelings of love, hate and fear that most people do. Throughout the episodes, we watch as he slowly learns to emulate the reactions of the people around him. It is hysterical to watch him be thoughtful to his girlfriend, say the appropriate sweet-nothings and even the dreaded "I Love you" when he admittedly doesn't know what love feels like. Dexter's attempt to fit into normal society is what makes his character and the show so intriguing. He is a cultural anthropologist and a serial killer packaged up as an attractive forensic specialist (what a plot!). And so far, no one has any clue what his does at night.

For the viewer it's no mystery that he kills... the suspense is in the question: Will he get caught? Watch a few episodes and you likely find that you're actually rooting for him against the "bad guys".

,

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
December 02, 2010
Things certainly changed in seasons 3 and 4, didn't they?!
 
March 03, 2009
@Tess_Martinez Dexter is on Showtime.  The new season should be starting soon! I know the series premiere is re-airing on 5/31.
 
February 24, 2009
@Scotman Yes, the show is still on air (thank goodness!), but I think the season is over. Not sure when it starts again. I just checked on Showtime and they don't have a date posted. I'll be on the look out for the both of us!
 
January 13, 2009
Hmm, chances are if you're okay with siding with a serial killer, then you'll love the movie Serial Mom! It's a dark comedy and is one of my favorite movies, ever!
 
1
More Dexter reviews
review by . December 09, 2008
Paris,
I was introduced to the series by my boyfriend when we first started dating, and have been hooked ever since! Based on the novel "Darkly Dreaming Dexter" by Jeff Lindsay, Dexter is a colorful mix of drama, suspense, horror, and comedy. The television series doesn't follow the novel word for word, but it does do a great job of developing the characters, and though some scenarios are totally different than the book's, you would expect the characters to behave in those certain ways anyway, …
Quick Tip by . July 23, 2010
How can you not get hooked? Blood spatter analyst by day, serial killer by night.
Quick Tip by . December 20, 2009
posted in Awesomeness
Caption
Wonderfully original idea for tv-- serial killer works as a blood splatter expert for the cops by day & kills evil doers in his spare time.
Quick Tip by . November 13, 2009
Started watching this season, and I have to agree that this show isn't just a hype.
Quick Tip by . September 01, 2009
I started in at about episode 7 of season 1. Now I can't stop watching. Thanks, Netflix instant queue.
About the reviewer
Bethany ()
Ranked #20
Hello Lunchers!      I am a contributing writer foran onlinelife and style website that highlights hot-spots in Minneapolis and Chicago. As such, I frequent many new boutiques, restaurants, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bethany_K
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Dexter Morgan, played by Michael Hall, is the main character of this Showtime TV series. The show focuses on the life of Dexter who is a serial killer.

The series blends drama and horror as it follows the day-to-day events in the life of Dexter Morgan, a forensic blood spatter analyst for the Miami Metro Police Department who also happens to be a serial killer. He was taught by his adoptive father, Harry, only to kill those "who deserve it"; mainly, other killers who have escaped the legal system or were never suspected in the first place. The series shows him balancing an everyday life with his secret identity, all while keeping up a facade of normalcy.

view wiki

Details

Description: Television Series
Starring: Michael C. Hall

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists