Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
The Office

An Emmy Award-winning American television sitcom

< read all 23 reviews

The Office, not too far from most offices.

  • Dec 10, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
So many shows and movies are attractive to us because we want to picture ourselves as the people on-screen, although in reality it's so far away. We want to be the high profile news reporter who gets escorted everywhere or the ruggedly handsome CIA agent who gets all the girls. However, with the hit show The Office, reality isn't too far away.

Many of us at some point have worked in an office filled with small cubicles. Because of this, The Office hits so much closer to home. As we watch it, we try picturing who the Michael Scott's in our office have been, who the Jim's are and so on. We then of course picture ourselves as one of those characters. It becomes scary when reality and the actual show become muddled. Since I work in a cubicled office like The Office, I feel like I'm stuck in the show constantly. From the quirky employees to the random office birthday parties to the awkwardly placed lounge.

What I think makes this show so popular and good is really how bad and stupid it is. Take other examples like Napoleon Dynamite and Monty Python. These films are ridiculous, yet people either hate them or absolutely love them. It's the same with The Office. It seems to have the oddest storylines and dumbest things on the show, yet it draws laughter and really isn't too far from what happens in many offices.

The challenge for The Office is originality. I've heard many say over the last year or two that its losing its edge in creativity. The story isn't necessarily what employees will come and go or how Jan and Michael's relationship change; but rather the question is: will The Office continue to draw laughs. This will be hard to accomplish on The Office. I personally enjoy the show, but my interest has faded over the last year. All in all, it's one of the best shows on TV right now.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Office reviews
review by . May 15, 2013
posted in Pass The Remote!
It took time for me to get into The Office. Years, in fact. I had heard all the hype about how great it was ever since it first began airing in 2005, and I had tried to take in the occasional episode. But the show's approach wasn't something I was accustomed to seeing, and it took a long time for me to understand just what creators Ricky Gervais (creator of the original British version) and Stephen Merchant and developer Greg Daniels were trying to do. But when I finally started to get The Office, …
review by . September 12, 2012
Love It
This is an awesome show for sitcom lovers.
Quick Tip by . April 09, 2011
Although I love the Office, I don't think the US version ever captured the real magic of the original UK version. I know they were never meant to be copies of each other, but there was a unique, dry, irreverent humor Gervais had that really made the UK version superior.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
Hilarious show, with allot of dry humor. Not for all but worth checking out!
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
Like Seinfeld, the show has the power to remind us of the humor and importance of the most mundane parts we may over look about our lives.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Right up there in comedy with Always Sunny
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Parts of the show are funny. My son really enjoys it, it never really snatched my interest.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Can be crass, but overall I love the show. Dwight is hilarious. And I love Jim's faces. My brothers look like him sometimes.
Quick Tip by . December 17, 2009
It's funny but there's better, and it's getting a little old. Seriously how long can they drag this out for?
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2009
1 word... Amazing!
About the reviewer
Spence ()
Sup! Spence here. My list of interests is getting a bit long and somewhat uncontrollable. The thing I love doing the most is reading and writing. I get to write full-time as a job, but then come home … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
writer0213
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

The Office is an Emmy-Award winning American television sitcom airing on NBC and developed by Greg Daniels. It is an American adaptation of the BBC series with the same name and depicts the everyday lives of office employees in the Scranton, Pennsylvania branch of the fictional Dunder Mifflin Paper Company. Unlike many American sitcoms, The Office is shot in a single-camera setup, without a studio audience or a laugh track, and is made in the form of a documentary, or "mockumentary". Although fictional and scripted, the presence of the camera is openly acknowledged.

The Office was adapted for American audiences by executive producer Greg Daniels, a veteran writer for Saturday Night Live, King of the Hill, The Rugrats and The Simpsons. Original series creators Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant, who wrote "The Convict" episode, have production credits. It is co-produced by Greg Daniels' Deedle-Dee Productions and Reveille Productions, in association with NBC Universal Television Studios. The show debuted on NBC as a midseason replacement on March 24, 2005, replacing the sitcom Committed.

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists