Awesomeness
The community of all things totally awesome.
Craigslist Office

A website for classified ads

< read all 19 reviews

The virtual/digital garage sale

  • Feb 5, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+3
Yes, I know Craigslist is more than just buying and selling "stuff".  I haven't found much use for Craigslist outside of selling stuff, though.  I haven't even purchased anything off the site.  Just today I gathered up some stuff and listed it in my own virtual garage sale.  You can read about that here:

http://jeffdalydose.wordpress.com/2010/02/04/digitalgaragesale/

So what some other uses for Craigslist?
  • Apartment Hunting - I think this is where the site shines.  I am a building manager and whenever we have a vacancy we always list on Craigslist.  We also list on the City Of West Hollywood's site, but none of the commercial sites/services.  I also know a couple of people who found roommates on there, but it can be hit or miss so I suggest meeting the person somewhere public to see if you get a good vibe.
  • Dating/Hooking Up - I've only heard stories of people using these parts of the site.  I can't imagine dating via Craigslist, but the paid sites aren't always that much better.  Check my review of eHarmony. The "missed connections" section is *really* funny to me.  Has anyone ever found the person they were looking for?
  • Jobs - I haven't look for a traditional job on Craigslist ever, but I have posted looking for photography and computer gigs.  I haven't had that many calls, but the return on investment is outstanding...considering that it's free! :)
Be careful out there kids.

With a website the size of craigslist there are tons of scammers lurking about.  A quick Google search will show you the ones that make headlines.  I have learned that it is best to deal locally and NEVER ship overseas with a PayPal payment.

I can't urge people using Craigslist's personal ads to be careful enough.  There are sick people out there so beware. 

Final Word

I am definitely not one of the Craigslist "power users" but I do find it to be a good place to sell stuff, list or find apartment vacancies and to a lessor degree, to look for freelance gigs.

Back to my original comparison, Craigslist is like a virtual garage sale, no garage needed.  Get thee to the garage sale, just be safe in this neighborhood.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
31
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
32
Well-Organized
34
Post a Comment
April 09, 2012
I agree.
 
February 06, 2010
Great review and very well written I've only used it for apartment and job searches, but it seems to be a great resource. However, it's definitely a site that I feel you have to be careful on.
February 09, 2010
Thanks! Were you successful using Craigs List for apartment and job hunting?
 
February 05, 2010
Thanks for the review! I'm a fan of Craigslist, especially for apartment hunting! And I do hear it's great for finding cool "stuff", yet to try that though:) I actually just used it to find a web designer and got about 300 responses, but found that there was a disproportionate amount of applicants from India (willing to charge only $2/hr for their services)!!!
February 09, 2010
Did you use those $2/hr web designers???
 
February 05, 2010
I've shift so much stuff with Craigslist (old sofas, BBQs, etc.) If you're willing to put up with the no-shows and bizarre questions ("Can you guarantee this BBQ will work indoors?") as the flip-side of free, it beats paid classified hands down. And as you mention, it's become the default site for apartment hunting. Every place I've lived in the last 7-8 years has been thanks to Craigslist. I wish they would remove some of the duplicate spam posts that apt complexes often post, but oh well. Incidentally, have you seen housingmaps.com, which pulls CL housing posts and puts them on a Google Map?
February 09, 2010
I had not seen housingmaps.com until you brought it up! NICE!
February 09, 2010
Mashups all the way! Yay!
 
February 05, 2010
Thanks for your review. I really haven't looked at this site very much but I have read that it is one of the reasons that newspapers are in decline. Classifed ads are evidently being shifted to Craigslist in huge numbers and the newspapers have not found a way to compete.
 
February 05, 2010
Um, you forgot to mention the other best part of CL, besides the "missed connection" -- the Best Of!  Some of the stuff on there is sooooo good :)

Nice break down of the main uses of CL though.  It really is mostly a digital garage sale, and virtual job fair! ;P
February 05, 2010
Thanks!

I hear ya, but I only wanted to talk about the stuff that I had actually used. I think someone else brought up the "Best of" in their review, so I'll check it out and then comment on their review...like a good lil Lunch citizen! :)

Can you whisper to someone to make the text editor come up as default?  I no likey when my Return key hits are ignored.
February 05, 2010
Haha, you're a Lunch citizen! A pretty darn model one at that, too! ;D

And yes, duly noted.  That's a great suggestion that I'll share with the team.  Thanks! :)
 
1
More Craigslist reviews
review by . June 07, 2011
posted in Awesomeness
Internet phenomenal, scourge to society or mirror to human civilization? Who knows but one thing's for sure - you haven't lived until you've tried to sell a sofa on Craigslist.      As a website, it's an amazing survivor of the 1995 era where WebPagesThatSuck outed the most outrageous offenders of terrible navigation, poor display, graphics and just general awfulness. I've heard that founder Craig Newmark likes it that way. I can guess from this single …
Quick Tip by . October 19, 2010
Great site for donating used toys and to compare rent prices in neighborhood.
Quick Tip by . August 04, 2010
I actually use this site quite often. It has allot of different aspects to it, and I know it has received some bad press but I defiantly think it has more to offer then to offend.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i love having craiglist. i can search for just about any thing i want or need.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Great for entertainment, but very unreliable for finding job prospects, etc. Be careful to avoid scams!
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
not always a reliable source to find goods
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
A great service but do business at arms length,
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
So helpful and extensive networking for finding a house, apartment, furniture or job even.
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Great way to find used items at GREAT prices.
review by . December 15, 2008
Ahh, Craigslist, the good, the bad and the ugly. Craigslist is really the Internet within itself. Just about anything you can get across the web, you can get at Craigslist. You can find a job, market your services, buy a house, find a doctor, connect with others, sell your stuff and so much more. Since you can do so many things, it can actually become quite addictive.     First the good. You can really find so many deals on Craigslist. Usually, it's used stuff, but most of the …
About the reviewer
Jeff Daly ()
Ranked #16
Member Since: Jul 13, 2009
Last Login: Mar 4, 2013 03:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dalydose
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Craigslist is a central network of online communities, featuring free online classified advertisements – with jobs, internships, housing, personals, erotic services, for sale/barter/wanted, services, community, gigs, resume, and pets categories – and forums on various topics.
 
The service was founded in 1995 by Craig Newmark for the San Francisco Bay Area. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four each in 2001 and 2002, and 14 in 2003. As of September 2007, Craigslist has established itself in approximately 450 cities in 50 countries.
 
Craig Newmark began the service in 1995 as an email distribution list of friends, featuring local events in the San Francisco Bay Area, before becoming a web-based service in 1996. After incorporation as a private for-profit company in 1999, Craigslist expanded into nine more U.S. cities in 2000, four in 2001 and 2002 each, and 14 in 2003.
 
In 2009, Craigslist operated with a staff of 28 people. Its main source of revenue is paid job ads in select cities – $75 per ad for the San Francisco Bay Area; $25 per ad for New York City, Los Angeles, San Diego, Boston, Seattle, Washington D.C., Chicago, Philadelphia, Orange County (California) and Portland, Oregon – and paid broker apartment listings in New York City ($10 per ad).
 
The site serves over twenty billion page views per month, putting it in 33rd place overall among ...
view wiki

Tags

Websites, Craigslist, Classified Websites
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Awesomeness is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists