Let's talk books!
Cujo (book)

A book by Stephen King.

< read all 19 reviews

Remember To Take Care Of Your Dog.....Or Else..........

  • Feb 17, 2001
  • by
Rating:
+5
I had never read a Stephen King book before. Horror/mysteries usually are not my bag. However, I had to try him once and let me tell you, Stephen sure knows how to tell a story. Yes the central theme is about the rabid infested dog Cujo terrorizes a sleepy Maine town. The descriptions of the terror that Cujo is so vivid that you are hooked from the get go with every leap of his crazed dog to each blood letting bite.

The side bar stories of the two maritial couples in distress are also quite captivating. Stephen Kemp's part has haunting overtones as well. The side bar business trip shows what life is like outside of the Castle Rock Village therefore adding a strong presence of realism. The ending is quite strong as it rasies many questions on parenting and taking risks.

Whereas this mystery is not for the faint of heart, it is definitely a first class thriller in its own right. Just remember to feed your dog regularly and make sure he or she has all his rabies shots or........you just might unleash a monster.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
More Cujo (book) reviews
review by . December 18, 2009
The monster in the closet is real and it's name is Cujo.
The story is a tale of two families, the Cambers and the Trentons.  The Cambers are a poor working class family whilst the Trentons are from a more well-to-do middle class. Cujo is the name of a St, Bernard dog that the Cambers own.  Young Tad Trenton has been having nightmares about a monster in his closet.  His dad Vic tells him that there is no such thing and even writes him a chant call "The Monster Words" to say whenever he thinks the creature in the closet is awake.  …
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
It's amazing how Stephen King picks up simple ideas and makes an interesting novel. I never read something exagerated from him.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
One of my favorites.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
not one of his creepyist
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
If only I could hear my dog's thoughts!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Overrated.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
This is yet another novel by King I haven't managed to enjoy. It just wasn't interesting or scary.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
another great book
review by . October 02, 2009
Stephen King has a vast library under his belt.  With well over fifty novels published and over 250 short stories, it means King is by far one of the most productive writers of our time.  Even after his accident in 1999, King can still churn out a lot of books.  He's an interesting author.  There are some books that can really blow your mind (The Shining, The Stand), some that can really challenge you (The Dead Zone) and others that are just good stories (like Christine).  …
review by . November 11, 2006
I can't think of a better word that everyone else hasn't used yet. This is the master of Horror at his best!
About the reviewer
Glenn Wiener ()
I'm a muti faceted person who appreiates a wide array of creative activities.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Glennster2008
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Cujo is so well-paced and scary that people tend to read it quickly, so they mostly remember the scene of the mother and son trapped in the hot Pinto and threatened by the rabid Cujo, forgetting the multifaceted story in which that scene is embedded. This is definitely a novel that rewards re-reading. When you read it again, you can pay more attention to the theme of country folk vs. city folk; the parallel marriage conflicts of the Cambers vs. the Trentons; the poignancy of the amiable St. Bernard (yes, the breed choice is just right) infected by a brain-destroying virus that makes it into a monster; and the way the "daylight burial" of the failed ad campaign is reflected in the sunlit Pinto that becomes a coffin. And how significant it is that this horror tale isnotsupernatural: it's as real as junk food, a failing marriage, a broken-down car, or a fatal virus.--This text refers to theMass Market Paperbackedition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0670451932
ISBN-13: 978-0670451937
Author: Stephen King
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Publisher: Viking Adult
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Beth Fish Reads is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists