Sea Smoke Botella 2005

Pinot Noir from the Santa Rita Hills

< read all 2 reviews

Oh Hell Yeah

  • Mar 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Wow - what a pinot.  Still incredibly primal, but oh so delicious - big cherry flavors and a nose that is rich but somehow still earthy, with notes of cola, bitter chocolate, and earth that is reminiscent of Oregon or Sonoma pinot.  But the fruit is the giveaway here - big and red and very Central Coast and maybe not quite integrated just yet, but it'll get there.  Give this one some time in the decanter if you open it now, or wait a year (or more) and then give it a ride.  I think you've got 5 or more years until this hits its peak, and then a while after that before you have to worry about missing the window.  But, really, who can wait that long?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 13, 2009
Like Brett, I just ordered my 2007 allocation. I just started to open a few of the 2004 class and wow! Exceptional! But I do like the Kosta Browne a just a little more. Pinot wise, what are you liking out of the Willamette Valley?
 
March 03, 2009
Thanks, y'all. I updated the wiki a little bit more, since I have access to my historical pricing for the wines. And as far as laying this wine down, absolutely - I think I would give it at least two more years before opening another one. The "Ten" is generally fantastic - probably my favorite of their three (not surprisingly, also their most expensive) - definitely a "special occasion" kind of wine. When the Botella was under $30/bottle from winery, it was nearly impossible to get, because it had such incredible QPR. Then Sea Smoke saw the secondary market go wild and I guess decided to grab a piece of that for themselves. Still a pretty sweet deal at $40, given what other CA pinots are going for these days.
 
March 02, 2009
Nice review Dave. I was just going to ask about price, but rather than just ask you... i did a little research. It originally sold for $40, but now it goes for $90-$110. I updated the wiki with this too.
 
March 02, 2009
Glad to hear it, I have a bottle in my cooler and I will give it some more time. I think the Sea Smoke list is a fun one to be on, although definitely pricey.
 
1
More Sea Smoke Botella 2005 reviews
Quick Tip by . April 05, 2010
Fantastic year after year!
About the reviewer
Member Since: Jan 7, 2009
Last Login: Mar 12, 2010 08:09 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
bikrdave
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this wine

Wiki

Pinot Noir from the highly regarded Santa Rita Hills appellation (apparently the only east-west oriented valleys in California's central coast, Sea Smoke has attained something of a "mini cult" status, with all of the available the wines allocated to mailing list members, a select group of restaurants, and (possibly) a chosen group of wine stores.  Botella is the "low end" bottling, but often in greater demand than its higher-priced siblings Southing and Ten.

According to winery notes,  "the 2005 Sea Smoke Botella Pinot Noir expresses lovely,
elevated fruit tones with well balanced acidity and tannins. This wine is lively
on the palate, with a long crisp finish."

Here is a link to the winery's tasting notes.

Winery pricing for the Botella has nearly doubled since its initial release.  I don't have data for the 2001 vintage, but the 2002 vintage was offered for $25/bottle.  The 2003 vintage was priced at $26/bottle, and the 2004 vintage sold for $28/bottle.  For the 2005 vintage, the price jumped to $39/bottle, where it stayed for the 2006 vintage as well.

Keep in mind that this is winery pricing - because Sea Smoke wines are "highly allocated" (i.e., hard to buy directly from the winery), there has always been a strong secondary market in their wines, and it's not uncommon to see a bottle of Botella (regardless of vintage) fetch $100 or more from anyone who has them to sell.  Check out winezap.com or wine-searcher.com for current pricing and ...
view wiki

Tags

Details

First to Review

"Oh Hell Yeah"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
California's Central Coast Wine Scene is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists