Chileheads
A Community for Chileheads & Hot Sauce Lovers

Average Hot Sauce

  • Mar 13, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-1
Texas Pete is very average. It has too much of a peppery taste and isn't really that hot. In fact, I would describe the overall flavor as bland, not tasty at all. I have tried a lot of hot sauces, and while Texas Pete is not bad, it leaves me a little flat.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
March 13, 2009
Thanks Woopak, I do have a lot of different interests. Maybe too many (so my wife says...she's dreading March Madness).
 
March 13, 2009
Ling, believe it or not, I have heard of hte Tobasco Cookbook but I have never picked it up. Maybe I should.
 
March 13, 2009
from movies to books to music to hot sauce! great work! u da man.
 
March 13, 2009
Hey cdbaker, if you love Tabasco, then you must've heard of The Tabasco Cookbook? Personally, I'm a Sambal Oelek person myself.
 
March 13, 2009
Thanks for the comment. I'm a Tobasco sauce fan myself.
 
March 13, 2009
TP and the various "Louisiana" hot sauces are mostly OK for color and a little flavor, not heat. Texas Pete is fine for something like scrambled eggs, though...
 
1
More Texas Pete Hot Sauce 12oz reviews
review by . January 13, 2005
Texas Pete is very average. It has too much of a peppery taste and isn't really that hot. In fact, I would describe the overall flavor as bland, not tasty at all. I have tried a lot of hot sauces, and while Texas Pete is not bad, it leaves me a little flat.
About the reviewer
Doug Baker ()
Avid reader and football fan.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cdbaker
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki


Our famous blend of 3 different types of peppers, aged to perfection to bring out the natural, bold flavor. The result is a rich, delicious sauce with strong cayenne overtones. This is the sauce that true hot sauce lovers have used since the 1930s to spice up barbecue, eggs, pizza, chicken, veggies, and just about everything else.Texas Pete Hot Sauce is made from specially grown, select red cayenne peppers that are aged for two years. The aging process is important as it softens the skin and enhances the extraction of the natural capsicum from the pepper. The seeds and skin are removed and processed into a pure natural pulp. The pulp is placed in a vacuum tank where all impurities are removed. Then, the pure natural pepper pulp is specially blended with the rest of the ingredients under the watchful eye of quality assurance technicians.
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Average Hot Sauce"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Chileheads is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists