Chileheads
A Community for Chileheads & Hot Sauce Lovers
bhut jolokia

A chili pepper generally recognized as the hottest in the world.

< read all 2 reviews

Hottest Pepper on Earth - Got Milk?

  • Mar 31, 2010
Rating:
+4
Bhut Jolokia (also known as"Ghost Pepper" or Naga jolokia or Nai Mirris (Cobra Chilli)) is the hottest pepper in the world.

Being the (brazen) adventurist that I am, I have tried the hottest pepper on earth. Introduced to me as the Ghost Pepper, I came to find out this hot lil, devil vegetable goes by many scary and hard to pronounce names, and is damn hot.

My first and only experience with the ghost pepper was one to remember.  One random Friday evening I was dining at a delicious Indian food restaurant (Red Fort) in Torrance, CA. The owner/manager of the restaurant (a gregarious and delightful man) came over to our table with a pair of scissors and a plastic bag of something. Having already expressed my love for spicy foods earlier in the evening, the owner asked me if I wanted to try a "very spicy pepper". Of course the "fearless and daring" side of my personality perked up and I said "YES"!! 

*To back up for a minute, I like Sriracha and Tabasco sauce...not all spicy foods, so for me to declare with gusto that I like spicy foods (as though I am some spicy food aficionado) is idiotic of me. 

The owner then proceeded to snip off a tiny speck of the pepper, put it on a napkin and allow me to proceed at my own risk.  The scissors and plastic bag should have tipped me off as to how hot this pepper is, but I continued to place that tiny piece of pepper onto my tongue without hesitation.

After putting the speck of ghost pepper (size of a sprinkle) on my tongue, a burning sensation filled my mouth. After 10 seconds, I felt like the pepper was actually boring a hole directly through my tongue.  Needless to say, I took the pepper immediately out of my mouth and started gulping red wine (to no alleviation). The burning, searing sensation lasted a good 30 minutes after the pepper was out of my mouth.  After the pepper was crumpled in a napkin at my table, the owner came over and handed me his iPhone. On the screen a video was playing (below: Youtube video) of a man who put a piece of the intestinal track of the ghost pepper in his mouth. I seriously suggest you check this video out; great entertainment/warning.

The Ghost Pepper is not something to mess around with. It is the hottest pepper in the world.


What did you think of this review?

Helpful
45
Thought-Provoking
38
Fun to Read
46
Well-Organized
34
Post a Comment
February 12, 2012
Strong stuff for delicate digestive systems !
 
March 03, 2011
I'd try it. However to give you an idea, this is the pepper the Indian government is trying to weaponize.  Also isn't 'naga' Hindi for 'cobra?'  that should tell you something right there.
 
August 06, 2010
Thanks. I will never, ever, try this pepper, thanks to you! :)
 
April 11, 2010
egg yolk will help reduce the spiciness especially half boiled egg yolk
 
April 10, 2010
Loved your article - I'd have given it a "remarkable" for well organized but I didn't want to come off sucky.
 
April 05, 2010
Hmmm...thanks for this. Thanks for putting me on a quest to TORTURE myself! ha ha ha!
 
April 01, 2010
Nice job but I think that I would be in a lot of pain if I ate one of these. Great job on your review
 
April 01, 2010
Ok, I'm ready to take this chile own. I'm not afraid of no ghosts.
 
April 01, 2010
You're brave. I like hot stuff, but I don't want any part of this pepper. I sorta feel bad for the guy in the video, but he knew what he was getting into. I wrote a review on jalapeno peppers and in it I mention the Bhut (Naga) jolokia pepper in a list of some peppers on the Scoville (hotness) scale.  Thanks.
 
April 01, 2010
My memory is shot, however I *think* that the TV show, "Man versus Food" had a curry that had this nasty pepper in it. I believe it was when Adam went to New York: http://www.travelchannel.com/TV_Shows/Man_V_...Guides/Episode_New_York I distinctly remember the "Ghost Pepper." Of course, it could also be an ingredient in a hot sauce for wings that he ate somewhere else, too. Sorry, I forgot the "where" but I certainly remember that pepper.
 
1 2 Next
More Bhut Jolokia Pepper reviews
review by . April 01, 2010
posted in Chileheads
Has anyone ever tried it and where can I try it in So Cal. I'm ready to take this dude on. Like the Ghostbusters song says, "I ain't afraid of no ghost."      - Life is hard...but it doesn't have to taste bad
About the reviewer
Susan Edds ()
Ranked #1
I was born in East Amherst, NY...lived there for 13 years before moving to Vadnais Heights, MN. I spend 5 years in MN, decided it was too darn cold there and ventured onto college in Phoenix, AZ at Arizona … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Savvygirl
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

The bhut jolokia—also known variously by other names in its native region (see below), most commonly Naga jolokia — is a chili pepper generally recognized as the hottest in the world. The pepper is sometimes called the Ghost pepper by Western  media,  possibly erroneously.

The Bhut Jolokia is a naturally-occurring interspecific hybrid from the Assam region of northeastern India. It grows in the Indian states of Nagaland and Manipur, and the Sylhet region of Bangladesh. It can also be found in rural Sri Lanka where it is known as Nai Mirris (Cobra Chilli). There was initially some confusion and disagreement about whether the Bhut was a Capsicum frutescens or a Capsicum chinense pepper, but DNA tests showed it to be an interspecies hybrid, mostly C. chinense with some C. frutescens genes. In 2007, Guinness World Records certified the Bhut Jolokia as the world's hottest chili pepper, 400 times hotter than Tabasco sauce.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Chileheads is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists