Chileheads
A Community for Chileheads & Hot Sauce Lovers

A brand of hot sauce made from tabasco peppers.

< read all 7 reviews

Simply The Best

  • Mar 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
What can you really say about McIlhenny's Tabasco Sauce that hasn't already been said? From Avery Island in Louisiana to your plate, it's simply the best hot sauce around. Sure, there are many other sauces out there that claim (and in many cases, rightfully so) that they are hotter than Tabasco, but for pure FLAVOR you cannot beat McIlhenny's original hot sauce. I enjoy it on scrambled eggs (three drops per egg for me), splash a little on red beans and rice, make sure that a few drops find their way into my gumbo, and, for you adult beverage drinkers out there, it gives Bloody Mary's that special kick.

Yes, I'm from Louisiana and, yes, I am biased when I claim that Tabasco sauce is the best hot sauce on the market. However, I challenge anybody to find a better tasting hot sauce. You will come up short every time.

Highly recommended.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 20, 2009
I've never tried anything out of that cookbook but I do have to say that I've always wanted to buy it.
 
March 20, 2009
Tabasco has definitely taken off! I do like this stuff with eggs once in awhile, and definitely with red beans and rice. Ever tried The Tabasco Cookbook?
 
1
More Tabasco Sauce reviews
Quick Tip by . March 25, 2010
posted in Chileheads
I gotta be one of the few who doesn't like this stuff. But then again I don't like vinegar in my sauces or salsas.
Quick Tip by . March 23, 2010
posted in Chileheads
Tabasco on popcorn = delicious!!!
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in Chileheads
Tabasco Sauce is my #1 sauce to keep on hand for Pizzas, pasta, Big Cheezits, eggs, on and on.
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in Chileheads
I put Tabasco sauce on just about everything :D
Quick Tip by . September 15, 2009
I put this magical stuff in just about everything. My favorite thing to do with it is put an insane amount of it in mac 'n cheese :D
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Tabasco sauce is a brand of hot sauce made from tabasco peppers (Capsicum frutescens var. tabasco), vinegar, and salt, and aged in white oak barrels for three years. It has a hot, spicy flavor and is popular in many parts of the world.

Tabasco is trademarked as the brand name for the variety of tabasco sauce marketed by one of the United States' biggest producers of hot sauce, McIlhenny Company of Avery Island, Louisiana. While there are many other kinds on the market, Tabasco is the most famous brand of "hot pepper sauce". Although it is produced in the United States, it acquired its name from the state of Tabasco in Mexico. McIlhenny Company is now in its fifth generation as a family-run business. All of the 145 shareholders either inherited their stock or were given it from another living family member.
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Simply The Best"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Chileheads is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists