For those who love books with a message of faith

The fight between Good and Evil

  • Jul 1, 2010
Rating:
+4

My emotional reaction to this book was one of enlightenment, as I am not a religious person and the story sure does teach a lot about the Testament.  I would recommend this book to anyone who is religious but also anybody who loves an adventure about good/evil, someone who is spiritually open minded, because it is well written, believable and sticks to actual facts/predictions that are in the Bible.

 The setting is, to begin with, in an aeroplane.  The pilot, Raymond,  is considering cheating on his wife with a flight attendant.  Then all of sudden people disappear from the plane! Raymond remembers his wife telling him about the Rapture, which is when God came back for his people and realises she was really onto something...

 The story follows Raymond as he goes from skeptic to believer and forms a group of survivers like himself who must prepare for Judgement Day.

 Raymond at first appears like a bad person, who is considering adultery. Once he realises his wife was right about The Rapture, he is a changed man and does his best to help his daughter believe like himself.
 
The theme of the story starts with the disappearance of millions of people all over the world.  These people are true believers of Christ, and the story follows the world they have left behind, the evil leader that takes over and the survivors that have to form a network to fight against the bad.
 
I feel that the purpose of this story is to help more people find God.  The book is very convincing and thorough, and although fictional, it is based on predicitons from the Bible.

I have not read any other book types that are similar to Left Behind, although I would have to say Dean Koontz comes close with his novel "From The Corner Of His Eye" which is a brilliant story about good and evil. 

The authors consist of Christian speaker Tim LaHaye and Author Jerry Jenkins. I think together they produce a remarkable story that is entertaining and factual. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 04, 2010
I only saw the movie that was based on this book. It was pretty alright, excpet for some scenes that were rough between the edges. There is still the grand debate whether the Rapture happens before or after the tribulation period. Nice write up!
 
1
More Left Behind: A Novel of the Ea... reviews
review by . June 15, 2010
The book carried me through a wide range of emotions.  It was amazing how much I actually learned about the Word of God through reading this fictional account of the people in Left Behind.       I recommend this reading to everyone seeking the truth and a deeper understanding of what the word of God is trying to convey to us about the end of days.      The characters are developed so well that you feel an intimate relationship with …
review by . July 16, 2010
The entire Left Behind series is a good read; however, I do caution readers on taking the account literally.  It is a good depiction of what the end times could be like.  However, it is based on man’s interpretation and not necessarily accurate scripturally. It provides some great insight into what it could be like and certainly allows for great discussions on how others think it will go down. 
review by . June 14, 2010
*No spoilers here, just giving an overall review*      Being a familiar with Christian eschatology (end times stuff) helps in understanding the basis of this book. Personally, and as a Christian, this book provided a "picture" of sorts of things I'd previously learned about the end times. Though I do recommend it to those likewise familiar, it may seem a little off the deep end for those who aren't. Also, not everything in this book is completely accurate so …
review by . July 02, 2010
      I read almost all of the series and got completely infatuated with the story.  It was very dramatic.  I would recommend this book to believers and non-believers due to the values it teaches.      The typical family life and typical family issues makes it easy to relate and be drawn in to the story.      The characters were easy to relate to and it made it easy to get upset when bad things happened      to them.     
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
The only thing interesting about these books is the degree to which the authors demonstrate a complete ignorance of human experience on every page. The writing is clunky, the characters are as deep as the film on my shower walls, and the plot drags on, and on, and on, and on, and on and...........on. Read C.S. Lewis if you want fiction that brings the full resources of the Christian faith to bear on REAL human experience.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
The first book is good, but then you fall in an unending story. I personaly don`t like this kind of theoretic eschatology, but this book is edifying.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What could have been a good post-apocalyptic series set in a Christian eschatology is ruined by ravings of fundamentalist bigotry and a complete lack of useful character morals.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
What could have been a good post-apocalyptic series set in a Christian eschatology is ruined by ravings of fundamentalist bigotry and a complete lack of useful character morals.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
I really loved this series. The first book was one of the best.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
First in the series, on quite a long journey
About the reviewer
Billie Riholm ()
I am a stay at home Mom getting ready to return to work. I have a 2 year old son who keeps me very very busy! I like walking, cooking, reading and going to the beach.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Billie79
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0842329129 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780842329125 (pbk.)
Author: Tim Lahaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Genre: Christian Fiction
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: January 29, 1996
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Christian Fiction is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists