For those who love books with a message of faith

First in Seasons of Tallgrass series sets the bar high for romance

  • Jul 15, 2009
Snow Melts in Spring by Deborah Vogts is the first book in the Seasons of Tallgrass series. Mattie Evans has happily devoted her life to the Flint Hills of Kansas, working as a veterinarian and trying to find a way to buy her own ranch so she can ride its beloved hills. Gil McCray left those hills at the first chance he got and because successful as pro football player, but after his retirement from the game, he returns home to help his ailing father repair the family ranch and to check on his injured horse, Dusty. Mattie and Gil instantly clash as he assumes she's incompetent and after his father's money. She thinks he's an arrogant and selfish man trying to abandon his legacy as a rancher, but the more time they spend together, the more they learn about each other. Vogts has created an incredibly charming character in Mattie, I could read a whole series of books about this feisty, bright, and loyal woman. Gil is an unexpected pleasure to read about as well, not at all fitting the stereotype of the arrogant, famous prodigal son. They both have a lot to learn about forgiveness and sacrifice. It's a terrific romance, and I look forward to more in the series.

What did you think of this review?

Fun to Read
Post a Comment
About the reviewer
Christy Lockstein ()
Ranked #1
I'm a happily married mother of three. I review books daily on my blog Christy's Book Blog. I love to read, and I love the Lord. Those four things really define my life.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book


Mattie Evans, a young veterinarian in rural Kansas, saves a horse injured in a terrible accident. But she also finds herself tending the wounded relationship between a prodigal son and his ailing father. Love, conflict, forgiveness, and renewal drive the first book of the Seasons of the Tallgrass series.
view wiki


ISBN-10: 0310292751 (pbk.)
ISBN-13: 9780310292753 (pbk.)
Author: Deborah Vogts
Genre: Christian Fiction
Publisher: Zondervan
Date Published: July 2009 (reprint ed.)
Format: Series: Seasons of the tallgrass, bk. 1
© 2014, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Christian Fiction is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since