For those who love books with a message of faith
The Shack

A book by William P. Young

< read all 15 reviews

Circle of Relationship

  • Nov 16, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
If I got anything out of this captivating story and this portrayal of one man's meaning of God it was to remember to bring in my focus to the immense importance of my family--those I love and those who love me. This book seems to me a gift of sorts, the sharing of a story or a dream, rather than a philosophy or even a lesson in alternative theology. It's one of those tales, controversial now because of its tremendous popularity and success, which allows you to draw your own conclusions and relate the characters and circumstances to your own life. In other words: take from it what you will and hopefully that will be the overwhelmingly positive message contained within. And that is a message of LOVE and forgiveness. 

This is about a man named Mack who loses his daughter, Missy, in a brutal and seemingly unforgiveable manner. In the aftermath, the grieving years--or The Great Sadness--he receives a mysterious note asking him to return to the scene of the crime. Mack's friend Willie tells the story of Mack's journey to The Shack where his daughter was killed, and the personal spiritual awakening Mack undergoes while there. 

The writing is a bit unsophisticated and at times, repetitive. When it failed to move the story forward (and I was so interested in having it unfold), I grew impatient. But then, the overall content, which is the message the main character, Mack, receives and his storyteller, Willie, conveys, allowed me to relate to much of it on a very personal level. There is value in this story for me not because it showed me a different way to look at God, but instead, it showed me a different way to look at my RELATIONSHIPS. 

I recommend this book to those with an open mind and an interest in how faith in God can be very different for individual human beings.

The Shack

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Shack reviews
review by . July 10, 2010
   The Shack by William Young has been on the New York Times Bestsellers List for Paperback Trade Fiction for more than 100 weeks now (and was even #1 in amazon.com’s spot in fiction).  I was excited when I got my hands on a copy because it is a Christian book that topped book lists and is even compared to Paul Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress.  I knew I just had to read it and find out for myself what the fuss was all about. …
review by . July 01, 2010
I was given this book from a friend. They told me it was a true story, once I read it I researched that and found out I was correct in my doubts. It's not. I'm not sure where the mistaken view that it is came from. This book has some very out-there views on Christianity and God. It had a few things right, such as God being both 3 and 1, but it personalized each of the 3 parts of God. None were what traditional Christians would have thought. One was even a woman. It's oftenly said that …
review by . July 16, 2010
The Shack requires more than one reading.  You get a little more out of each reading.  It can be hard to digest, comparing the Trinity to real life people.  Whether or not the story is true is hard to say.  However it opens your eyes to the power of forgiveness and understanding that even the most horrible tragedies of our lives can bring about some good.           
review by . July 02, 2010
This is by far my favorite book of all times.  It's basically one mans opinion of what God is really like.  It explains how God truly loves us and how he uses trials to develop other areas in other peoples lives.  This book caused an emotional reaction for me.  The story was sad, dramatic, and happy all mixed into one story.  It truly affected my life and I believe I've changed dramatically because of it.
review by . July 05, 2010
This book was recommended to me by several people, and when I finally had the chance to read it I could understand why. A man struggling with the mysterious death of his little girl and trying to piece his life back together gets a strange message in his mailbox from God and meets Him in the place where his daughter was murdered,to discover not only the answers to his questions but a whole new perspective on this life here on Earth and the life to come.   …
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Can you create a perfect god, or what you think is perfect? P. Young did it, and probably we will have a generation that prefers to read this book instead of Bible. It`s better with no devil, no hell.."?!?!"
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
William P. Young created a therapy from himself when he wrote this book, but also created an over optimist way of christianism. Audacious, he takes God, Jesus and Holy Spirit inside a fiction that is not connected with the bible. There is no devil, no one goes to hell. Do you know what is called when you create a god in your own way? Idolatry. Do you know what is called when you twist the words of God? Heresy. The Shack: brings confort The Bible: brings repentance
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Beautiful book. My sister sent it to me, and I have since passed it on to others. Even if you are not a very religious person, this gets you to thinking, and believing.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
A life altering book. Had to put it down at one point and just cry for all the misconceived ideas I had in the past. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
great book
About the reviewer
Michele VanOrt Cozzens ()
I am the mother of two daughters--a tween and a teen. Need I say more about my current state of mind?
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Michele_Cozzens
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

When the imagination of a writer and the passion of a theologian cross-fertilize the result is a novel on the order of "The Shack." This book has the potential to do for our generation what John Bunyan's "Pilgrim's Progress" did for his. It's that good! --Eugene Peterson, Professor Emeritus of Spiritual Theology, Regent College, Vancouver, B.C.

Finally! A guy-meets-God Novel that has literary integrity and spiritual daring. "The Shack" cuts through the cliches of both religion and bad writing to reveal something compelling and beautiful about life's integral dance with the Divine. This story reads like a prayer--like the best kind of prayer, filled with sweat and wonder and transparency and surprise. When I read it, I felt like I was fellowshipping with God. If you read one work of fiction this year, let this be it. --Mike Morrell, zoecarnate.com

"The Shack" is a one of a kind invitation to journey to the very heart of God. Through my tears and cheers, I have been indeed transformed by the tender mercy with which William Paul Young opened the veil that too often separated me from God and from myself. With every page, the complicated do's and don't that distort a relationship into a religion were washed away as I understood Father, Son and Holy Spirit for the first time in my life. --Patrick M. Roddy, ABC News Emmy Award winning producer
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0964729237
ISBN-13: 978-0964729230
Author: William P. Young
Genre: Religion & Spirituality, Mystery & Thrillers, Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Windblown Media
Date Published: July 1, 2008
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Christian Fiction is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists