For those who love books with a message of faith
The Shack

A book by William P. Young

< read all 26 reviews

A Gripping, Page-Turning Novel

  • Dec 25, 2007
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love reading novels but rarely does one capture my attention like THE SHACK. From the first few pages, I was captivated and compelled to keep reading--until I reached the final chapter.

The story of Mackenzie Allen Phillips and his journey from pain to healing is beautifully written and well-crafted. While there are many memorable lines in this novel, I reached for my highlighter a number of times. For example Mack is speaking with Sarayu and she says, "The Bible doesn't teach you to follow rules. It is a picture of Jesus. While words may tell you what God is like and even what he may want for you, you can not do any of it on your own. Life and living is in him and in no other. My goodness, you didn't think you could live the righteousness of God on your own did you?"

"Well, I thought so, sorta..." he (Mack) said sheepishly. "But you gotta admit, rules will never give you answers to the deep questions of the heart and they will never love you."

Dipping his hand in the water, he played, watching the patterns his movements made. "I'm realizing how few answers I have...to anything. You know, you've turned me upside down or inside out or something."

"Mackenzie, religion is about having the right answers, and some of their answers are right. But I am about the process that takes you to the living answer, and once you get to him, he will change you from the inside." (p. 197-198) This brief quotation gives you a tiny taste of insight--which happens repeatedly throughout this story in a life changing way.

Normally I close the pages of a novel and press on to the next book. With this story, I'm planning how I can purchase several of them and send them to key friends with my recommendation they read it.

After reading the book, I can see how the word of mouth recommendations have spread about THE SHACK. I highly recommend it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Shack reviews
review by . July 10, 2010
   The Shack by William Young has been on the New York Times Bestsellers List for Paperback Trade Fiction for more than 100 weeks now (and was even #1 in amazon.com’s spot in fiction).  I was excited when I got my hands on a copy because it is a Christian book that topped book lists and is even compared to Paul Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress.  I knew I just had to read it and find out for myself what the fuss was all about. …
review by . July 01, 2010
I was given this book from a friend. They told me it was a true story, once I read it I researched that and found out I was correct in my doubts. It's not. I'm not sure where the mistaken view that it is came from. This book has some very out-there views on Christianity and God. It had a few things right, such as God being both 3 and 1, but it personalized each of the 3 parts of God. None were what traditional Christians would have thought. One was even a woman. It's oftenly said that …
review by . July 16, 2010
The Shack requires more than one reading.  You get a little more out of each reading.  It can be hard to digest, comparing the Trinity to real life people.  Whether or not the story is true is hard to say.  However it opens your eyes to the power of forgiveness and understanding that even the most horrible tragedies of our lives can bring about some good.           
review by . July 02, 2010
This is by far my favorite book of all times.  It's basically one mans opinion of what God is really like.  It explains how God truly loves us and how he uses trials to develop other areas in other peoples lives.  This book caused an emotional reaction for me.  The story was sad, dramatic, and happy all mixed into one story.  It truly affected my life and I believe I've changed dramatically because of it.
review by . July 05, 2010
This book was recommended to me by several people, and when I finally had the chance to read it I could understand why. A man struggling with the mysterious death of his little girl and trying to piece his life back together gets a strange message in his mailbox from God and meets Him in the place where his daughter was murdered,to discover not only the answers to his questions but a whole new perspective on this life here on Earth and the life to come.   …
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Can you create a perfect god, or what you think is perfect? P. Young did it, and probably we will have a generation that prefers to read this book instead of Bible. It`s better with no devil, no hell.."?!?!"
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
William P. Young created a therapy from himself when he wrote this book, but also created an over optimist way of christianism. Audacious, he takes God, Jesus and Holy Spirit inside a fiction that is not connected with the bible. There is no devil, no one goes to hell. Do you know what is called when you create a god in your own way? Idolatry. Do you know what is called when you twist the words of God? Heresy. The Shack: brings confort The Bible: brings repentance
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Beautiful book. My sister sent it to me, and I have since passed it on to others. Even if you are not a very religious person, this gets you to thinking, and believing.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
A life altering book. Had to put it down at one point and just cry for all the misconceived ideas I had in the past. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
great book
About the reviewer
W. Terry Whalin ()
I am an Acquisitions Editor at Morgan James Publishing. I have written more than 60 books for traditional publishers and for more than 50 magazines. My blog on The Writing Life has more than 1,100 searchable … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
terrywhalin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

When the imagination of a writer and the passion of a theologian cross-fertilize the result is a novel on the order of "The Shack." This book has the potential to do for our generation what John Bunyan's "Pilgrim's Progress" did for his. It's that good! --Eugene Peterson, Professor Emeritus of Spiritual Theology, Regent College, Vancouver, B.C.

Finally! A guy-meets-God Novel that has literary integrity and spiritual daring. "The Shack" cuts through the cliches of both religion and bad writing to reveal something compelling and beautiful about life's integral dance with the Divine. This story reads like a prayer--like the best kind of prayer, filled with sweat and wonder and transparency and surprise. When I read it, I felt like I was fellowshipping with God. If you read one work of fiction this year, let this be it. --Mike Morrell, zoecarnate.com

"The Shack" is a one of a kind invitation to journey to the very heart of God. Through my tears and cheers, I have been indeed transformed by the tender mercy with which William Paul Young opened the veil that too often separated me from God and from myself. With every page, the complicated do's and don't that distort a relationship into a religion were washed away as I understood Father, Son and Holy Spirit for the first time in my life. --Patrick M. Roddy, ABC News Emmy Award winning producer
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0964729237
ISBN-13: 978-0964729230
Author: William P. Young
Genre: Religion & Spirituality, Mystery & Thrillers, Literature & Fiction
Publisher: Windblown Media
Date Published: July 1, 2008
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Christian Fiction is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists