Cinema of Silence
A Lunch community devoted to classic silent films.
The Complete Metropolis (Kino International's Two-disc Special Edition DVD and Blu-ray)

Kino International's DVD and Blu-ray release of the 2010 restoration of Fritz Lang's silent science fiction epic.

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Nov 9, 2010
Caught the TCM premier of this on Silent Sunday and was completely blown away. Not only do the restored scenes help to clarify some plot points, but they also amplify the emotional impact of the film. Glorious! Big old thank you to Buenos Aires, Kino International and the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung!
Caption Caption Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
November 17, 2010
I saw your other comment. There's nothing like seeing this stuff in an old restored theater with the original organ music. Maybe in a larger town like Portland, ME might have theaters like that.
November 17, 2010
Nope, we don't have any theatres that have played it. Believe me, I looked. The local college will sometimes show silent films with live music, but I've never been. I don't think they show the restored versions either.
 
November 17, 2010
I'll be looking for this. Thanks!
November 17, 2010
Me too. Right now, thanks to TCM, I'm going through a really strong silent film phase and gobbling them up. I just ordered Kino's German Horror Classics box set and this will probably be next for Christmas.
 
November 09, 2010
Yeah baby! I want to get the Criterion collection of this film.
November 09, 2010
There is no Criterion Collection version. This is for the new Kino edition and I'd say that they are rivaling Criterion as far as silents go. However, Criterion has some nice new DVDs coming out. Did you get the e-mail about "Cronos"?
November 09, 2010
But of course, I'll be updating my copy soon. I just bought the Criterion collections of IN THE REALM OF THE SENSES and ANTICHRIST. Hm. I was almost sure that there is a criterion to this one....let me check....
November 09, 2010
Nope. There is a Criterion Collection edition for Lang's "M" and one of the Dr. Mabuse films, but not "Metropolis".
November 09, 2010
it's to be released on dvd and blu. http://www.joblo.com/digital/index.php?id=7602
there was an ad in one of the latest Criterion dvds I rented
November 09, 2010
But that's for the new Kino edition and not Criterion. Criterion doesn't even have the rights to the last two restorations (2001 and 2009, each respectively released a year later on DVD).
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #1
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Synopsis:

Fritz Lang’s Sci-Fi Masterpiece
With 25 Minutes of Restored Footage

One of the most celebrated movies in cinema history...For the first time, Lang’s vision... which has influenced contemporary films
like “Blade Runner” and “Star Wars,” seems complete. — The New York Times

Incorporating more than 25 minutes of newly discovered footage, this 2010 restoration of METROPOLIS is the definitive edition of Fritz Lang’s science fiction masterpiece. Backed by a new recording of Gottfried Huppertz’s 1927 score (presented here in 5.1 Stereo Surround), the film’s dazzling visual design and special effects are more striking than ever. And the integration of scenes and subplots long considered lost endows METROPOLIS with even greater tension and emotional resonance, as it dramatizes the conflict between wealthy über-capitalists and rebellious subterranean laborers—orchestrated by a diabolical scientist capable of destroying them
both.

Germany 1927 B&W 148 Min. 1.33:1
Directed by Fritz Lang
Screenplay by Thea von Harbou
Photographed by Karl Freund, Günther Rittau Production design: Otto
Hunte, Erich Kettelhut, Karl Vollbrecht
With Alfred Abel, Brigitte Helm, Gustav Fröhlich, Rudolf Klein-Rogge
Music by Gottfried Huppertz

A film of Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung in co-operation with ZDF and ARTE World sales: Transit Film
Restoration carried out by Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung, ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Fritz Lang
Genre: Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: 1927
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Screen Writer: Thea von Harbou
DVD Release Date: November 16, 2010
Runtime: 148 Min
Studio: UFA, Kino International, Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung, Kino Lorber
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Cinema of Silence is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists