Cinema of Silence
A Lunch community devoted to classic silent films.
The F.W. Murnau Collection

Kino on Video's 5-disc DVD collection of five classic silent films directed by Murnau.

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Nov 17, 2010
One of my favorite DVD box sets. Although three of the films here (Nosferatu, The Last Laugh, and Faust) have been re-released in newly restored 2-disc deluxe editions available from Kino International, I still love this set. The inclusion of Murnau's wonderful swan song, Tabu, makes all the difference. in addition, the packaging is rather attractive and well designed.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
November 29, 2010
Yes indeed good Count
 
November 22, 2010
I only have two of the movies in this set. Nice QT.
November 22, 2010
I didn't know you had any Murnau films. Which ones?
November 22, 2010
I've recently acquired THE LAST LAUGH and Nosferatu. I need to get Tabu, Chris told me it was worth getting. My silent movie collection needs some beefing up.
November 22, 2010
Oh, really? Did you buy the new Kino DVDS? As for "Tabu", you'll love it. It feels a good twenty years ahead of its time and the Tahitian women are gorgeous.
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #1
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Five films by F. W. Murnau, available in a box set. Titles also sold separately, except Tabu. Box Set only available in DVD format.

Nosferatu
Director: F. W. Murnau
Country: Germany
Year: 1922
This new presentation of Murnau's classic is mastered from original German material recently made available to Kino and is the most complete version available. An expressionist retelling of Bram Stoker's Dracula so faithful to the original tale of vampirism that Stoker's widow sued. 

The Last Laugh
Director: F. W. Murnau
Country: Germany
Year: 1924
An unqualified maserwork of the silent cinema, the Kino edition is fully restored and mastered from a 35mm archive negative, with an orchestral score by Timothy Brock recorded in digital stereo. 

Faust
Director: F. W. Murnau
Country: Germany
Year: 1926
The legend of Faust is a masterpiece of world literature that inspired literary giants from Goethe and Shakespeare to Thomas Mann. Murnau’s classic dramatization brings the legend to life that ranks alongside Fritz Lang’s Metropolis as the greatest achievement of the German silent cinema. Gosta Ekman stars as the titular alchemist who, struggling with his faith amidst a devastating plague, is offered the power to cure and the gift of youth...in exchange for his soul. The diabolical Mephisto is by turns charming, comical, and horrific. 

Tartuffe

Director: F. W. Murnau
Country: Germany
Year: 1926
A fable of religious hypocrisy, in which a faithful wife...
view wiki

Details

Genre: Classics, Drama, Fantasy, Foreign, Horror, Romance
Release Date: 1922, 1924, 1926, 1931
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Screen Writer: Henrik Galeen, Thea von Harbou
DVD Release Date: November 11, 2003
Runtime: 444 minutes
Studio: Kino On Video, Image Entertainment, UFA
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Cinema of Silence is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists