City Lifestyle
All about city living & entertainment!
iPad

A tablet computer by Apple

< read all 58 reviews

Underwhelmed with iPad

  • Jan 27, 2010
Rating:
+1

I'm underwhelmed by this iPad thing, especially with all of the hype surrounding it.  It's no secret that I'm a well documented iPhobe, but I've tried to put that aside and be objective here.   I predict that only the most hardcore iSheep will be flocking to this overgrown iPod Touch.  I can see a future for the device and others like it, but it's not there in the present.

What's wrong with it?

  • No camera.
  • No phone calling.
  • Another $30/month for unlimited Internet access on top of what you're paying for your phone and home Internet access.
  • That *name*!!! Sounds like something that will revolutionize how women deal with uh...well...you get what I'm saying.
  • It's kinda big to lug around and it will DEFINITELY need a case to protect all of that glass.  You might as well keep using your laptop/netbook.
  • It's too small to get "real" work done, especially with no keyboard.  Again, keep your laptop/netbook.
  • New, untested processor that Apple designed in-house.  Why didn't they use Intel?

What's good about it?

  • The claimed battery life is amazing.
  • The multi-touch capability on a device that size might change things...someday.
  • This would be great to watch movies with on a plane.
  • I imagine there will be some niche applications that will be great;  I can see in-the-field photo editing and possible video work.

I looks like it would be an OUTSTANDING book/magazine reader, albeit an expensive one.  The kindle is monochrome and really only for books.  Something tells me that Amazon might kick it up a notch now though.

Speaking of books: I hope one day kids will just have to carry something like this vs. the backbreaking load of tree carcass that they have to walk around with now.  The only concern is that Apple is notoriously proprietary so I'll have to root for equal marketshare for Kindle and iPad and Sony and whomever else jumps in, so that there can be a standard file type and users can CHOOSE which device they want to carry around.

What's the damage?

  • 16GB = $499
  • 32GB = $599
  • 64GB = $699
  • Add $130 to the price if you want mobile 3G Internet access capability.

The Internet access is provided by AT&T exclusively, but the device isn't locked and there is no contract and can be used with WiFi only.  Here's what the access will cost you:

  • 250MB/month $14.99
  • Unlimited Access $29.99


So it appears that I'm in no danger of making my 1st ever Apple purchase.  Although, with some improvements and openness to 3rd party content (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon), I *just* might in the future.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
40
Thought-Provoking
38
Fun to Read
39
Well-Organized
38
Post a Comment
March 19, 2010
I think we should all wait until at least April 4th to pass judgement on the iPad, no matter what your personal opinion about Apple is. Seems to me that Apple built upon advances made by some early smart phones (**cough** Crapberry) and created something great (iPhone). It's still increasing popularity can attest to that. So can they do it again? Probably, they revised what the Kindle has done and are offering a spectacular ebook reader that runs iPhone OS 3.2. I think the iPad's primary competitor is the Kindle and the other ebook readers out there, not the burgeoning netbook market. I'll be waiting in line to scoop up the ipad on 4/3. The iPhones shortcomings haven't hurt sales so far, but by the gaining popularity of Google's Android you can deduct that there are alot of people unconvinced.
 
January 28, 2010
Your iPhobia automatically makes us friends. I'm literally sick of hearing about Apple - it's just a damned tech company that has pretty hardware and closed sourced software. The level of brainwashing among the Apple fanboys is bordering on cult status. I loved your summary though - excellent points. Basically, I think if people want a reader, the new Kindle is definitely the device to own. And if you need a small laptop for browsing, netbook is the way to go!
January 30, 2010
Tis true that the iCultists are swarming to an unknown product. I like to think that I don't get excited about ANY product until it actually ships and hopefully, not until I touch it.
January 31, 2010
iCultists is right! Steve Jobs could sell iBottledWater for $20 each and the fanboys would bankrupt themselves taking a bath (if they ever bathe, of course).
March 16, 2010
Hey..you two. Got a question. WHO do you think controls 33% of the console gaming market while using 'closed' hardware and 'strict' guidelines for coding software? Microsoft (XBOX 360). Second Question. WHO do you know that owns 41% of the ebook market by using closed hardware, crippled software and features, while extorting publishers for every penny they can? Amazon (Kindle). So before you fling the poo about Apple's tactics you might want to review the other side of that Fanboy coin in your pocket :)
March 17, 2010
I don't support any manufacturer locking down systems, but I think it's amazing that in 2010 we celebrate a hardware system where only "approved" software will work. You're right about MS and Amazon - I'm personally Google and Linux all the way.
 
January 27, 2010
Device can use a keyboard. With Google Voice or Skype, you should be able to make calls. It's unlocked, use a sim card from your phone with a data plan. I think it is a low cost, compelling alternative to a laptop for people who just need to do some basic browsing and office work. Also, if it catches on, (and there are probably enough fanboys to make that happen even if it is terrible), 3rd party developers will be able to do amazing things with this device. I suspect there will be fewer rejected apps as well. Apple no longer has to cater to a closely tied business partner like AT&T. The device is not subsidized.
January 27, 2010
Good point Ajarjay, but the Apple "it just works" crown isn't going to want to go through all of that to make a phone call. It's unlocked, but only AT&T offers the $30 unlimited data for it.

I don't remember reading anywhere about a SIM card. My guess is that no SIM card is needed b/c it can't make phone calls.  I'm sure there will be a USB keyboard, but again...Apple people demand simplicity and carrying around TWO things now isn't going to make them happy. 

It will be interesting to see how this develops and you might end up being more right than me.  Speculation is an awesome arena to debate in though, isn't it?  :)
January 28, 2010
I vote for @Ajarjay to write a review about the iPad! You have a lot of interesting things to say about it so you should consider writing your own review so that your opinions don't get lost in the comment section here :)
January 28, 2010
I agree! I would be interested to read what @Ajarjay has to say about it too.
 
January 27, 2010
Thank you for the info!
January 27, 2010
You'd do the same...oh wait, you DO! :)
 
January 27, 2010
Ha! You said "iSheep"! Hilarious!
January 27, 2010
I love people who get my humor! :)
 
January 27, 2010
Agree as well! Good review!
January 27, 2010
Thanks Adrianna!
January 28, 2010
Welcome! Keep the reviews coming! :)
 
January 27, 2010
agreed!
January 27, 2010
YES! I love it when we agree. Thanks. :)
 
January 27, 2010
I honestly have to say, and I'm not angry about it, but I feel like people should wait to write reviews about the thing until it comes out.  Sure we all know the specs on it and have formed our own opinions on it, but how much can we truly know until we really try the thing?  Plus, I have to say that I disagree with you about the prices, I think it's a steal :)
January 27, 2010
I normally feel the same way that you do about "reviewing" before using, but I also feel like today the hype machines get started with the specs and it's good to speculate about a device's usefulness.  I still stay away from rumors, but I will jump in with an opinion once something is officially announced and demonstrated and the vision is laid out.  Maybe I should go back and make it sound more like "speculative perception" vs. review.  :)

The prices kinda depend.  If it does happen to be a book reader mostly, then it will be outrageous.  Also, if you already have a smartphone/iPhone, is it worth the $500+ for a bigger screen when you lose all the other stuff (camera, phone)?
January 27, 2010
I hear you about it being just a book reader, I think it would be a rip off too, but I watched the video over at apple and while it does everything and iPhone/iPodTouch does, it also does so much more like have access to iWork, MAC's version of Office.

For me, working at Lunch, I work at home and now with the iPad I can go to the coffee shop persay (I'm using this example everywhere) and take my mini laptop which is half the price of a Macbook and work writing these kind of comments or even writing a review while drinking my latte. If you haven't checked out the video, It's actually kind of cool!

http://www.apple.com/ipad/

There should be a link to the video there! Good thoughts on the thing though :)
January 28, 2010
As a book reader it wouldn't be THAT outrageous. The Amazon DX is $489 with 4GB of storage. The base iPad is $499 with 16GB of storage and extends way beyond ebooks + wouldn't you want color for magazines, newspapers, etc? I have a review coming, hopefully tonight...
January 30, 2010
I think the Amazon DX is outrageous too. :) The price for these types of devices will come down, I just hope that the file formats for books/magazines is standard so that people can CHOOSE.
 
January 27, 2010
I'm a self-professed iLover, but I feel your sentiments exactly!  It sounds very cool, but if I'm going to get one, I'm going to wait it out a couple of years like I waited to get my iPhone and let them work out all the kinks and upgrades.  I'm going to have a problem typing on this thing, and as if I wasn't already paranoid enough of my tiny iPhone glass, now I'd have a huge piece of glass to worry not breaking and not getting dirty, whether I'm lugging it around, or simply using it. 

And you're right, it's pretty small, and the name provides all sorts of opportunities for bad nicknames.  I'm really curious to see how people receive this when it is released though, and I still really want to check it out.  Great review for the Technology Community, JD! :)
January 27, 2010
For sure...I even want to check it out! :)

Thanks...should I put it in that Community?  I have been around here for more than a minute, but I still don't know how to do stuff.  I suck.  

And cuz you and I are so iOpposite but still get along, I'll tell you a secret.  I'm going to (hide) it so that no one else can read it. 

(shhhh...don't tell anyone, but I had AppleTV envy for awhile)
January 27, 2010
No need to manually put it into the tech community because as long as this data point's tagged "technology", it will end up in there automatically. You're currently #7 in that community ;)

(and that tidbit of information is SCANDALOUS!) :x
January 27, 2010
It's not Hidden, HAHAHAHAHA! As Darth Vader would say, "I have you now!" ...I'm such a dork..
January 27, 2010
devora - so I should be TAGGING! Got it. This time, it was taken care of b/c someone else created the data point, right? Husher - awww man, YOU saw that! Now, I'll never live it down!
January 27, 2010
Yup, all of our current communities are tag based! 

(And I would never abuse such information... or would I? ;)
January 28, 2010
Devora, you make a good point on waiting it out a couple years. It's pretty typical with Apple for the 2nd and 3rd generation devices to improve significantly. The iPhone 3G was when I jumped in, until I lost it and went back to a Blackberry. I didn't get an iPod until the Nano.
 
1
More iPad reviews
review by . April 05, 2010
posted in Ubergizmo
After a surprisingly positive experience at the Apple store (I picked up my reserved iPad at noon on Launch Day and was able to walk in and get helped immediately), I'm now 24+ hours into my iPad experience.  My initial impressions have been incredibly positive.                                               WHAT I LIKE It's really fast. (MUCH faster …
review by . April 06, 2010
The iPad, a game changer? It sure frickin' feels like it!
In the week leading up to the arrival of my iPad via UPS, I was second guessing my decision to buy it out of the gates. Not that I didn't want the iPad, I just wasn't sure what gadget gap it would fill.      As it is I have a laptop, a MediaCenter PC, an iPhone, and a Kindle, I wasn't sure where the iPad fit in. After 24 hours of intense use, the kindle is to the curb, my laptop is jealous, and the iPhone is glad it has phone (barely) capabilities. For all the reasons I …
review by . April 07, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Last night i just got the 32G iPad.      First off, I'll leave all the detailed fawning over the coolness of this thing to the fanboys, but will say it is super cool toy.  I just want to play with it.        But here are my issues with it.       First off, you can't even turn it on until you connect it to the apple store to buy their products... called... duh... iTunes.  When you take it out of the box there are 3 simple …
review by . January 30, 2010
It's difficult to write a review of a product that I've never used, but I'm so excited about Apple's iPad, that I couldn't help myself.      I will admit, I've been watching the rumors of the iTablet/iSlate/iBook/iPad for months, and I got swept up in the predictions that this would be the Magic Do Everything device.  So when the actual iPad was finally revealed, I was initially disappointed.  However, after some time to absorb the details, as well as take the price …
review by . November 24, 2010
iLove my iPad
April 2010 was a big month.  The iPad was finally released after months of hype and all I knew is that I wanted one.  Unfortunately, during that portion of the year and my wedding coming up, it wasn't realistic (not to mention Apple couldn't keep them in stock anyway).  Well, almost eight months later, I finally purchased my iPad!  Mind you, I got the basic 16GB model without 3G, but none the less, it's an iPad.  Need less to say, it is probably the best purchase …
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ok, Steve Jobs woke me up for this... I was already on the way to bed and man, the man launches an iPad? iPad?! Seriously? What's the date? Jan. 27? Why Jan. 27?      Revolutionary? Well, I'm sure it's revolutionary... well, at least the way I've to relearn to type! I can type pretty fast on the keyboard now, I don't think he demonstrated how fast someone could type on an iPad! I hope it won't be a major source of frustration! We are supposed to be ready …
review by . November 09, 2010
posted in iPad Buzz
Ipad Flight
On a recent cross-country flight with my soon-to-be two year old daughter, I discovered the true magical nature of the iPad -- its ability to keep her entertained for several hours while confined to her seat.  She spent time drawing with Adobe Ideas, reading The Cat In the Hat and watching several episodes of Yo Gabba Gabba and Dora the Explorer.        All was going well until the passenger seated at the window asked to pass by us to use the restroom.  As I closed …
review by . October 27, 2010
Best iPad Apps for Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome [ 117 ] August 16, 2010 | Tracy I am the mom of a beautiful and amazing son who just happens to have a diagnosis of High Functioning Autism.  A few months ago I read an article on Blogher called ”The iPad a Near-Miracle for my son.” It immediately caught my attention not only because of  Shannon’s beautiful writing and story, but because I am always looking for opportunities to help …
review by . January 28, 2010
Well, the Apple is finally out of the bag today as the mythical "iPad" is unveiled.  But did the public receive the news as Steve intended?  Was the "shock" good, bad, or ugly? Perhaps it's too early to tell whether the iPad will be a success or failure because time is needed to see how things look when the dust settles.   But, it's not too early to discuss first impressions... so here's the 'skinny' on the iPad.      The Good:   …
review by . April 09, 2010
The iPad Experience: great 1st gen device, definitely not for everyone.
I had made up my mind during the 2 months or so between the announcement of the Apple iPad and its release date that I was not going to get one, or so I thought. I figured the UI would be fantastic as it was running the same OS as the iPhone but with a bit more horsepower and my iPhone 3GS was a pleasure to use, jailbroken with multitasking. The key feature, or lack thereof, that swayed my decision was the fact that just like the iPhone, any video you wanted play from the device locally …
About the reviewer
Jeff Daly ()
Member Since: Jul 13, 2009
Last Login: Mar 4, 2013 03:52 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dalydose
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this product

Wiki


The iPad  is a tablet  computing device product from Apple Inc. The device was announced on January 27, 2010, at a press conference at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts  in San Francisco. The device was rumored for several months, with iSlate  and iTablet among rumored names.
The device is expected to incorporate a 10-inch (26 centimeter) multi-touch display made by Innolux, a subsidiary of Foxconn. The price is expected to be more than the iPhone but less than an Apple notebook computer.

The iPad's lowest grade model with a 16GB hard drive will run for $499 dollars with the 32 GB running for $599 and the 64GB running at $699.  Buyers will also have the opportunity to purchase the iPad with 3G connectivity with the lowest grade model starting at $629 and going up.  The Wi-Fi models will ship in late March while the 3G models will ship in April.

 Yair Reiner claims the iSlate will compete in the market against dedicated e-book devices such as the Barnes & Noble nook and the Amazon Kindle while offering 70% of revenue to publishers, the same arrangement accorded developers of the App Store. These arrangements would also extend to print publishers who currently receive less in digital work royalties from companies like Amazon.com.

Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISlate
view wiki

Details

Brand: Apple
Category: Tablets, Computers

First to Review

"i What ?!?!?!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
City Lifestyle is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists