|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Some of the Coolest Reviews on Lunch.com!

  • Feb 12, 2010
Well, this list was inspired by Woopak's list of favorite Lunch reviewers. Personally, I don't like to play favorites with people, but I do like giving out props when they're due. Now, I've been writing here on Lunch since December of 2008 and in that time I have posted a few reviews, although not nearly as many new ones as I would have liked. Rather than pick and choose Lunch members that I like, which would be a very long list, I've decided to shine the spotlight on their best reviews. After all, Lunch is all about interesting topics, intelligent people, and entertaining and thought-provoking reviews.
Please note that I have placed Lunch members in alphabetical order and that I've place a link to my favorite review by each of these members. If I've forgotten to include anyone, I apologize. I should also point out that I will be periodically adding new Lunchers to this list and therefore showcasing even more great reviews.
So without further ado...
REVIEWS, REVIEWS, REVIEWS!

What did you think of this list?

Helpful
39
Thought-Provoking
39
Fun to Read
39
Well-Organized
39
Post a Comment
June 23, 2010
Great list & I really liked that you included links to your favorite reviews from each member. This is really good stuff. I can't say that I've read all these reviews which you referenced but this compilation is definitely food for thought.
June 23, 2010
Obviously, a number of these reviews are now gone since Christy, Trashie, and Wrestleanimaniac left. I haven't known what to do about that since I'd still like for people to read those reviews. Dilemma.
June 23, 2010
Yeah, I heard a lot of folks jumped ship. Even Woops doesn't write as frequently anymore. I just hate to see those reviews go unnoticed. I've read some of them & they are indeed worthy reviews.
June 23, 2010
Are you still writing reviews?
June 23, 2010
Lately, I haven't reviewed anything but I do have some ideas for the near future. I can do a write up for Weekend of Horrors initially & maybe review some Argento classics. The rest is in the air. It's been awhile since I threw anything together.
June 23, 2010
By the way, I sent you an invite on Facebook. I didn't realize you had a profile there until I saw your face under Chris' list of friends.
June 23, 2010
Oh, thanks! Yeah, I don't visit ol' FB much but I will add you on my next visit. Mypsace & Facebook have kinda been pushed to the back burner on my agenda but I still do drop in occasionally.
 
March 12, 2010
I just realized that I was on this list. Thanks for the mention! I like that review of mine too, mainly because I loved writing about a film that I got so much enjoyment out of. I'm off to check out some of these reviews...
March 12, 2010
Of course, you made the list. I liked that review in particular because of the way you sort of subverted expectation with the review headline and it was well-rounded in terms of balancing your opinions and information. I hope you enjoy some of the others here. All of them are fairly revealing about both my tastes, but also the kind of reviews that Lunch members like to write.
 
March 09, 2010
I could never sort out favorites from other people's reviews. Take Woop for instance. You'd have to do 3 or 4 lists just for his stuff alone!
March 12, 2010
Shhh, or you'll spoil my secret plans!
March 12, 2010
Oops!
 
February 17, 2010
Flattered to be on this list, Sean! I've read most of these and they're all great reviews, so awesome list! I'd love to hear why you chose these reviews ;) And you're right, you haven't been posting too many reviews, what's up with that!?! ;P
February 17, 2010
First of all, I chose what I did based in part on the fact that they are all reviews on subjects that I'm interested in, but also because I think that each individual review is well written and a great example of the kind of reviews that can only be found here on Lunch. Secondly, the reason for my recent inactivity in terms of reviews is that I've got a lot on my plate at the moment and I'm easily overwhelmed. I have about a half-dozen reviews that I'm either planning, outlining, or in the actual process of writing, an interview that I'll be doing a little later on, a book club meeting that I need to do research for because I'm the facilitator, and I'm still looking for work. Sheesh. Is there some sort of magic solution for all that, because I'd bet that you could get really rich for a cure-all! ; )
 
February 17, 2010
Hey Man, great idea by doing this! Thanks for the Prestige shout out and after going back and rereading it, I need to revisit that reviews and make some major edits!
February 17, 2010
No problem. I really enjoyed your take on that which was quite similar to mine, though I haven't done a review yet. So, are there any movies coming out 2010 that you're psyched about?
February 17, 2010
Let's see, Iron Man 2 , Clash of the Titans (On the fence with that one), Shutter Island, Alice in Wonderland, The Runaways, How to Train Your Dragon, Nightmare on Elm Street, Robin Hood, Prince of Persia, The A Team, Toy Story 3, The Last Airbender, Salt... I think that's it :)
February 17, 2010
Have you seen the previews for Nolan's next film "Inception" with DiCaprio? Looks really cool.
March 09, 2010
On NO! No more remakes!!!
March 10, 2010
I don't think it's a remake.
 
February 16, 2010
Count: Thanks for the inclusion- honor to be a part of such a well developed list. You da man!
February 16, 2010
No, you da man.
 
February 13, 2010
What a great idea for a list...and no, this wasn't my guess for the review you were going to like the best ;p But, it's one of my faves! Some of these I haven't read, so thanks so much for hooking me up with the best of the best, kinda like JR's messages!
February 16, 2010
Happily. What did you think I would choose for a review?
 
February 13, 2010
dang! You beat me to this idea!
February 13, 2010
Heck, I have to get the opportunity to do something original every now and then.
; )
By the way, do you approve of the review I chose for you?
February 13, 2010
I have no personal fave among my reviews...it is your call. It is one of my fave movies so it is cool.
February 13, 2010
Groovy.
 
1
About the list creator

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists