Culture of Cute
Culture of Cute
Dedicated to all things fashionable
Etsy Home Page

A website to buy and sell handmade goods.

< read all 8 reviews

Etsy makes my world go 'round

  • Mar 24, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I absolutely love Etsy. Not only is is a great place to find one of a kind handmade gifts, it's also a place that allows me to sell my handmade items. If it weren't for Etsy I would be lost.
I always buy presents for people from Etsy. I refuse to go to the mall, and everything just looks so generic when you go out shopping. With Etsy I know that I am supporting someone who makes these thigns that I am buying, and not some big corporation. I like the more personal experience, if I have a question about a product I am able to ask the person who made it, and who knows the product better than the maker!? It's a lot easier to find all natural and organic items on Etsy, and knowing that not everyone in the world will have the same thing makes it even more appealing!
I have only ever had one "bad" transaction on Etsy, the girl I purchased an item from was out of town for three weeks and I wasn't aware of this. It was really important because it was a Secret Santa gift that had to be to it's destination by a certain date! Eventually she responded back to all my messages telling me how sorry she was and that she was out of town, and she refunded my money no problem. Then for all of the trouble I had to go through she ended up sending me the item anyway, free of charge. See!? Even the bad turns out good.
I also have an Etsy store. While I haven't updated it in a while, it's there, and I have sold several things through the site that I otherwise probably would not have been able to sell. It's almost impossible to sell handmade items on ebay, and I can't just sell a one of to a boutique around here. I am working on getting my creative bug back (this baby stole everything I had for a while!) and when I do I will surely be making more stuff to sell! Etsy provides me with an opportunity that I would otherwise not have, and knowing that I can make some extra money from Etsy makes it even easier for me to be a stay at home mom.
Etsy will always have my vote.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
December 13, 2009
couldn't agree more, I've become a total Etsy addict! done some serious damage this holiday season too : )
 
August 30, 2009
Whoa, etsy sounds great.  I make both fine and costume jewelry alike, etsy sounds like a good place to sell the latter.  Thanks for the review! :)

By the way, I thought you might like this Retail tag and Fashion community where you can rate and discover more data points easily!
 
May 17, 2009
Nice review, @fawnanddoe! I LOVE etsy as well, but I haven't worked up the nerve to sell on it yet. I've done some private selling myself, but I really want to try out etsy. It'd be awesome if you could add a little more about your experience selling there. How are the fees withdrawn? Is it easy to communicate with buyers? I'm especially interested in how you bring traffic to your etsy page. Your insight would be a huge gift! :)
 
1
More Etsy reviews
review by . February 27, 2009
As a buyer looking for unique and interesting products, I love sites like Etsy. Etsy is an online market place where each artist/seller can essentially run their own store, detail their brand and products, and describe their passion and intention. Most sellers include photos of their merchandise and links to their blogs or original website. Etsy does a great job of connecting artisans with buyers in need of unique and interesting products. I personally tend to search by featured sellers, category, …
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
I get lost in this site for hours...support talented starving artists! :o)
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
i adore etsy so much talent
review by . March 24, 2009
I have been a big fan of Etsy for a while now but more so lately as I have found so many new shops full of goodness.  The searches aren't the best but the good news is that there is alot of useful word of mouth going on around the internet  that help you weed through the not so good shops to find the real jewels.  I have been suprised by the amount of really good designers and artists that have set up shop here.  It is always a treat to find something new and unique and …
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2009
Etsy is the best for unique items that can't be found at your local mall-esp. jewelry! support DIY!
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
this is one of my "happy places" online, to be sure. they do a great twitter and FB fan page too! sooo many guilty pleasures.
About the reviewer
Jessica ()
Single, cloth diapering, attachment parenting, vegetarian mom who makes and sells cloth diapers and other eco-friendly baby goods.
About this topic

Wiki

www.etsy.com

Is a website that gives people a way to buy and sell handmade items online. The site follows in the tradition of open craft fairs, giving sellers personal storefronts where they list their goods for a fee.

Etsy started in 2005 and now has over 10,000 sellers in their community. These sellers span the globe and it provides a great international community for cultural and artistic appreciation. In order to communicate with sellers, a buyer needs to create their own account (which is free).   As a buyer you can browse by category, treasury (items picked by members), pounce (seller awaiting their first sale, or those who have just sold something), gift guides, shop local (by location), showcase (sellers showing off a particular item), editors picks, time machine (recently viewed), colors, geolocator, connections (who likes what), birthdays, sellers and featured sellers.

view wiki

Tags

Websites, Retail, Crafts, Eshopping, Online Shopping, Retail Websites, Crafts Websites

Details

First to Review

"A Handmade Hot-Spot!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Culture of Cute is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists