Culture of Cute
Culture of Cute
Dedicated to all things fashionable
Farouk CHI Original Cermic Flat Hair Iron

A ceramic flat hair iron by Farouk Chi.

< read all 1 reviews

The Secret to Sleek, Straight Locks

  • Dec 9, 2008
Rating:
+5
I never thought I'd spend $100 on a hair styling tool, that has always seemed just excessive and wasteful to me.  For years, I used a dinky $9.99 hair straightener.  It took forever to heat up, but there was never actually that much heat and it never got my hair quite as straight as I wanted, but I was fine with it because I didn't know any better.  That is... until I borrowed my friend's Farouk CHI original flat iron.  Oh man, I was instantly hooked.

The Farouk CHI took literally 10 seconds to heat up to 240 degrees, and with one swipe through each section of hair, my hair became instantaneously straight.  No need for a second or third round like other flat irons!  Within 15 minutes, all of my hair was straight, shiny and gorgeous.  That's pretty darn impressive for doing it myself.  One look in the mirror and I knew I had to purchase a Farouk CHI flat iron of my own.

Tip #1: CHI also has an awesome line of hair styling products that can be purchased at beauty supply stores or even Target.  Before flat ironing your hair, I suggest spraying it with CHI's Iron Guard spray, and then post-flat ironing, finish it off with CHI's Shine Infusion spray.

Tip #2: As fabulous as this flat hair iron is, I wouldn't use it religiously because all that direct heat can really damage your hair.  I only run it through my hair when it's extra unruly or if I'm going out for a night on the town!
Farouk CHI Original Ceramic Flat Hair Iron

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
June 10, 2010
I completely agree with this! I've always loved CHIs, however my sister and I each ordered one online and they did not work (like they didn't even turn on)! I was very surprised, so we went with another brand...but other than that instance I have always been a huge CHI fan.
June 16, 2010
Whoa, that's not good! I ordered mine online, too, but it's still alive and kickin' after two years. It came with a one year manufacturer warranty, but I've, fortunately, never had to take advantage of it.  Glad to see another CHI fan!  I actually wrote reviews of a couple of their other products.  Thanks for commenting, Stacie! :)
 
January 25, 2010
cool! (eating man-burger) I need one of these when I go to those formal gatherings. I want straight hari then my friend who has straight hair wants wavy hair...arrgghhh!! Thanks for pointing me to this, Mighty Lady D LOL! P.S. man-burger is good! lots of bacon and a huge beef patty!
January 26, 2010
It's okay, Woo, you don't have to eat a man-burger when you're commenting on my reviews. My profile is a safe, nurturing environment ;P  I know what you mean about wanting what you don't have.  When I was a little kid, I had stick straight hair, but I wanted curly hair.  As I got older, my hair got wavy, and now I want that stick straight hair back.  I also feel the same way every time I have, or don't have, bangs :x  I know, such a girl!

I'm curious though, is your man-burger anything like @Butter's Brew Johnson Burger? :P
January 27, 2010
My man-burger is very similar. I went with the egg too! Ok, I like the talk about hair and you are now one of my official hair advisors...but let's talk about my home-made man-burger LOL!
January 27, 2010
Haha, official hair advisor! I feel a bit under qualified though, considering I can barely manage my own :P And perhaps you can call your man-burger The Woo Burger? ;)
January 27, 2010
good idea. will upload a photo when I make it again ;-P
 
1
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #2
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

CHI by Farouk Systems Group is one of the appliance and hair care brands known in the professional beauty industry. CHI is best known for the CHI Original Flat Iron and CHI Turbo Flat Iron and dryer collections as well as their complete line of heat protection and hair care ? including the bestselling CHI Silk Infusion and the BioSilk hair care collection also by Farouk Systems Group.
view wiki

Tags

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Culture of Cute is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists