Culture of Cute
Culture of Cute
Dedicated to all things fashionable
Spanx shapewear

Women's Apparel

< read all 3 reviews

SPANX - shapewear you can be proud to wear!

  • Dec 8, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
is it weird that, as a 20-something, i'm reviewing what basically amounts to control-top shapewear? i feel like that territory should be reserved for my mom or grandma! but somehow spanx has made it (somewhat) hip and ok to wear shapewear - and to not be ashamed of it. i prefer it for those occasions when you just can't QUITE find the right undergarments to make that clingy dress look perfect. although i do have friends who wear it under basics like jeans, as well. see - nothing to be ashamed of! :-)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
August 16, 2009
This whole concept is truly awesome! What garments do you use? Inquisitive potential Spanx users what to know!:-) The owner of this company was on Oprah a while back and she has got to be making bank off of this idea. It has really taken off!
 
December 10, 2008
awesome! i didn't know that. i love it when things have a little bit of spandex - SO much more comfortable!
 
December 10, 2008
If you're looking for more high-fashion uses for Spanx, I think all Theory apparel includes Spanx in their materials. I own one of their blazers, and weirdly enough, I love that bit of stretch to it.
 
1
More Spanx reviews
Quick Tip by . December 13, 2011
posted in Culture of Cute
Not the biggest fan. I had heard the best things about Spanx from my friends who said it made them look slimmer and smoother in tight dresses. I thought I'd buy a pair with a Audrey Hepburn-esque 1960's black dress that is a tight fit and sure to show any trouble areas you have. I thought it was going to act like more of a girdle but, really it's just a glorified control top underwear. Granted it smoothed out some lines and rolls but, it didn't make me look slimmer at all.   …
review by . November 14, 2008
SPANX
I've long been searching for a means     To improve the way I look in jeans.     Then I found a Spanx that binds us,     Shapes and smoothes what is behind us.     So here am I all sleek and svelte,     But such sore feet I've never felt!     For while this may be what I fit in,     It's not something I can sit in.     - Gail Cooke
About the reviewer
alexis ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Aug 17, 2009 12:23 AM UTC
About this topic

Wiki

SPANX, Inc. is a U.S. company which mainly manufactures footless pantyhose and other undergarments for women, particularly "body shaping" undergarments designed to give the wearer a slim and shapely appearance. The company's products are supposedly marketed to fit contemporary female lifestyles and fashion trends. They have been endorsed by celebrities, like Oprah Winfrey.

About 5.4 million SPANX power panties have been sold since the year 2000, and the global retail sales for SPANX products are estimated at $350 million for 2008.

source: Wikipedia

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Sizing Is Off"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Culture of Cute is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists