Culture of Cute
Culture of Cute
Dedicated to all things fashionable
Spanx shapewear

Women's Apparel

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by djevoke

  • Dec 13, 2011
Not the biggest fan. I had heard the best things about Spanx from my friends who said it made them look slimmer and smoother in tight dresses. I thought I'd buy a pair with a Audrey Hepburn-esque 1960's black dress that is a tight fit and sure to show any trouble areas you have. I thought it was going to act like more of a girdle but, really it's just a glorified control top underwear. Granted it smoothed out some lines and rolls but, it didn't make me look slimmer at all.

I have friends that LOVE Spanx and wear them as underwear, I can't think of anything more uncomfortable in my life. The Spanx seemed to act as control top on my belly (and didn't control anything) but, suffocated my legs and didn't hide my belly. I went without the Spanx with my dress and sucked it in, which ended up working just fine because luckily for the most part I was sitting at a dinner table lol. Suffice to say, I don't agree with my friends love of this product. I really don't think it's worth the $35 it often retails at in most stores.I think you could probably get the same smoothing quality in a regular control top pantyhose.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
7
Post a Comment
December 13, 2011
Can't this be worn by runners to keep warm in the cold days?
December 15, 2011
That's a great question! I don't see why not but, I don't know how comfortable anybody would be running in them, they're pretty tight. I'll have to ask some of my running friends and get an answer for you.
 
December 13, 2011
as with Dev's mascara review, I can only rate and not comment LOL!!
December 15, 2011
Oh riiigghtttt.....lol Thanks for the rating and comment!
 
December 13, 2011
Good review. I will l let my wife know to be careful with these!
December 15, 2011
Thanks! And let her know to use these for a smoother look rather than a kind of girdle or hardworking control top.
 
1
More Spanx reviews
review by . December 08, 2008
is it weird that, as a 20-something, i'm reviewing what basically amounts to control-top shapewear? i feel like that territory should be reserved for my mom or grandma! but somehow spanx has made it (somewhat) hip and ok to wear shapewear - and to not be ashamed of it. i prefer it for those occasions when you just can't QUITE find the right undergarments to make that clingy dress look perfect. although i do have friends who wear it under basics like jeans, as well. see - nothing to be ashamed of! …
review by . November 14, 2008
SPANX
I've long been searching for a means     To improve the way I look in jeans.     Then I found a Spanx that binds us,     Shapes and smoothes what is behind us.     So here am I all sleek and svelte,     But such sore feet I've never felt!     For while this may be what I fit in,     It's not something I can sit in.     - Gail Cooke
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #8
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by djevoke
About this topic

Wiki

SPANX, Inc. is a U.S. company which mainly manufactures footless pantyhose and other undergarments for women, particularly "body shaping" undergarments designed to give the wearer a slim and shapely appearance. The company's products are supposedly marketed to fit contemporary female lifestyles and fashion trends. They have been endorsed by celebrities, like Oprah Winfrey.

About 5.4 million SPANX power panties have been sold since the year 2000, and the global retail sales for SPANX products are estimated at $350 million for 2008.

source: Wikipedia

view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Sizing Is Off"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Culture of Cute is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists