Culture of Cute
Culture of Cute
Dedicated to all things fashionable
HauteLook

A website for private fashion sales

< read all 4 reviews

Suspenseful e-Sample Sales for To-Die-For Designer Goods.

  • Nov 22, 2009
Rating:
+4
After reading @RobynB's review of HauteLook in May, I signed up ASAP.  Designer goods?  With deep discounts?  And good customer service?  I am in!  Every couple of days or so after I signed up, I would receive an email informing me of sales that were going on and of sales that would soon open up.  They've got everything from lower end goods like Juicy Couture, American Apparel, and Coach to higher end goods like Rolex, Chanel and Cartier.  They've even have baby clothes, skin care goods, and frou frou food items like tea and coffee, etc, from time to time, and this isn't just for the ladies, they've got mens stuff, too!

Even though I had been a member for several months, it wasn't until just a couple of weeks ago that I finally made my first purchase.  Trust me, I've wanted to buy soooo many things from HauteLook, but the fact that their sales start really early Pacific time (typically 8 AM, so all the East Coast folks have an advantage), and that they had limited quantity of each style and size certainly didn't help.  When an item's hot, it gets snagged FAST. 

There was one particularly tragic event where I had actually set my alarm clock to wake up at 7:45 AM for the Chanel sample sale.  Totally a sale worth waking up for.  By the time I finally got up and set up on my laptop at maybe 8:10 AM or so, all of the 50% off Chanel handbags were already "On Hold", meaning that they were in other shopper's e-shopping cart.  I waited around on the site for a bit to see if anything would free up since each item can only be kept in the cart for up to 15 minutes, but instead of freeing up, they were just labeled "Sold Out" within the hour.  ARRRRR.  If this were a sale in an actual showroom, you best believe that that scene would be akin to the first ten minutes of Saving Private Ryan.

Despite that traumatic experience, I continued to truck on and check in on their sales once in a while.  A couple of weeks ago, I finally made my first purchase of the much talked about Shu Uemura cosmetic products.  Since I had never tried Shu Uemura before, I would've never paid retail for it not knowing whether I liked it or not, so it was great to be able to get these at a major discount to see whether I liked it or not.  The next day, I snagged some American Apparel clothing (I know, I'm on a HauteLook roll!).

The HauteLook shipping process is a bit of a long one.  Nothing is actually at their warehouse.  What happens when an order is placed with them is that they then place an order with their partner, that partner ships to them, and once it's at their warehouse, they ship it to the customer.  Even though I placed the my American Apparel order a day after my Shu Uemura order, it arrived first nine days after being ordered.  I've yet to even get a shipping notice on my Shu Uemura order, but they say it could take up to three weeks.  By the way, my order was packaged nicely with tissue and a neat little HauteLook sticker and it arrived came in a sturdy box.  An vast improvement from @RobynB's review!

If you're looking to snag some majorly discounted designer goods, and you've got the time to wait around for the sales, I highly recommend joining HauteLook to look way chic for cheap[er]! :)

Edited to add: So my Shu Uemura goods arrived!  Loved everything, and it even came with a card with a private link to Shu Uemura's site with even more perks, like free shipping and handling and some samples.  I also discovered that I have a referral code, so if you use my special link to sign up and buy something, I get $10 after your first purchase ;)  I'm a happy camper! :)
Suspenseful e-Sample Sales for To-Die-For Designer Goods.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
25
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
February 07, 2012
Interesting for shoppers !
February 07, 2012
T'is!
 
February 02, 2010
This sounds like a good deal and shopping experience.
February 02, 2010
Thanks for your comment, Harold. It sure is! I just bought six cosmetic products the other week that would normally run for nearly $20 a piece, but I only paid a grand total of $22, shipping and tax included!
 
December 05, 2009
Great find. it is horribly frustrating to look around this site. My friend's ex-GF works with the company but I'm not sure if she still does. Christmas is indeed coming...
December 07, 2009
Yeah, it is a bit frustrating to get around, as well as shop there, but if I snag a really great deal, it'll all be worth it! :)
 
December 05, 2009
Christmas is coming...I guess I need to have a look...
December 07, 2009
Totally worth a look. I must warn you though, they ship slow!
 
December 02, 2009
This is my hidden secret. I'm on here like clockwork everyday. Be sure to sign up to receive their emails so you can be alerted about the sales.
December 03, 2009
I do get their email alerts, but I rarely ever make it fast enough to catch their deals! I don't have time to sit at my computer like clockwork. My way of shopping there is if I can get the deal, then great, but if I can't, then I'm not going to waste my time on there. My time is valuable! :)
 
November 29, 2009
My dear, it's just not worth going through all the trouble of these online shopping! I canceled my order for Dell netbook & got myself a Toshiba one instead from the shop. 15 days waiting period is not even the deal breaker. The deal breaker is going around the world with their outsourced customer service! I can imagine what it'll be like if I've problem with the computer later! You've never tried a Shu Uemura product? Oh my...
December 03, 2009
I haven't had any problems with my purchases so far. Thank goodness these sites only sell designer goods and rarely ever sell electronics! :P I finally tried Shu Uemura products and I love them! :)
December 03, 2009
What did you buy? I love the cleansing oil, translucent powder, lipstick and nail polish!
December 03, 2009
Oooooh, I picked up some of that cleansing oil, their mini eyelash curler, Depwater spray and eyeshadow! Loving them all so far. I might just write a review after I tested them out longer :)
 
November 23, 2009
Wow...you take shopping to a new level! :)
November 23, 2009
:D
 
1
More HauteLook.com reviews
review by . September 11, 2010
   http://www.Hautelook.com---This is a very frustrating site to order from. Their numbers are very limited and you constantly get  "on hold" when you try to put something in your basket. It tells you that you can come back in 15 minutes to see if the item is available, but I've never been able to get anything once it's "on hold".      Another issue is the shipping and handling charges. When I buy more than $50 worth of product, free …
Quick Tip by . January 13, 2010
Holy my gosh, did I really pay just $22 for six Urban Decay products? S&H & tax included? Thank you, HauteLook! :)
review by . May 05, 2009
HauteLook Package
I recently became a member of HauteLook.com. I decided to check out the BCBG Maxazria Sample Sale and purchased a white dress online. I think sometime at the beginning of April or March. Can't remember. My order was shipped April 29th. I received the package today (6 days later). Not bad. Thing is. It was shipped in the most rattiest packaging. No idea at what point on the journey was it man handled but thank goodness my dress was all pretty and wrapped in plastic inside!    Don't …
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #2
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Los Angeles based this website brings the sample sale to the Internet. They bring Designer specific sales 1 - 3 times a week. Sales usually last 48 hours. The site offers more contemporary fashions.

Wiki

"HauteLook is a private club which organizes exclusive 48 - 72 hour on-line private sales for its members. Held only for the top designer brands in the fashion industry, HauteLook provides an exclusive platform where these brands can reach their customers directly. As a result, HauteLook members are able to receive discounts of up to 75% off of retail prices on the latest fashion merchandise from the comfort of their home or office."
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Culture of Cute is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists