Danele
A Lunch Community
FML

Funny and sometims sad misfortunes of random people.

< read all 3 reviews

Should I laugh at other people?

  • Apr 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
"FML:  F My Life.

LOL.  I read FML every single day.

Some of the stories are just hilarious.  But, just like laughing at someone falling off their bike, there's a bit of guilt involved.  Hey, if it's on the Internet, then it's OK to laugh at people.  Just don't laugh at people in real life.

FML follows the same format as Twitter.  You get about 140 characters to say your FML.  It always starts out at "Today," and ends with "FML".

For example, "Today, I received my passport in the mail. They got my birthdate wrong. Then I picked up my birth certificate that I had sent in with the application. Turns out my parents have been celebrating my birthday on the wrong day for 16 years. FML".

You can submit your own FMLs.  Anonymously, you can also vote up an FML by saying "I agree, your life is f***ed" or vote down an FML by saying "You deserved that one."

In either case, the worst FMLs are in some cases, the best FMLs.

I really cannot wait to read someone say, "Today, I found out I was reviewed on Lunch.com.  I'm a negative 5."

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 29, 2009
I love FML.  No guilt!  I also love TextsFromLastNight, which I discovered from @fashionista3's review of it.

When you become a public figure, I'll make sure to add you as a data point, and then rate you a -5, just so that I see, "Today, I found out I was reviewed on Lunch.com.  I'm a negative 5.  FML." ;D
 
May 29, 2009
I looked this up and some of it is pretty funny stuff. Like QueenB says, I'll do my part too!
 
May 29, 2009
I'll do my part.=)
 
April 16, 2009
I read your review about this site I've never heard of and just spent way too much time reading the posts, they are hilarious and sometimes sadly funny - but so addicting I had to drag myself out of there! You should include an 'addictive' disclaimer in your review ;) Some wiki info would be helpful.
April 16, 2009
:) I thought that "I read FML every single day" would be a disclaimer enough. I'll definitely update the Wiki on this one. It's one of my favorite sites to date.
 
1
More Fmylife - FML : Your everyday ... reviews
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2009
This site is too entertaining! I almost feel guilty for laughing and feeling better about myself by reading about the misfortunes of others.
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

"A recollection of everyday anecdotes likely to happen to anyone."

The site is the English version of the creators' original website in French, VieDeMerde.fr, which translates to "shitty life." VDM became one of France's top ten sites since it was launched in Jan. 2008. Anybody who visits the site can decide if the writer of each anecdote has a "f'ed life" or if they deserved it. Members can submit stories and leave comments.

In March 2009, FML announced that it secured a book deal.  Publish date is yet to be set.
view wiki

Tags

Humor, Fun, Web Sites
Polls with this website
Best of Craigslist

Fun Websites!!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Danele is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists