Contact Sports
A Lunch Community

Floyd Mayweather Wins Close Majority Decision Over Canelo Alvarez in Las Vegas

1 rating: 4.0
The Champ Retains His Perfect Record By A Slim Margin
1 review about Floyd Mayweather Wins Close Majority Decision...

Mayweather Retains His Perfect Record By A Slim Margin

  • Sep 15, 2013
Rating:
+4
The date finally arrived. Floyd Mayweather (44-0) stepped into the ring against Canello Alvarez (42-0-1)who is 13 years his junior at 23 years of age. The fight result was as expected; however, Judge Ross rated the contest a draw at 114-114. The audience could see the surprise on Mayweather's face when the majority decision was announced awarding him the win and the designation as Super-Welterweight Champion of the World. The house was packed with fans like Jack Nicholson and Justin Bieber in attendance.

Rounds 1,2 and 10 went to Alvarez on this writer's card. Rounds 4,6 and 8 were about even.
Rounds 3,5,7,9  went to Mayweather with some rounds like Round 3 by a wider margin. Throughout most of the fight, Alvarez was frustrated and unable to penetrate Mayweather's marvelous defense. On occasion, Mayweather would throw a jab and Alvarez's head would snap backward. This happened most prominently in Round 3 and again later on.

The contest was hard for the judges to decide because many exchanges occurred on the ropes and in the corners where the judges have blind spots. For this reason, Mayweather did not get a unanimous decision. For most of the fight Mayweather was tense because Alvarez was hard to hit too. This contest turned out to be a close duel which Mayweather won by the slimmest of margins, although the ringside commentators had the decision firmly in Mayweather's corner.

To prevail against Mayweather, Alvarez must throw more jabs which land on the body rather than just
brush , slide off the body or slap the torso. The overall problem for Alvarez is that Mayweather's defense is just too hard to penetrate. Like Ali or Sugar Ray, Mayweather is comfortable fending off attacks on the
ropes. This asset can be a huge liability in evaluating Mayweather's counter-punches which are unseen (apparently) by the judges.

Lastly, Alvarez may need to do more running, as well as work on his timing. It will be tough to find sparring partners who can simulate Mayweather's skill in fending off attacks. Eventually, Mayweather
will have to retire. Then, Alvarez will be older and better prepared to take the top designation. For now,
Mayweather is still the undefeated champ and will remain so for as long as he continues to train hard!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
September 17, 2013
Slim indeed
September 18, 2013
Fighting on the ropes has its downzide as both fighters found out.
September 19, 2013
Mayweather looked stunned when the majority decision was announced. Don't look stunned, Floyd. You spent a lot of time fighting on the ropes and in the corners (like Ali or even Sugar Ray). The judges can't see through the other fighter to determine where the blows landed. Every fighter is best fighting in the middle of the ring. The same is true for Canelo. In addition, his timing was off. That's why he lost more rounds than Mayweather and ultimately lost the fight. Many fighters look stunned when they lose a fight that they thought was won. Very often, fights are lost because the judges simply cannot see the punches or where they land. Canelo still has a lot to learn on timing to win against Mayweather.
September 19, 2013
This fight was a highly technical fight. Punches were thrown carefully by both fighters. Your comments suggest that I believed that Canelo won the fight. I know that he did not; however, from my vantagepoint- they both fought too much on the ropes. When fighters spend too much time on the ropes-their punches won't be seen by all of the judges. I actually saw the fight, as well as the undercard where Garcia closed the eye of the other fighter. Garcia's fight actually had more punches than the Mayweather fight. In fact, there's talk of upgrading Garcia in weight to fight Mayweather at some future time. We'll see how that talk goes. Another possibility is to have Pacquiao fight Mayweather. Really, I don't see anyone else around to fight Mayweather right now. I think that the Ross call was possible because a judge can't score a punch with the fighter's back to him/her. That's why there is more than just one judge. I regret that there weren't 5 judges for the Mayweather contest instead of the 3 present. Mayweather won the fight on defense because many of Canello's punches brushed off the body. Aside from Judge Ross, the other judges had Mayweather ahead by 4 points and 6 points respectively. For a 12 round fight, that small point advantage of the other judges doesn't make common sense with the punch count 232-117 you cited above. At bar is the effectiveness of the punches and not the numerical count alone.
September 20, 2013
I saw the fight on TV. My opinion is that Mayweather fought a fight with a tight defense. He took few chances. Let me answer the slim margin comment. The judge spreads were: o even o Mayweather by 4 points o Mayweather by 6 points. That's a close fight. At no time was Canello in trouble during the fight. I recall that Paul Malignaggi was at ringside and he scored the fight within the judges' margins. The problem here is that the judges are limited to scoring a fight according to very strict rules. They cannot score blows that they did not see. Mayweather won the fight but he took few chances and that is reflected in the score. In addition, he threw many punches while near the ropes or the corners. That's the heart of the matter. I know that the fans were emotional. Both national anthems were sung i.e. Mexico and USA Jack Nicholson was in attendance, as was Justin Bieber in dark glasses. I think that is a hell of a lot of detail for someone who did not watch the fight!
September 20, 2013
If I may fellas. I said slim indeed referring 2 the majority decision he received due to Ross [I think is who it was]. Yes Floyd "must point & afraid of Pac" Mayweather won but I do think he lost more than one round. That is just me but he did win that fight and it should have been unanimous. But I said slim because you never know with these judges, just look at that "draw" score.
September 21, 2013
You are not the only one. I spoke to someone today that thought Mayweather lost the 1st, 2nd, 6th and 8th rounds for sure. In addition, the person thought that Canelo hit Mayweather over 30 times in the arm in the 6th round in order to force him to drop his arm and expose his body. There are two ways that Canelo can beat Mayweather. Way 1 is to break his arms and force him to become exposed for a knockout. The other way is for Canelo to improve his timing which admittedly needs a lot of work. Pacquiao is better at timing than Canello; however, his loss to Marquez by knockout doesn't bode well for Pacquiao to beat Mayweather. Also, didn't Mayweather beat Marquez? Right now either Garcia or Bradley look like good challengers for Mayweather and Bradley needs to first win his next fight before even considering Mayweather. Bradley is a heavy hitter; however, his timing just isn't in the same league as Mayweather. In addition, I don't see Moseley or Juda beating Mayweather at this point. I guess at some future time Mayweather could fight Bradley, Garcia, Pacquiao and Marquez. Garcia would have similar issues to Canello due to lack of experience in the ring when compared to Mayweather. The next few years should be very interesting. .
September 21, 2013
That could be a good fight. i.e. Canelo v. Bradley The question right now is who will fight Mayweather next?
September 22, 2013
Bradley will be next in all likelihood. Garcia isn't ready yet and Pacquiao lost to Marquez.
 
1
What's your opinion on Floyd Mayweather Wins Close Majority Dec...?
rate
1 rating: +4.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Floyd Mayweather Wins Close Majority Decision Over Canelo Alvarez in Las Vegas
Details
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Contact Sports is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists