EcoFabulous
EcoFabulous
sexy.sustainable.style
Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream

Dairy-free, gluten-free non-dairy frozen dessert.

< read all 5 reviews

Coconut milk ice cream so good that I don't even eat regular ice cream anymore!

  • Feb 4, 2010
Rating:
+5
I have a serious addiction. Not to alcohol or cigarettes... my vice is coconut milk ice cream. In my search to find a great-tasting non-dairy ice cream for my daughters, I tried every rice milk ice cream flavor ever made. None satisfied and all had a distinct rice-y taste.

Then I found Purely Decadent Coconut Milk ice cream. Oh... my... yumness. So creamy, so delicious. My favorite flavors are Vanilla Bean and Mint Chip. I am sure I would love the Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl but with a nut-allergic daughter in the house, I don't get to indulge in that one. It's okay though, because I have always been a Vanilla girl.

I recommend letting the ice cream sit in your bowl for a little bit after taking it out of the freezer. When it softens a little it gets creamier. Even my Haagen Dasz husband asks me for a bite of my ice cream, to which I endearingly say, "no way buddy."  My girls (ages 5 and 3) love it too, especially on gluten-free cones or with chocolate sauce.

Want to know my secret topping to put on your vanilla ice cream? Maple syrup! Only pure, of course. I can't take credit for this one, as it is my dad's invention, but the combo of the coconut milk ice cream and a little bit of the maple syrup is amazing.

Did I mention that all flavors, including Cookie Dough are gluten-free? Many gluten-sensitive people are also sensitive to dairy, so this is a great ice cream for those avoiding both. Since I have been eating the non-dairy ice cream instead of traditional ice cream, I am not stuffed up at night. I breathe through my nose instead of my mouth, giving me a better's night's sleep (and better breath!) Also, for those sensitive to soy (like me), most flavors are soy-free (Cookie Dough and Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl contain soybean oil).

It tastes great and makes you feel good -- what more could you ask for in an ice cream?

Look for it in Whole Foods Market and other natural foods stores.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
September 10, 2010
This is so amazing!! I have only tried the coconut flavor though because I love it too much to switch:) Way batter than regular ice cream!
 
February 05, 2010
That combo of coconut milk ice cream and pure maple syrup sounds AMAZING! Fantastic tip, thx! I love to cook with coconut milk (often use it to make jasmine rice), so this sounds right up my alley. Still has a decent amount of sugar in it though, which I try to keep out of my 3 year old's diet - but not too bad, especially for an occasional treat.
February 05, 2010
It is impressive though that a serving is 1/2 a cup, Ben and Jerry's and Haagen-Daz is usually a measly 1/4!
February 05, 2010
great point!
 
February 04, 2010
This isn't a bad vice to have! ;)  And that's amazing that all of the flavors are gluten free.  Since you like coconut ice cream, you'll probably like Vita Coco Natural Coconut Water, too.  @MelissaAq wrote an awesome review about it.  Thanks for sharing, Ali, I'll have to look out for this since I love coconut! :)
 
February 04, 2010
I can't eat soy, so this is great for me! Most other non-dairy ice creams contain soy.
February 04, 2010
Just a little tip... if you press the "Reply" button at the bottom of comments, you can reply directly to the comment and start a thread. Plus, the user who you are replying to will get an email notification of it ;)
 
February 04, 2010
Wow, I have to find this stuff. I stopped eating dairy ice cream a while ago and don't have any desire for it anymore. It gives me a stomach ache. I've been eating the Mango Vanilla Soy Creamy from Trader Joe's but I think it is time for something new (plus it looks like these ingredients are better)! Thanks for the great review! :)
 
February 04, 2010
Whole Foods carries it, or check a natural foods store. I haven't seen it in any mainstream grocery stores.
 
February 04, 2010
Coconut ice cream is my very favorite. I MUST know where to buy this!
 
1
More Purely Decadent Coconut Milk I... reviews
review by . March 01, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
Turtle Mountain's Coconut Ice Cream Line is Purely Decadent
I had already been a long-time fan of Turtle Mountain's other ice cream products, Purely Decadent, So Delicious and Soy Delicious, when they unveiled their Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream. I already enjoy the flavor of coconut ice cream, but I still wondered how it would stack up and compare to their soy-based line. After all, this ice cream comes in more than just the basic coconut or vanilla, so it definitely needed a taste test or two.      So far, I have …
review by . March 06, 2010
posted in Vegan Living
I hope you like the taste of coconut...
        I’m a vegan that enjoys something sweet from time to time, so when I first tried Turtle Mountain’s soy-based ice cream over a year ago, it was love at first bite (or should I say pint…). However, since then, I have made the decision to consume less soy because of conflicting arguments over the dangers and benefits of soy. (It seems my list of acceptable foods becomes shorter every week.) There are several alternatives to soy when it comes …
review by . February 04, 2010
Purely Decadent, Positively Delicious!
Purely Decadent coconut milk ice cream is so rich and creamy, it reminds me of the gelato I enjoyed on childhood vacations to Italy. People who are vegan, lactose intolerant, or just looking for a healthier alternative to dairy products, will find themselves falling in love with ice cream all over again. The range of flavors is enticing: Cherry Amaretto, Chocolate, Chocolate Brownie Almond, Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl, Coconut, Cookie Dough (gluten-free, too!), Mint Chip, Mocha Almond Fudge, …
Quick Tip by . February 04, 2010
Best dairy-free ice cream on earth!
About the reviewer
Alison St. Sure ()
I have been living gluten-free since 2002. All of my family is gluten-free and one daughter has severe food allergies. I write a blog SureFoodsLiving.com where I offer practical advice about living with … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
GlutenFreeAli
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

  • Dairy Free/Lactose Free
  • Sweetened with Agave
  • Gluten Free
  • Contains no soy protein
  • Cholesterol Free
  • No Trans Fats
  • Certified Vegan
  • Certified Made with Organic Ingredients
view wiki

Details

Type: Dairy-free/soy-free
Size: Pint
Flavor(s): Chocolate, Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl, Coconut, Cookie Dough, Mint Chip, Mocha Almond Fudge, Passionate Manga, Vanilla Beans
Vendor: Several grocery stores
Polls with this food
479° Popcorn

Rate these Yummy, Green Foods!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
EcoFabulous is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists