EcoFabulous
EcoFabulous
sexy.sustainable.style
Vosges Mo's Bacon Bar

A chocolate bar by Vosges that incorporates milk chocolate, bacon, and salt

< read all 2 reviews

A chocolate-bacon bar can't go wrong, right? Right?

  • Dec 18, 2008
  • by
Rating:
-1

For years, I lived with the understanding that "Bacon makes everything better." Need to make that bland turkey sandwich more exciting? Bacon! What about this otherwise non-fattening but boring romaine salad? Bacon! Seasonal affective disorder? Bacon!

Unfortunately, this once-reassuring assumption came to an end when I tried Mo's Bacon Bar, from gourmet chocolatier Vosges. This $6 chocolate bar consists of milk chocolate (41% cacao), mixed with smoked salt and bits of applewood smoked bacon.

It sounds so potentially good, and yet, I gotta be honest: I kind of hated it. Here's why:

*The smooth, creamy texture of the milk chocolate in contrast to the hard, leathery chew of bacon was difficult to work with.

*The saltiness of the bacon and smoked salt (what is that?) was a bit too abrasive against the mellowness of the chocolate.

*The fattier pieces of the salty bacon with the milk chocolate made me feel sick. In this case, the animal fat against milk product just drew attention to the fact that I was eating two kinds of fat.

I'm a fairly adventurous eater, and even I could not deal. I'm not against the idea that somewhere out there might just be the perfect chocolate-and-bacon candy bar, but this one isn't it.

That being said, I wonder what other people think about it. Has anyone else tried it?


Vosges Mo's Bacon Bar

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
19
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
September 28, 2009
I've never heard of such combination! But it seems quite popular here @Lunch.com. I am very curious! I wish I could try it over here...
 
April 09, 2009
Haha, I agree. I have not tried the bar, but the whole bacon phenom has DEF gone way too far. Keep the meats where they belong.
April 11, 2009
Seriously. Though on the other hand, there are these gingerbread cookies made with bacon fat. Believe it or not, it's a Cathy Horyn (fashion scribe for NY Times) recipe!
 
April 03, 2009
I think the Mo's Bacon Bar is now going for a whopping $7. I had a friend give me a mini-bar after we saw a chef dipping a whole strip of bacon in chocolate. At the time we were thinking -- YUM! It is true bacon makes everything better. And applewood smoked slab bacon ... !!! [insert Homer Simpson drooling sound here]. We were kind of scared to try it. We nibbled the corners, Charlie Bucket style from Charlie and Chocolate factory. But this is chocolate that is meant to be savored. The addition of the salt makes it better. I am a sucker for the caramel + sea salt combination. ...why aren't more chocolatiers doing this? But you're right -- it is only okay. But it's funny bacon + chocolate. Vosges has chocolate pig version of the bar. Have you tried the other Vosges exotic bars? ... Like the Black Pearl= chocolate + wasabi + ginger! Yikes! That is truly culinary adventurous.
April 03, 2009
I have tried other Vosges bars. The Woolloomooloo (thanks, cut'n'paste!) is pretty good, and so is the Barcelona. I haven't written off all chocolate-bacon combinations, and am open to suggestions!
April 03, 2009
Oh yikes, I'm a sucker for salted caramel (even in ice cream)!
April 03, 2009
oooh ... Salt Caramels sound so delicious. I will have to give that a try ... and in ice cream that sounds even more amazing! yum!
 
December 18, 2008
Yeah, this was kind of sad. I thought, "How does this go wrong?" And yet, it did.
 
1
More Vosges Mo's Bacon Bar reviews
review by . April 18, 2009
Mike Truffle
I've seen it done on the food network before and have always been curious: What do bacon and chocolate taste like when combined? Well just the other day I had the chance to find out. I didn't actually get to try this particular bar, but rather one of my co-workers bought me a box of six gourmet chocolates for my birthday from a chocolate shop here in Cleveland's trendy little neighborhood, Tremont. The shop, Lilly Handmade Chocolates, offers a wide array of unique and delectable chocolatey confections …
About the reviewer
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
BLT
rate more to improve this
About this product
Polls with this product
479° Popcorn

Rate these Yummy, Green Foods!

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
EcoFabulous is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists