Everything Martial Arts
A Lunch Community
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon DVD

A 2000 drama and martial arts film directed by Ang Lee.

< read all 28 reviews

The Most Overrated Movie Ever!

  • Mar 23, 2009
Rating:
+2
How could this movie make so many peoples' top 10 lists? The plot was ridiculous. The fight scenes were no big deal (generally any low budget Chinese Kung Fu movie has similar scenes. What was with all the flying? And the 70 year old woman who reads a manual and becomes an awesome Kung Fu master?

The beginning of the movie introduces a sword that is very old (I think about 400 years) that gets stolen. It then turns out that nobody really cares about the sword.

It then turns out that an aristocratic young woman (who also read a manual and became and awesome Kung Fu master) stole the sword. Why? It is never really explained. She also had an affair with a guy in the desert who leads a band of rebels. The scene where they meet involves him attacking her caravan and stealing her fan. She chases after him on horseback. There are some horse riding tricks performed as the two battle on their horses (something like Indiana Jones did in Raiders of the Lost Ark).

The fight scenes are an insult to anyone that has studied martial arts. One person can take on hundreds and never get tired. (the director needs to see any Jean Claude Van Damme film to see what exciting fighting looks like) And then they fly and float in the air like Mary Martin in Peter Pan. There is also a scene where the old woman shoots poisonous needles through a Gatling gun type device and the needles are blocked by the heroes swinging their swords.

This movie is two hours long and the plot just didn't ever make sense. The ending was ridiculous too (I don't want to give it a way but it is an artsy type that makes you shake your head).

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
August 31, 2009
I have to disagree.  I thought much of what you disliked about the movie were some of its strengths.  It was a pretty good fantasy.  Movies like Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon don't often actually have so much grounded in reality.  The movie itself is actually based off a fairy tale.  It wasn't meant to be this sprawling realistic film.  This is why characters fly, because it's just as much a fantasy as it is a drama.  Warriors taking on many fighters at once... these are things that make up the fantasy.  For me that's what I sort of liked about the film, was all these fantasy elements thrown in there.  They never forgot about the sword throughout the entire film.  It remains the focal point for the entire film.  It's a legendary sword.  But the story seems to focus more so on getting the character who steals the sword to do the right thing, not so much about getting the sword back.  It's one of those artsy movies where the story is there to give people a lesson more so than anything.

Of course, all of those reasons are also reasons people don't like the film.
August 31, 2009
Sean, I wrote that review when the film first came out. I am no longer bothered by the flying. I do think that the plot was very weak though. I feel that some of the similar films that came out after were better (ex. Hero, House of the Flying Daggers). Also when the film came out it reminded me of a higher budget version of some of the bad kung fu movies that used to air weekly.
August 31, 2009
Yeah, I can agree with you there.  Well, I didn't think the plot was weak, but I do think there are better movies.  I haven't seen Hero yet, but House of Flying Daggers was pretty good.  I gotta check out hero sometime.
 
1
More Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon reviews
Quick Tip by . November 10, 2010
Frankly, I didn't enjoy this one as much particularly since I'm not a fan of Chow Yun-Fat. I remembered it as being too long and I don't even remember what the entire show is all about anymore!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
What amounts largely to what I'm told as an Asian Fairy Tale with it's wire work and legends in a movie. Chow Yun Fat is awesome as is Michelle Yeoh in this story of a powerful sword taken by a young woman who gains power from it.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This film has visually stunning fight scenes and set design.
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
I respect the fact that it opened America's doors to Chinese Wuxia, but NOT the best wuxia out there
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
Overrated and over long. I love martial arts movies, but this was just too melodramatic and predictable for me.
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
I pretty much grew up on Chinese martial arts flicks. I've seen better.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Chinese Oscar winner for best foreign film serves well as intro for uninitiated but may leave old fans wanting more.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
An amazing special effects movie built around a warm story.
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
About the reviewer

Ranked #3
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is a Chinese-language film in the wuxia martial arts style, released in 2000. A China-Hong Kong-Taiwan-United States co-production, the film was directed by Ang Lee and featured an international cast of ethnic Chinese actors, including Chow Yun-fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi and Chang Chen. The movie was based on the fourth novel in a pentalogy, known in China as the Crane-Iron Pentalogy, by wuxia novelist Wang Dulu. The martial arts and action sequences were choreographed by Yuen Wo Ping, well known for his work in The Matrix and other films.

Made on a mere US$17 million budget, with dialogue in Mandarin, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon became a surprise international success. After its US premiere at the Hawaii International Film Festival, it grossed US$128 million in the United States alone, becoming the highest-grossing foreign-language film in American history. It has won over 40 awards. The film won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film (Taiwan) and three other Academy Awards, and was nominated for six other Academy Awards, including Best Picture. The film also won three BAFTAs and two Golden Globes, one for "Best Foreign Film" as well as additional nominations for ten BAFTAs including "Best Picture".
view wiki

Details

Director: Ang Lee
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: December 15, 2000
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 5, 2001
Runtime: 120 minutes
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Everything Martial Arts is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists