Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...

The Chronicles of Prydain

8 Ratings: 4.8
Lloyd Alexander's five-part fantasy/adventure series for young adults published between 1964-1968.

The Chronicles of Prydain (sometimes given as The Prydain Chronicles) is a five-volume series of children's fantasy novels by author Lloyd Alexander. First published from 1964–1968, the stories detail the adventures of a young man named Taran, … see full wiki

Author: Lloyd Alexander
Genre: Fantasy, Epic Adventure
Publisher: Henry Holt, Dell Pub. Co
Date Published: 1964-1968
2 reviews about The Chronicles of Prydain
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2011
Absolutely one of my favorite fantasy series (and probably in my top five fantasy series alongside the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Lewis Carroll, and J.K. Rowling), Lloyd Alexander's The Chronicles of Prydain is a wonderful quintet of books that detail the adventures of Taran and his allies.   The books were published one each year from 1964-1968 and were inspired in part by the epic fantasies of Tolkien and Lewis, but also in part by the Welsh and Celtic mythology found in …
Quick Tip by . September 10, 2010
These enchanted me in grade school. I read them alongside "The Hobbit" and found them much more engaging than the Narnia series, and a great preparation for medieval literature and Tolkien's trilogy. Similar to Tolkien, Alexander grounded his works in a "real" terrain, this time the Welsh peninsula, and his stories explore Celtic themes with a rich depth and a strong grasp on landscape as well as character. There's humor, love, and maturity, suitable for young people moving up from childhood to …
What's your opinion on The Chronicles of Prydain?
8 Ratings: +4.8
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
1990s edition, unknown illustrator

Published in 1964, this is the first book in Lloyd Alexander

2006 edition, art by David Wyatt

Published in 1965, this is the second book in Lloyd Alexande

1990s edition, unknown illustrator

Published in 1966, this is the third book in Lloyd Alexander

1990s edition, unknown illustrator

Published in 1967, this is the fourth book in Lloyd Alexande

Source: The Chronicles of Prydain on
© 2015, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since