Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...

The Hobbit (novel)

384 Ratings: 3.6
J.R.R. Tolkien's classic 1937 fantasy novel that introduced readers to the mythical land of Middle-earth.

J.R.R. Tolkien's classic 1937 children's fantasy about a hobbit, a wizard and a group of dwarves who go on an epic quest for stolen treasure and of his misadventures.      The Hobbit, or There and Back Again, better known … see full wiki

Author: John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (J.R.R. Tolkien)
Genre: Fantasy, Classic Literature, Epic Adventure, Children's Literature
Publisher: Allen & Unwin, Houghton Mifflin, Ballantine Books
Date Published: 1937
60 reviews about The Hobbit (novel)
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
excellent. I love this book I have read it at least 3 times and want to read it many more times
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Love this book!
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Much better than the movie versions
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
I am not a huge fan of this book -- I like the Lord of The rings much better - alhtough this does give us insight of the story that continues in the RINGS
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
A great adventure story!
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
what's in my pocket
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
A Classic for all time and one of the very best.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
I love THe Hobbit
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
awesome, well written, engaging story
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
How somebody could create just not a few books, but a whole world and make it so beleibable.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
I have loved the Hobbit ever since I was a little kid--my only problem with it is every time I try to read LOTR I just wind up rereading the Hobbit...I guess I should have started with the trilogy.
Quick Tip by . June 25, 2010
Tolkien's fascinating fantasy prequel to The Lord of the Rings trilogy in which Bilbo meets Gollum and ultimately retires. An absolute MUST read for lovers of classic fantasy!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Classic! Great characters, an intriguing setting, a steady plot, and good principles driving it all combine to give this book the wonderful reputation it deserves.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Such a classic. Must read!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
This is a wonderful fantasy book, but Tolkien is a bit slow and heavy for me. His themes bubbling beneath the surface are excellent and keep even the most abstract and intellectual thinkers engaged.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A story that I read over and over.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
I have the book and a comic book version of it. I loved it
review by . June 23, 2010
The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein
    This story starts in The Shire. The Shire is where hobbits, small people that are also called halflings live. Bilbo Baggins owned a hobbit-hole, kind of like a hotel. He lived alone, except for the occasional customer. He had a friend, Gandalf, who was wizard. One day, Gandalf came to his hobbit hole. After a few minutes, dwarves started coming in sets of two or three. Eleven dwarves came altogether, and then Thorin, the leader started to talk.        They …
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
An awesome classic book.
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
totally cool
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
I loved this book!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
No reader's life is complete without reading the Hobbit.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Best introduction to Tolkien's work. This is true whether you are 8 or 80.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I liked this better than the Lord of the Rings novels.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Good prequil...like LOTR better though
Prev 1 2 3 Next
What's your opinion on The Hobbit (novel)?
rate
384 Ratings: +3.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
The Lord of the Rings (novel)

J.R.R. Tolkien's classic, epic fantasy sequel to "The Hobbit

The Fellowship of the Ring

The first volume of J.R.R. Tolkien's epic 3-part fantasy nov

Polls with this book
A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The Best Fantasy Novels

by

Source: The Hobbit (novel) on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists