Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...
Showing 1-1 of 1
Post a Comment
August 08, 2011
It was so sad that Harryhausen had to incorporate so much live action with his stop-mo in the flick. It didn't always blend very well.
August 09, 2011
In same cases yes and others no. I think most of it did in this film except for Pegasus in some scenes and Calibos.
August 16, 2011
At least with Pegasus you knew it was still a horse. With Calibos I was actually confused for a couple of seconds.
August 17, 2011
Yeah, it seemed to me that Calibos worked as a live-action actor and as a stop-motion animated figure, but not both in one scene. The transition in mood was somehow affected.
August 24, 2011
It was jarring to say the least when they tried to do the transition in the middle of a fight scene.
August 24, 2011
Which was funny because in some scenes it worked fine. Just not with Calibos.
August 24, 2011
I think it was because Calibos had that reptilian tail action and so forth going on. It's had to translate that to a live actor.
August 24, 2011
And the lighting wasn't matched as well. Part of the problem was that the reflectivity of the model and of the live-actor's makeup were different and so the lighting didn't carry the continuity.
August 24, 2011
Yeah. There were a lot of problems. What always irked me most though was the motion.
 
1
Topic Photos
Lunch Average Rating: +3.1 (15 ratings)
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists