Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...
A Christmas Carol

Charles Dickens' classic 1843 novella about a greedy old miser named Scrooge discovering the true meaning of Christmas.

< read all 29 reviews

A Quick Tip by Rebecca0630

  • Jun 17, 2010
This is a classic. Great story. I love how he is taken through his life from his past all the way to his future and made to see how awfully greedy he's been, which makes him realize that he's better off being nice.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More A Christmas Carol reviews
review by . December 19, 2009
Portrait of Charles Dickens as a young man.
What is it about Christmas that seems to be so endearing to us? Why is it that this holiday, perhaps more so than any other, has the power to rekindle our fraternal bonds and unite us in communal celebration, altruism, and generosity? Quite honestly, before these questions can be answered, it should be observed that Christmas also has a dark side. While some people are brought together in the spirit of charity and mutual conviviality, others become bitter, selfish, and greedy. As a rule, holidays …
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
Dickens makes us reflect on our own lives and insipres us to make the most of the time we have.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A non-Christian ghost story that is more about the true meaning of Christmas than most Christian texts. Drawing from the yule mythologies far older than the time of Jesus, Dickens creates the true meaning and purpose of the yule spirit. Reread it each year; you'll find something a little different each time.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Charming story!
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
I enjoyed this about as much as I can. I really didn't like it all that much, but I didn't hate it.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
Good book
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
great classic
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
You must read Dicken's, just for the vocabulary. This classic is dated, but has so many positive behaviors that should not be forgotten.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
The story itself is intriguing, its the writing that becomes lengthy at times.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
I never get tired of this one!
About the reviewer
Rebecca ()
Member Since: Jun 16, 2010
Last Login: Jun 26, 2010 01:17 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Rebecca0630
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Details

Author: Charles Dickens
Genre: Drama, Classic Literature, Fantasy
Date Published: Dec. 19, 1843
Format: Novella

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists