Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...
Coraline (novel)

A 2002 young adult fantasy novel written by Neil Gaiman with illustrations by Dave McKean.

< read all 19 reviews

A Quick Tip by trtrot

  • Jun 28, 2010
Charming dark children's novel.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Coraline (novel) reviews
review by . June 14, 2010
Dark Fairy Tale for Children Starring Coraline, not Caroline.
Click here to read the book quotes.      Click here to read the Quick Tip.      "Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten."       --G. K. Chesterton       Coraline is one of the most unique children's books I have read in a long time. It's a quick read but what it lacks in length it makes up with …
Quick Tip by . August 11, 2010
a totally twisted movie the animation and story were so freaking weird i fell in love with it automatically. i read the book after watching the movie and i liked it just as much.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Click here to read the book review.       Click here to read the book quotes.      A rather quirky and unusual children's book. It reminded me of Alice in Wonderland purely because Coraline travels to another "world." It was darker than the children's books I read as a child, but appropriate for a younger audience, especially if they want to read a horror/fantasy genre.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Coraline is really creepy. Sad they made it for children.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
haha i stole this book from my teacher when i was in 5th grade. because i was grounded and figured it would give me something to do. i finished it in less than 3 hours, and immediately made my younger sister read it too. the button eyes, and dark version of reality that coraline goes into every night is just amazing. i think neil gaiman is my favorite visual author because he painted such a good picture in just this book.
Quick Tip by . June 30, 2010
this book is Weird! but kinda cool, in a creepy way
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
creepy. but good
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Cute but creepy book.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Very good!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Haunting. something I will remember for a long time.
About the reviewer
Member Since: Jun 26, 2010
Last Login: Jul 22, 2010 03:33 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
trtrot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Coraline is a fantasy/horror novella by British author Neil Gaiman, published in 2002 by Bloomsbury and Harper Collins. It was awarded the 2003 Hugo Award for Best Novella, the 2003 Nebula Award for Best Novella, and the 2002 Bram Stoker Award for Best Work for Young Readers. It has been compared to Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland because of its surrealism and plot based on an alternate-reality, and has been adapted into a 2009 stop-motion film directed by Henry Selick.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0380977788
ISBN-13: 9780380977789
Author: Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean
Genre: Children's Literature, Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, Light Horror, Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: HarperCollins, Bloomsbury Books
Date Published: 2002
ISBN: 0380977788
Format: Hardcover (first edition)
Polls with this book
A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The Best Fantasy Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists