Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

The fourth book in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series.

< read all 76 reviews

year 4

  • Jun 22, 2010
Rating:
+5

I felt many emotions as I read this book, from excitement, to sadness. It was very upsetting when Cedric Diggery died, but the whole competition was very exciting.
I would recommend anyone who can read to read this book because it is a great story, and it is just one in many books about Harry Potter. Anyone who loves adventure and wizards and sorcery would love this book.
Set in the School called Hogwarts, Harry encounters the evil Wizard Lord Voldemort once again, this time in person and Voldemort is alive and has his own body. Imagine Harry's fear as he watched the dark lord come to life.  He faces his own bravery as he fights his way through the competition for the Goblet of Fire. Readers, we will cast a giant invisibility cloak over any more plot and reveal only that You-Know-Who is very much after Harry and that this year there will be no Quidditch matches between Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin. Instead, Hogwarts will vie with two other magicians' schools, the stylish Beauxbatons and the icy Durmstrang, in a Triwizard Tournament. Those chosen to compete will undergo three supreme tests. Could Harry be one of the lucky contenders?
Filled with adventure, dragons,  and of course, magic, this book is written with great passion. This is a very long book. There are over 600 pages. The first 400 are little more than an account of everyday life in a magical landscape. The story wanders gently on. That's fine if you like your Harry Potter books to be a way of life, but if you like a tightly-told story you may feel a little impatient with it. On the other hand, when you finally get to the dramatic climax of the story, it is brilliantly told. Voldemort is revoltingly evil. Harry is pathetically vulnerable. And when their two wands link together in a surge of magical energy during the final duel, I was spellbound myself:
I give this book 5 stars and 2 thumbs up.

 





 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More Harry Potter and the Goblet of... reviews
review by . January 19, 2010
In my review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) I called it a gentle coming-of-age story with a twist of magic. Well, little Harry Potter is growing up. Year 4 of the HP chronicles is when author J. K. Rowling realized that her audience was growing older (adults as well as kids were reading the series intently) and more mature (her young readers were growing up with Harry and company), so she wrote a strong, mature adventure to entertain them all.     And more …
review by . June 22, 2010
I found "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" to be just as exciting and entertaining as the previous books, if not more so. Rowlings is a great storyteller, and all her familiar trademarks are here: the colorful and eccentric characters, the humor, the playful use of words, the masterful cultivation of suspense. The book is over seven hundred pages long, but at the end you'll be wishing it were longer. There isn't a slow spot in it. The story is, however, different in some ways …
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
This entire series was just tons of relaxing fun for me!
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
Book leaves more questions than answers for the reader and the holes in the plot are big enough to drive a Basilix through.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
The middle novel of the septology is also the most pivotal. Largest of the first four books, the tale expands the Dark Lord's conspiracy, forcing Harry to try convincing the Ministry of Magic and others that he isn't "crying wolf" -- the Dark Lord is back, and the battle of wizards and witches is at hand.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
one of my favorites, the retur of voldemort is one of the most exciting scenes ive ever read. and the quidditch world cup in the begining actually inspired me to get the dark mark tattooed on me in the future.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
fun book
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Things start getting serious in this one.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Series continually gets better!
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Pretty good one. From the moment the Goblet of Fire reveals the fourth candidate, it feels like a mystery novel and that mystery is explored the best compared to other books. I like the final fight, the rising of Voldemort- its where you realize this is not your happy go series anymore. He is back. And he just murdered someone.
About the reviewer
Justeen Lippert ()
Member Since: Jun 22, 2010
Last Login: Jun 29, 2010 12:43 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TicTacManiac
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by TicTacManiac
About this book

Wiki

In Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling offers up equal parts danger and delight--and any number of dragons, house-elves, and death-defying challenges. Now 14, her orphan hero has only two more weeks with his Muggle relatives before returning to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Yet one night a vision harrowing enough to make his lightning-bolt-shaped scar burn has Harry on edge and contacting his godfather-in-hiding, Sirius Black. Happily, the prospect of attending the season's premier sporting event, the Quidditch World Cup, is enough to make Harry momentarily forget that Lord Voldemort and his sinister familiars--the Death Eaters--are out for murder.

Readers, we will cast a giant invisibility cloak over any more plot and reveal only that You-Know-Who is very much after Harry and that this year there will be no Quidditch matches between Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin. Instead, Hogwarts will vie with two other magicians' schools, the stylish Beauxbatons and the icy Durmstrang, in a Triwizard Tournament. Those chosen to compete will undergo three supreme tests. Could Harry be one of the lucky contenders?

But Quidditch buffs need not go into mourning: we get our share of this great game at the World Cup. Attempting to go incognito as Muggles, 100,000 witches and wizards converge on a "nice deserted moor." As ever, Rowling magicks up the details that make her world so vivid, and so comic. Several spectators' ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0439139600
ISBN-13: 978-0439139601
Author: J. K. Rowling
Genre: Children's Books, Fantasy
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks, Scholastic
First to Review

"I can't wait for the sequel"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists