Friends and Fans of Fantasy
A Lunch community for fantasy fans...

Hail to the King, Baby

  • May 20, 2009
Rating:
+4
MY NAME IS BRUCE is exactly what Bruce Campbell fans would expect it to be, but with perhaps a bit more vulgar language included. Having read the Dark Horse comic book that was created to parallel it, I wasn't expecting much--the humor in the film relies completely on the delivery of its hero the one and only Bruce Campbell, which is something that simply doesn't translate to the printed page.


The plot is simple: teenagers accidentally raise the Chinese god of war (and bean curd) Guan Di and one of them (a devout fan of Campbell's) decides to enlist the actor to battle the monstrous killing machine. When Campbell isn't interested, the teenager kidnaps him. Campbell thinks it's all part of an elaborate birthday present from his agent (played by Ted Raimi), sort of a chance to live out his screen persona in a role playing game, and decides to play along. He quickly learns that this Monster is all too real and he runs for his life leaving the town in the lurch and his teen-aged fan disillusioned.
 
Campbell makes his directorial debut in this flick which was written by Mark Verheiden of Dark Horse Comics and he does it with surprising panache. He is not the least bit reticent about portraying the fictional Bruce Campbell as a washed up 3rd rate actor who's an alcoholic, womanizing, creep with little respect for himself or anyone else for that matter. The special features on the DVD are even better than the film itself and are totally enjoyable. This is a must for every Bruce Campbell fan. As for the rest of you, why aren't you Bruce Campbell fans?
Hail to the King, Baby Hail to the King, Baby Hail to the King, Baby Hail to the King, Baby

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
September 07, 2010
I am a Bruce fan and I am ashamed to say that I still haven't seen this movie. There is on excuse I know. I love Bruce and I need to get it together. Great review.
September 07, 2010
You said it. You've got to shape up, man! It's cheap enough to own now. And there's a comic book to go with it too.
 
August 30, 2010
Why aren't they Bruce Campbell fans indeed, still love this review.
August 30, 2010
My NetFlix version of this review which is very similar got 2 positive votes and 15 negatives. I guess there are more non-Bruce fans than we suspect.
 
April 17, 2010
"Gimme some sugar, baby" And get me to the Netflix Movie Queue!
April 18, 2010
And don't forget to buy the comic book!
 
May 22, 2009
why haven't I seen this yet?? (cuts belly open)
May 22, 2009
Ew.
 
May 20, 2009
I had been wanting to see this off & on since I initially heard about it but haven't had the distinct pleasure yet. Good review!
May 20, 2009
There is the Dark Horse comic book too in case you're a completist.
May 20, 2009
Hmm, actually had never heard of the comic book before but I will have to look it up sometime. I do read mostly the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter comics by marvel which were based on the Laurell K. Hamilton books.
May 20, 2009
I'm mostly reading the Army of Darkness, Buffy, Angel, Conan, Kull, and just started the new Solomon Kane series.
May 20, 2009
Wow! Now that's a tall order! LOL Haven't read any of them yet but I'm just now getting into comic books or graphic novels. Would you believe this late in life too?? LOL
May 20, 2009
I started VERY late with Buffy and Xena. I'm very behind on a couple of the titles because I like to read them as a complete storyline rather then issues by issue. It would probably be cheaper to buy them as a collected volume.
May 20, 2009
I usually wait for the complete storyline myself rather than stand in line for the single issues. I did love the Buffy TV show. Never cared much for the movie though that was released back in 1992.
May 20, 2009
Me neither. The casting wasn't right. The tv show was perfectly cast on the other hand.
May 20, 2009
This is the rare eception where I actually liked a TV show better than the film. I don't know if that would ever happen again. LOL
May 20, 2009
How about Firefly as opposed to SERENITY?
May 21, 2009
I am not too familiar with either Firefly or Serenity. I will check those out.
May 21, 2009
Firefly was Joss WEedon's short lived science fiction series that aired in 2002. There were only 14 episodes in all. SERENITY is the film version that came out maybe 4 years ago.
May 24, 2009
That's the reason I do too.
 
1
More My Name Is Bruce reviews
review by . August 21, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
LIKE I SAID BRUCE CAMPBELL+TED RAIMI WILL ALWAYS = BRILLIANCE
      MY NAME IS BRUCE      Of course any one who knows me or has read any of my reviews knows that I am a huge Bruce Campbell fan, can't help it any thing he is apart of I will buy. So of course I was ready and waiting when this marvelous piece of filmmaking came out [I know I know, I am a fan boy]. Naturally after having a whole weekend of a great Bruce Campbell marathon I was still ready for this movie as was every one around me, of course I now realize …
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
To all Bruce fans you probably already own this but to those who don't you are missing out. And to those who are just casual movie goers this one can also be for you, it is really funny and Bruce provides a funny performance. Also all you movie buffs like myself will love the DVD, it is loaded beyond belief with special features. First off we get a great audio commentary from the man himself Bruce Campbell and producer Mike Richardson as well as a great behind the scenes making of feature. There …
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #13
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

My Name is Bruce is a horror/comedy motion picture written by Mark Verheiden of Dark Horse Comics and directed by B-movie icon Bruce Campbell, who also stars as a fictionalized version of himself.
view wiki

Details

Director: Bruce Campbell
Genre: Action, Comedy, Horror
Release Date: 2008.11.2
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 86 minutes
Studio: Dark Horse Entertainment, Image Entertainment
First to Review

"Hail to the King, Baby"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Friends and Fans of Fantasy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists